This is the "This month's new books" page of the "New titles in the Pacific Collection (September 2017) " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
The University of the South Pacific
Library
 

New titles in the Pacific Collection (September 2017)  

Last Updated: Sep 19, 2017 URL: http://usp.ac.fj.libguides.com/pacnewtitles-sep17 Print Guide RSS Updates
This month's new books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New items in the Pacific Collection

Here are the new books, DVDs, theses and article reprints added to the Pacific Collection this month. Except for a few items on display in the New Books case in the Pacific Collection on Level C, these items are now available to be borrowed for 3 hours and used in the Pacific Collection Reading Room.

In some cases, there may be another copy of a title in the General collection or the Audio Visual Room (AVR)  for regular checkout. This is noted in the description where applicable.

 

Cover Art
101 careers in social work - Ritter, Jessica A. ; Halaevalu, F. Ofahengaue
Call Number: HV 10 .5 .R58 2015 (a copy is also available in USP General collection)
ISBN: 9780826129055
Publication Date: 2015
New to the Second Edition:

Presents updated accreditation standards, core competencies, and licensing requirements. Describes new opportunities for social workers resulting from health care reform and the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act Discusses the impact of our current social, economic, and political climate on the profession. Includes new career-planning and job-hunting tools. Addresses how students can offset the high cost of higher education

Cover Art
Achieving proficiency in a second language : a research based in Fiji - Ali-Chand, Zakia
Call Number: P 118 .2 .A45 2016 (a copy is also availlable in general collection)
ISBN: 9783659815928
Publication Date: 2016
Learning a second language using language learning strategies has intrigued researchers for many years and has been found to be one of the few elements which can be adapted and adopted by learners at any stage of learning. Quite often, learners in less advanced societies are unaware that they are actually using certain strategies when learning a second language. Research has suggested that if learners are able to orchestrate these strategies, they can improve their proficiency and become more successful language learners. This book provides the results of a study done on an assessment of language learning strategies used by undergraduate students in Fiji, with the intention of finding out if there are any correlations with proficiency in their academic writing. The analysis sheds light on the most common strategies used by second language learners of Fiji and types of errors made in academic writing. This study provides useful information to assist teachers, textbook writers, curriculum developers and tertiary institutions to develop suitable courses, textbooks and teacher-education programs to assist second language learners write with greater accuracy and substance.

Cover Art
All the boats on the ocean : how government subsidies led to global overfishing - Finley, Carmel
Call Number: SH 221 .F55 2017 (copies available from other collections)
ISBN: 9780226443379
Publication Date: 2017
Most current fishing practices are neither economically nor biologically sustainable. Every year, the world spends $80 billion buying fish that cost $105 billion to catch, even as heavy fishing places growing pressure on stocks that are already struggling with warmer, more acidic oceans. How have we developed an industry that is so wasteful, and why has it been so difficult to alter the trajectory toward species extinction? In this transnational, interdisciplinary history, Carmel Finley answers these questions and more as she explores how government subsidies propelled the expansion of fishing from a coastal, in-shore activity into a global industry.

Cover Art
Archaeological research at Caution Bay, Papua New Guinea : cultural, linguistic and environmental setting - Thomas Richards, Bruno David, Ken Aplin and Ian J. McNiven (Editors)
Call Number: GN 875 .P3 A73 2016
ISBN: 9781784915049
Publication Date: 2016
In 2008 intensive archaeological surveys began at Caution Bay, located 20km to the northwest of Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea. This was followed by the excavation of 122 stratified sites in 2009-2010, and detailed analysis of the well preserved and abundant faunal, ceramic and lithic finds has continued ever since. The Caution Bay Archaeology Project is providing new and exciting contributions to western Pacific prehistory. It has radically expanded the known geographic distribution of the Lapita Cultural Complex to include, for the first time, the southern coast of Papua New Guinea; it has established the relationship of Lapita to later cultural expressions in this area; it has pinpointed the time of arrival of domesticated animals along the southern coast of Papua New Guinea and, by inference, on the larger island of New Guinea; it has provided new insights into the impact of resident populations on local terrestrial and marine environments over a 5000 year time period.

Cover Art
Aryan avatars : from prehistoric nomads to settlers in the Pacific - Sukhdeo, Mahendra
Call Number: DU 600 .S85 2014
ISBN: 9789381239469
Publication Date: 2014
Unveiling shreds of geneology and discovering the roots are a recurrent dream of every descendant whose inheritance is linked to the gravy train of slavery, convictism, indentured labour, 'boat people' and asylum-seekers. This book is a graphic account of rural Indian peasants who left their rustic homeland in search of their El Dorado in distant colonial outposts. Interwoven with reflections on his Aryan roots and his animated days in Bombay (now Mumbai), the author describes his quintessential journey in 1961 to his ancestral village near Nepal-India border.

Cover Art
Catching the wind : a search for God : a memoir - Yee, Norman
Call Number: CT 2940 .Y443 2014 (a copy is also available in the general collection)
ISBN: 9781499018837
Publication Date: 2014
An inspiring memoir, spanning 73 years, from humble beginnings to becoming the head of Fiji's civil aviation regulator, and participating with ICAO in the introduction of new technologies (such as GPS) which made aviation safer and more effi cient locally regionally and internationally. And a rare expose into the personal lives of a Chinese migrant family living in Fiji, of childhood escapades, of love and marriage, as well as Norman's incredible spiritual experiences where in mid-career, God intervened dramatically and changed his whole outlook on life A book to inspire you to 'Catch the Wind' of your dreams of a successful life.

Cover Art
Child survival profile : Papua New Guinea - WHO Regional Office for the Western Pacific
Call Number: HB 1323 .C52 P3 2007
ISBN: 9789290612278
Publication Date: 2007
The Western Pacific region is a very diverse area. Therefore, the successful implementation of child survival actions at the country level first must take into account the local child health situation and health system capacity. The child survival country profiles have been developed with support from WHO in collaboration with the respective ministries of health. Each profile includes information on the progress towards implementation of Millennium Development Goal 4, the current status of the evidence-based interventions that affect the survival of children, related policies and strategies, child health financing, and coordination mechanisms.

Cover Art
Doing research within communities : stories and lessons from language and education field research - Kerry Taylor-Leech and Donna Starks (Editors)
Call Number: P 53 .755 .D65 2016 (a copy is also availble in general collection)
ISBN: 9781138852679
Publication Date: 2016
Doing Research within Communities provides real-life examples of field research projects in language and education, offering an overview of research processes and solutions to the common challenges faced by researchers in the field. This unique book contains personal research narratives from sixteen different and varied fieldwork projects, providing advice and guidance to the reader through example rather than instruction and enabling the reader to discover connections with the storyteller and gain insights into their own research journey.

Cover Art
Explore the Pacific Islands National Marine Sanctuaries : Hawaiian Islands humpback whale / American Samoa / Papahamonaukuakea Monument - Jean-Michel Cousteau
Call Number: QH 91 .75 .P16 C68 2017 (a copy is also available in general collection)
ISBN: 9780982694046
Publication Date: 2017
Based on the famed French explorer’s film series, Jean-Michel Cousteau: Ocean Adventures, these are the definitive guides to America’s thirteen National Marine Sanctuaries and its one Marine National Monument. Each of the four books conducts a grand adventure through one of the four regions of the National Marine Sanctuary system, combining engaging descriptions, stunning four-color photography, and behind-the-scenes stories from the Ocean Futures Society expedition team. Insightful inquiries into the health of the world’s oceans are provided along with an overview of several incredible underwater treasures. Conveying the beauty of the ocean and the specific measures being put into effect to preserve it, this inspirational collection also features detailed, practical information for planning visits to the sanctuaries.

Cover Art
Fisheries in the Pacific : the challenges of governance and sustainability - Fache, Elodie
Call Number: SH 319. O3 F33 2016 (other copies available in other collections)
ISBN: 9782953748550
Publication Date: 2016
Fisheries in the Pacific: The Challenges of Governance and Sustainability is a multidisciplinary book, which examines various aspects of coastal and oceanic fisheries in Pacific waters. These interrelated fisheries sectors are critical for regional food security and also represent a reserve of food resources for the rest of the world. The introduction and eight chapters highlight that both these sectors raise major economic and ecological issues while revealing significant social changes, political asymmetries and alliances, geostrategic rationales, developments in legislation, customary dynamics, and conservation challenges. Through complementary approaches and interpretations of both quantitative and qualitative data, this book aims to contribute to a better understanding of the current situation of fisheries in the Pacific.

Cover Art
Iep jāltok : poems from a Marshallese daughter - Jetnil-Kijiner, Kathy
Call Number: PR 9670 .M373 J474 2017
ISBN: 9780816534029
Publication Date: 2017
Marshallese poet and activist Kathy Jetnil-Kijiner’s writing highlights the traumas of colonialism, racism, forced migration, the legacy of American nuclear testing, and the impending threats of climate change. Bearing witness at the front lines of various activist movements inspires her work and has propelled her poetry onto international stages, where she has performed in front of audiences ranging from elementary school students to more than a hundred world leaders at the United Nations Climate Summit.

Cover Art
Implacable foes : war in the Pacific, 1944-1945 - Waldo Heinrichs and Marc Gallicchio
Call Number: D 767 .H45 2017
ISBN: 9780190616755
Publication Date: 2017
In Implacable Foes, award-winning historians Waldo Heinrichs (a veteran of both theatres of war in World War II) and Marc Gallicchio bring to life the final year of World War Two in the Pacific right up to the dropping of the atomic bombs over Hiroshima and Nagasaki, evoking not only Japanese policies of desperate defense, but the sometimes rancorous debates on the home front. They deliver a gripping and provocative narrative that challenges the decision-making of U.S. leaders and delineates the consequences of prioritizing the European front. The result is a masterly work of military history that evaluates the nearly insurmountable trials associated with waging global war and the sacrifices necessary to succeed.

Cover Art
Insects of Fiji : a brief introduction to their natural history, diversity and importance - Prasad, Sunil S. ; Ryan, Paddy
Call Number: QL 462 .5 .P73 2017 (copies available in other collections)
ISBN: 9789823610061
Publication Date: 2017
Insects of Fiji is an insight to the rich insect biodiversity found in these enchanting islands. With 4292 described species, insects constitute the bulk of the biodiversity. They are also responsible for maintaining essential ecosystem processes and services. This book highlights the main insect orders, examines their distinguishing features and investigates their unique ecological and cultural roles.

Cover Art
Laei a Samoa - Ausage, Telei'ai Fanaeā Christian Tofilau, Vincent J. Mafo'e, Patrick Ma'ilo, Elisaia
Call Number: GT 2346 .S3 A97 2015
ISBN: 9789825340034
Publication Date: 2015

Cover Art
Overview of water security in Pacific Islands : with recommendations for best practices - Luke Paeniu ... [et al.]
Call Number: HD 1701 .5 .O84 2016 (copies available in other collections)
ISBN: 9789829812827
Publication Date: 2016
The demands of increased populations, increased food production, industrial and manufacturing activities, natural resources extraction and power generation are likely to contribute significantly to the deteriorating state of water security in the Pacific Islands in the future. This report presents recognised approaches and best practices that will contribute to improved current state of water security in the region. The purpose of this report is to help decision-makers, water resource and sanitation practitioners make best use of the relevant knowledge provided by the wealth of experiences gained from implementing water-related projects at the community and national levels. These initiatives aim to address various specific objectives such as the installation or expansion of a central water supply system, water safety planning, water resources monitoring, rainwater harvesting, seasonal rainfall projections and public outreach and awareness.

Cover Art
Pacific Islands meteorological services in action : a compendium of climate services case studies - compiled by Christina Leala-Gale
Call Number: QC 875 .O3 L43 2016 (copies available in other collections)
ISBN: 9789820406339
Publication Date: 2016
In a large, diverse region like the Pacific, clear and concise communication of both successes and lessons learned is vital for further effective development. A workshop was created to help the participants develop stories to "tell the world what the Pacific is doing on climate services." The week-long writing workshop or "writeshop" created a space for climate service providers to learn outreach writing skills and how to analyse their own efforts. The writeshop was coordinated by SPREP and WMO with support from COSPPac and Environment and Climate Change Canada. This first writeshop for climate services in the Pacific was a productive and intense week of growth for the participants, resulting in 20 stories for a regional compendium.

Cover Art
PNG vision 2050 : a critique for the development of Papua New Guinea - Sinebare, Musawe ; Zurenuoc, Manasupe
Call Number: HC 683 .5 .Z9 E584 2014
ISBN: 9789980875648
Publication Date: 2014

Cover Art
Towards an 'otualogy : rethinking the doctrine of god in Tonga - Vaipulu, Sioeli F.
Call Number: BT 98 .V35 2013
ISBN: 9783639705560
Publication Date: 2013
"The book breaks a new ground through the invention of the word 'otualogy. It represents a variation on the received task of a western theology which is expressed in conversation with Tongan cultural and social realities. It considers how the doctrine of God was 'miss-given' by the missionaries, 'miss-taken' by the Tongan hierarchy and thus 'miss-placed' subsequently in culture. The argument seeks to move away from linear line of thought and engage with a 'tidalectic' series of ebbing waves and flows. This book is unique insofar as its consideration of the missional legacy and consequences is through a theological doctrine rather than an historical study or through biblical hermeneutics. The argument is set within a wider context of international theological scholarship." Clive Pearson, Head of School of Theology, Charles Sturt University

Cover Art
Witness to war : Truk Lagoon's master diver Kimiuo Aisek - Strong, Dianne M.
Call Number: GV 838 .673 .F4 S77 2013
ISBN: 9780957406636
Publication Date: 2013
While many photographers and writers have documented the shipwrecks of Truk Lagoon, here is the first homage to the man who made the diving possible -- Kimiuo Aisek, the founder of the diving industry in Chuuk. Author Dianne M. Strong has attempted to depict the world that Kimiuo lived through his eyes, as an islander born under the Japanese mandate, as a seventeen-year old witness to war, and as the founder of Blue Lagoon dive shop.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Gwen Rounds

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sofie Kubuwai
Contact Info
323 2380
Send Email
 
Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
© Copyright 2004 - 2013. All Rights Reserved.
The University of the South Pacific
Laucala Campus, Suva, Fiji
Tel: +679 323 1000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip