This is the "This month's new titles" page of the "New titles in the Pacific Collection (October & November 2016)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
The University of the South Pacific
Welcome to the Library
 

New titles in the Pacific Collection (October & November 2016)  

Last Updated: Dec 8, 2016 URL: http://usp.ac.fj.libguides.com/pacnewtitles-oct/nov16 Print Guide RSS Updates
This month's new titles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New items in the Pacific Collection

Here are the titles added to the Pacific Collection this month and are now available for borrowing and use in the Pacific Collection Reading Room.

In some cases, there may be another copy of a title in the General Collection or the Audio Visual Room (AVR)  for regular checkout. This is noted in the description where applicable.

 

Cover Art
After Tylor : British social anthropology, 1888-1951 - Stocking, George W.
Call Number: GN 308 .3 .G7 S76 1995 (a copy is also available in USP Gen)
ISBN: 9780299145842
Publication Date: 1995
"The publication of After Tylor, taken together with Victorian Anthropology, represents a milestone in the historiography of the behavioural sciences."- Robert Ackerman, London Review of Books "After Tylor is thus an effort to reconstruct and understand modes of thought which-though hardly discontinuous-were still rather different from our own. In this, it is utterly and completely successful."-Robert Alun Jones, American Journal of Sociology "This is magnificent scholarship. Furthermore it proves that a discourse intended to complicate received ideas can also be eminently readable."-Michael Herzfeld, American Scientist "Formidable as its scope is, this account is also eminently readable. The layering of each character will ensure that it can be read at all levels of anthropological sophistication."-Marilyn Strathern, Times Higher Education Supplement

Cover Art
Anthropology and antihumanism in Imperial Germany - Zimmerman, Andrew
Call Number: GN 17 .3 .G3 Z54 2001 (a copy is also available in General Collection)
ISBN: 9780226983424
Publication Date: 2001
With the rise of imperialism, the centuries-old European tradition of humanist scholarship as the key to understanding the world was jeopardized. Nowhere was this more true than in nineteenth-century Germany. It was there, Andrew Zimmerman argues, that the battle lines of today's "culture wars" were first drawn when anthropology challenged humanism as a basis for human scientific knowledge. Drawing on sources ranging from scientific papers and government correspondence to photographs, pamphlets, and police reports of "freak shows," Zimmerman demonstrates how German imperialism opened the door to antihumanism. As Germans interacted more frequently with peoples and objects from far-flung cultures, they were forced to reevaluate not just those peoples, but also the construction of German identity itself. Anthropologists successfully argued that their discipline addressed these issues more productively—and more accessibly—than humanistic studies.

Cover Art
Aryan avatars : from prehistoric nomads to settlers in the Pacific - Sukhdeo, Mahendra
Call Number: DU 600 .S85 2016 (other copies available in General Collection)
ISBN: 9789820109483
Publication Date: 2016
In the backdrop of an autobiographical canvas, the author explores the anthology of embryonic influences that have shaped the character of his undiluted, earthy ancestral village near the India-Nepal border. Born and bred in Fiji in the religiosity of eclectic Hinduism, the author reflects on his metamorphosis from an orthodox orientation to the realm of Marxist socialism and 'militant' atheism. He recounts the corrosive culpability of racism, the rise, and fall of a displaced communal entity in the corridors of Fiji's polity, and the painful dispersal of a prosperous ethnic group in the aftermath of the coups. He previews the pockmarked sphere of Fiji's divisive colonial history and its descendancy into usurpation of power by military or army-linked coup d'etat. He writes with passion and panache his involvement in the birth of Fiji Labour Party, disenchantment with the party's pre-1987 electoral politics and his absorption by the ruling Alliance Party. While sitting as the Acting Lord Mayor of the capital city in early 1987, he describes the unfolding drama of the first two coups in Suva and the evolving rubric of coup culture. In the background of these political distortions, he attempts to predict what future might hold for Fiji.

Cover Art
Assessment of the coconut crab (Birgus latro) in Mauke, Cook Islands - Teresa Matamaki, Elizabeth Munro, Nadia Helagi ... [et al.].
Call Number: QL 444 .M33 M38 2016
ISBN: 9789820009936
Publication Date: 2016
The coconut crab is a highly valued resource on Mauke Island, but has been subject to overharvesting by the local residents. In an effort to combat this problem and rebuild the crab population, the Mauke Island Council has proposed that key areas of the habitat and migration pathways of coconut crabs be established as rau'i (protected areas).

Cover Art
At the intersection of indigenous and traditional knowledge and technology design - Nicola J. Bidwell and Heike Winschiers-Theophilus (Editors)
Call Number: GN 476 .A88 2015 (a copy is also available in USP Gen)
ISBN: 9781932886993
Publication Date: 2015
There is intensified interest in designing information and communication technologies (ICTs) that respond to ways of doing, knowing, and saying that differ from those that dominate in producing ICTs and, in particular, to ‘traditional’ or ‘indigenous’ knowledges. ICT endeavours for indigenous or traditional knowledges (ITK) vary. Some aim to extend ITK digitally and others use ICTs to improve the economic and/or political situation of marginalised groups. This book presents themes that arise in designing to respond to ITK in different cultural, social, physical, and historical contexts.

Cover Art
Biology, ecology and culture of grey mullet (Mugilidae) - Donatella Crosetti, Stephen Blaber (Editors)
Call Number: QL 638 .M8 B56 2016
ISBN: 9781482252125
Publication Date: 2016
Mullets (grey mullets) are a family (Mugilidae) and order of ray-finned fish found in temperate and tropical waters worldwide. There are approximately 80 species of mullet; these fish have been considered an important food source in Mediterranean Europe since Roman times. This book provides a long overdue update on the biology and ecology of mullets and features comprehensive coverage of the key features of the Mugilidae family, such as recent DNA evidence and morphological data that challenge the traditional taxonomy.

Cover Art
Coral reefs at the crossroads - Dennis K. Hubbard, Caroline S. Rogers, Jere H. Lipps, George D. Stanley, Jr. (Editors)
Call Number: QE 565 .C673 2016
ISBN: 9789401775656
Publication Date: 2016
In this book, contributors from diverse backgrounds take a first step toward an integrated view of reefs and the significance of their recent decline. More than any other earth system, coral reefs sit at a disciplinary crossroads. Most recently, they have reached another crossroads - fundamental changes in their bio-physical structure greater than those of previous centuries or even millennia. Effective strategies to mitigate recent trends will require an approach that embraces the myriad perspectives from across the scientific landscape, but will also need a mechanism to transform scientific understanding into social will and political implementation.

Cover Art
Curating the future : museums, communities and climate change - Jennifer Newell, Libby Robin and Kirsten Wehner (Editors)
Call Number: AM 7 .C87 2017 (a copy is also available in General Collection)
ISBN: 9781138658516
Publication Date: 2017
Curating the Future: Museums, Communities and Climate Change explores the way museums tackle the broad global issue of climate change. It explores the power of real objects and collections to stir hearts and minds, to engage communities affected by change. Museums work through exhibitions, events, and specific collection projects to reach different communities in different ways. The book emphasises the moral responsibilities of museums to address climate change, not just by communicating science but also by enabling people already affected by changes to find their own ways of living with global warming. There are museums of natural history, of art and of social history. The focus of this book is the museum communities, like those in the Pacific, who have to find new ways to express their culture in a new place. The book considers how collections in museums might help future generations stay in touch with their culture, even where they have left their place.

Cover Art
D-days in the Pacific - Miller, Donald L.
Call Number: D 767 .M55 2005
ISBN: 9780743269292
Publication Date: 2005
Although most people associate the term D-Day with the Normandy invasion on June 6, 1944, it is military code for the beginning of any offensive operation. In the Pacific theater during World War II there were more than one hundred D-Days. The largest—and last—was the invasion of Okinawa on April 1, 1945, which brought together the biggest invasion fleet ever assembled, far larger than that engaged in the Normandy invasion. D-Days in the Pacific tells the epic story of the campaign waged by American forces to win back the Pacific islands from Japan.

Cover Art
Domination and resistance : the United States and the Marshall Islands during the Cold War - Smith-Norris, Martha
Call Number: DU 710 .S652 2016 (a copy is also available in USP Gen)
ISBN: 9780824847623
Publication Date: 2016
Domination and Resistance illuminates the twin themes of superpower domination and indigenous resistance in the central Pacific during the Cold War, with a compelling historical examination of the relationship between the United States and the Republic of the Marshall Islands. For decision makers in Washington, the Marshall Islands represented a strategic prize seized from Japan near the end of World War II. In the postwar period, under the auspices of a United Nations Trusteeship Agreement, the United States reinforced its control of the Marshall Islands and kept the Soviet Union and other Cold War rivals out of this Pacific region. The United States also used the opportunity to test a vast array of powerful nuclear bombs and missiles in the Marshalls, even as it conducted research on the effects of human exposure to radioactive fallout. Although these military tests and human experiments reinforced the US strategy of deterrence, they also led to the displacement of several atoll communities, serious health implications for the Marshallese, and widespread ecological degradation.

Cover Art
Ethnobiology of corals and coral reefs - Nemer E. Narchi, Lisa L. Price (Editors)
Call Number: QL 377 .C5 E84 2015 (a copy is also available in General Collection)
ISBN: 9783319237626
Publication Date: 2015
This book explores the ethnobiology of corals by examining the various ways in which humans, past and present, have exploited and taken care of coral and coralline habitats. This book will bring the educated general audience closer to corals by exploring the various circumstances of human-coral coexistence by providing scientifically sound and jargon-free perspectives and experiences from across the globe. Corals are a vital part of the marine environment since they promote and sustain marine and global biodiversity while providing numerous other environmental and cultural services. Countless valuable coral conservation efforts are published in academic and general audience venues on a daily basis. However relevant, few of these reports show a direct, deeper understanding of the intimate relationship between people and corals throughout the world’s societies. Ethnobiology of Corals and Coral Reefs establishes an intimate bond between the audience and the wonder of corals and their importance to humankind.

Cover Art
Facing the spears of change : the life and legacy of John Papa ʻIʻī - Brown, Marie Alohalani
Call Number: DU 627 .17 .I4 B76 2016
ISBN: 9780824858483
Publication Date: 2016
Facing the Spears of Change takes a close look at the extraordinary life of John Papa Ii. Over the years, Ii faced many personal and political changes and challenges in rapid succession, which he skillfully parried or grasped firmly and then used to fend off other attacks. He began serving in the household of Kamehameha I as an attendant in 1810, when he was ten. His early service took place in a time when alii nui (the highest-ranking Hawaiians) were considered divine and surrounded with strict kapu (sacred prohibitions); breaking a kapu pertaining to an alii meant death for the transgressor. As an attendant, Ii was highly familiar with the inner workings of the royal household. He went on to become an influential statesman, privy to the shifting modes of governance adopted by the Hawaiian kingdom. Ii's intelligence and his good standing with those he served resulted in a great degree of influence within the Hawaiian government, with his fellow Hawaiians, and with the missionaries residing in the Hawaiian Islands.At the end of his life, he also became a memoirist and biographer, who published accounts of key events in his own life and in the lives of others during the sixty years that he served his kings, his nation, and his people.

Cover Art
Fluid security in the Asia Pacific : transnational lives, human rights and state control - Tazreiter, Claudia ... [Et al.].
Call Number: JV 9120 .F58 2016 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781137465955
Publication Date: 2016
This book is focused on the experiences of temporary migrants in the Asia-Pacific region. The economic, political, cultural and geographic complexity of the region makes it vital that new, 'fluid' migration patterns are contextualised. Through case studies, the book explores temporary migrants through their everyday experiences as 'living labour'.

Cover Art
Hearing the future : the music and magic of the Sanguma band - Crowdy, Denis Charles
Call Number: ML 421 .S268 C76 2016
ISBN: 9780824851569
Publication Date: 2016
During the turbulent decades of the 1970s and 1980s, Papua New Guinea gained political independence from a colonial hold that had lasted almost a century. It was an exciting time for a diverse group of pioneering musicians who formed a band they named "Sanguma." These Melanesian artists heard an imagined future and performed it during a socially and politically critical time for the region. They were united under one goal: to create a sound that represented the birth of a new, sovereign, and distinctly Melanesian nation; and to express their values, identities, and cosmology through their music and performance. Sanguma's experimental music sounded the complex expectations and pressures of their modern nation and helped to steer its postcolonial journey through music. In Hearing the Future, Australian ethnomusicologist Denis Crowdy documents and analyzes the music and activities of the Sanguma band, arguing that their music was a vital form of cultural expression in sync with sociopolitical change then taking place in PNG

Cover Art
Identification guide to the common coastal food fishes of the Pacific Islands region - Moore, Brad ; Colas, Boris
Call Number: QL 636 .5 .O3 M66 2016 (copies also available at PIMRIS)
ISBN: 9789820010024
Publication Date: 2016
This identification guide has been produced by SPC to assist fisheries officers with the identification of the common coastal food fishes encountered in catches or during market surveys. The guide contains approximately 320 of the most commonly targeted coastal sharks, rays and bony fishes in the Pacific Islands region. Catches of coastal finfish in the Pacific Island countries and territories are typically characterised by a wide variety of species from many different taxonomic families. Often even closely-related species exhibit vastly different life histories, particularly with respect to growth rates, maturity schedules and longevities, and thus may have vastly different vulnerabilities to fishing pressure. Being able to accurately identify harvested species will improve reporting on catches, improving monitoring of coastal fisheries in the region and ultimately lead to more effective management.


Cover Art
Making the modern primitive : cultural tourism in the Trobriand Islands - MacCarthy, Michelle
Call Number: G 155 .P3 M33 2016 ( a copy is also available in General Collection)
ISBN: 9780824855604
Publication Date: 2016
Making the Modern Primitive provides an anthropological analysis of the encounter between local residents and tourists in the Trobriand Islands, a place renowned in anthropology and represented in various media as "culturally authentic." In such a place, how are ideas about authenticity implicated in creating and representing the self and cultural Others in the context of cultural tourism? Michelle MacCarthy addresses this question by examining four arenas of interaction between Trobriand Islanders and tourists: formal performances, informal village visits, souvenir shopping, and tourist photography. Drawing on both symbolic/interpretive approaches and concepts drawn from economic anthropology, she examines the relationship of tourism to the commoditization of culture, the ways in which local residents actively represent and enact "Trobriandness," and the ways tourists interpret and narrate their experience. MacCarthy offers an anthropological critique of concepts of authenticity, tradition, and cultural commodification, based on long-term fieldwork among Trobriand Islanders and tourists.

Cover Art
Mortuary dialogues : death ritual and the reproduction of moral community in Pacific modernities - David Lipset and Eric K. Silverman (Editors)
Call Number: GN 663 .M67 2016 ( a copy is also available in USP Gen)
ISBN: 9781785331718
Publication Date: 2016
Mortuary Dialogues presents fresh perspectives on death and mourning across the Pacific Islands. Through a set of rich ethnographies, the book examines how funerals and death rituals give rise to discourse and debate about sustaining moral personhood and community amid modernity and its enormous transformations. The book's key concept, "mortuary dialogue," describes the different genres of talk and expressive culture through which people struggle to restore individual and collective order in the aftermath of death in the contemporary Pacific.

Cover Art
Mothers' darlings of the South Pacific : the children of indigenous women and US servicemen, World War II - Judith A. Bennett and Angela Wanhalla (Editors)
Call Number: DU 28 .1 .P25 M68 2016 (copies are available in General Collection)
ISBN: 9780824851521
Publication Date: 2016
Over the course of World War II, two million American military personnel occupied bases throughout the South Pacific, leaving behind a human legacy of at least 4,000 children born to indigenous mothers. Based on interviews conducted with many of these American-indigenous children and several of the surviving mothers, Mothers’ Darlings of the South Pacific explores the intimate relationships that existed between untold numbers of U.S. servicemen and indigenous women during the war and considers the fate of their mixed-race children. These relationships developed in the major U.S. bases of the South Pacific Command, from Bora Bora in the east across to Solomon Islands in the west, and from the Gilbert Islands in the north to New Zealand, in the southernmost region of the Pacific. The American military command carefully managed interpersonal encounters between the sexes, applying race-based U.S. immigration law on Pacific peoples to prevent marriage “across the color line.”

Cover Art
Once upon a time in Fiji : short stories about the lives and loves of the wonderful, strange, unique people of Fiji - Tarte, Daryl
Call Number: PR 9650 .9 .T27 O53 2016 (copies are also available in General Collection)
ISBN: 9789820109537
Publication Date: 2016
"Fiji is a very unique island nation with a fascinating diversity of people. I have worked and lived among many of the Fijian, Indian, Chinese, European, Pacific Islanders and people of mixed race all my life. Over the years, in my capacity as a fourth generation copra planter, sugar industry executive, civil society activist and writer I have encountered some extraordinary situations. Fortunately I had the foresight to record many of these and have blended the many incidents and characters into this collection of short stories".

Cover Art
Passages in between i(s)lands - Brown-Perera, Audrey
Call Number: PR 9670 .C63 B762 2014 (other copies available in Gen & Leisure)
ISBN: 9781505358629
Publication Date: 2014
passages in between i(s)lands is a collection of poetry and storytelling that is eclectic and vast in mood and tempo by a leading voice in Pacific Literature, Audrey Brown-Pereira. Navigating between Samoa, the Cook Islands, Aotearoa/New Zealand and the U.S., these poems reflect on the politics of family and identity in a rapidly changing Pacific. Brown-Pereira is a self-confessed "word player" where all elements of text are painted to create colour and volume. passages in between i(s)lands is the much anticipated follow-up to Brown-Pereira's threads of tivaevae: kaleidoscope of kolours published in 2002.

Cover Art
Photography's other histories - Christopher Pinney and Nicolas Peterson (Editors)
Call Number: TR 15 .P56 2003 (a copy is also available in General Collection)
ISBN: 0822331268
Publication Date: 2003
Moving the critical debate about photography away from its current Euro-American center of gravity, Photography’s Other Histories breaks with the notion that photographic history is best seen as the explosion of a Western technology advanced by the work of singular individuals. This collection presents a radically different account, describing photography as a globally disseminated and locally appropriated medium. Essays firmly grounded in photographic practice—in the actual making of pictures—suggest the extraordinary diversity of nonwestern photography. Richly illustrated with over 100 images, Photography’s Other Histories explores from a variety of regional, cultural, and historical perspectives the role of photography in raising historical consciousness.

Cover Art
Pinpoint : how GPS is changing technology, culture, and our minds - Milner, Greg
Call Number: G 109 .5 .M55 2016 (a copy is also available in General)
ISBN: 9780393089127
Publication Date: 2016
Over the last fifty years, humanity has developed an extraordinary shared utility: the Global Positioning System. Even as it guides us across town, GPS helps land planes, route mobile calls, anticipate earthquakes, predict weather, locate oil deposits, measure neutrinos, grow our food, and regulate global finance. It is as ubiquitous and essential as another Cold War technology, the Internet. In Pinpoint, Greg Milner takes us on a fascinating tour of a hidden system that touches almost every aspect of our modern life. While GPS has brought us breathtakingly accurate information about our planetary environment and physical space, it has also created new forms of human behavior. We have let it saturate the world’s systems so completely and so quickly that we are just beginning to confront the possible consequences. A single GPS timing flaw, whether accidental or malicious, could bring down the electrical grid, hijack drones, or halt the world financial system. The use, and potential misuse, of GPS data by government and corporations raise disturbing questions about ethics and privacy. GPS may be altering the nature of human cognition―possibly even rearranging the gray matter in our heads.

Cover Art
Political life writing in the Pacific : reflections on practice - Jack Corbett and Brij V. Lal (Editors)
Call Number: CT 2775 .P65 2015 (a copy is also available in USP Gen)
ISBN: 9781925022605
Publication Date: 2015
This book aims to reflect on the experiential side of writing political lives in the Pacific region. The collection touches on aspects of the life writing art that are particularly pertinent to political figures: public perception and ideology; identifying important political successes and policy initiatives; grappling with issues like corruption and age-old political science questions about leadership and ‘dirty hands’. These are general themes but they take on a particular significance in the Pacific context and so the contributions explore these themes in relation to patterns of colonisation and the memory of independence; issues elliptically captured by terms like ‘culture’ and ‘tradition’; the nature of ‘self’ presented in Pacific life writing; and the tendency for many of these texts to be written by ‘outsiders’, or at least the increasingly contested nature of what that term means.

Cover Art
Sleep around the world : anthropological perspectives - Katie Glaskin and Richard Chenhall (Editors)
Call Number: GT 3000 .3 .S54 2013 (a copy is also available in USP Gen)
ISBN: 9781137320933
Publication Date: 2013
Although humans slumber for approximately one third of our lives, sleep itself is vastly understudied. This volume provides a comparative frame through which we can understand the myriad ways in which sleep reflects and embodies culture as contributors examine aspects of sleep in various countries and contexts.

Cover Art
State-building and state formation in the western Pacific : Solomon Islands in transition? - Matthew G. Allen and Sinclair Dinnen (Editors)
Call Number: JQ 6341 .A58 S73 2017 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781138206847
Publication Date: 2017
This book provides a rigorous and cross-disciplinary analysis of this Melanesian nation at a critical juncture in its post-colonial and post-conflict history, with contributions from leading scholars of Solomon Islands. The notion of ‘transition’ as used to describe the recent drawdown of the decade-long Regional Assistance Mission to Solomon Islands (RAMSI) provides a departure point for considering other transformations – social, political and economic –under way in the archipelagic nation. Organised around a central tension between change and continuity, two of the book’s key themes are the contested narratives of changing state–society relations and the changing social relations around land and natural resources engendered by ongoing processes of globalisation and urbanisation. Drawing heuristically on RAMSI’s genesis in the ‘state- building moment’ that dominated international relations during the first decade of this century, the book also examines the critical distinction between ‘state-building’ and ‘state formation’ in the Solomon Islands context.

Cover Art
Status of the coconut crab Birgus latro in Niue - by Nadia Helagi, James Tafatu, Ian Bertram...[et al.].
Call Number: QL 444 .M33 H45 2016 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9789820009493
Publication Date: 2015
The vulnerability of coconut crabs (Birgus latro) to predation by humans and animals, their slow population growth rates and their ease of capture by hunting, as well as reductions of coastal habitats, have contributed to the decline and disappearance of coconut crabs in many islands in the Pacific region. The coconut crab is an iconic species to Niue; it is hunted for local consumption and sale; it is used in celebrations; it is exported to Niuean's living abroad; and it supports a growing eco-tourism sector. This report presents the results of coconut-crab resource assessments in Niue in November 2014; it provides management recommendations, suggestions for further research and resource monitoring protocols for future assessments.

Cover Art
The Battle over Peleliu : Islander, Japanese, and American Memories of War - Murray, Stephen C.
Call Number: D 767 .99 .P4 M87 2016
ISBN: 9780817318840
Publication Date: 2016
The expansionist Japanese empire annexed the inhabited archipelago of Palau in 1914. The airbase built on Peleliu Island became a target for attack by the United States in World War II. The Battle over Peleliu offers an ethnographic study of how Palau and Peleliu were transformed by warring great powers and further explores how their conflict is remembered differently by the three peoples who shared that experience. Author Stephen C. Murray uses oral histories from Peleliu’s elders to reconstruct the island’s prewar way of life, offering a fascinating explanation of the role of land and place in island culture. To Palauans, history is conceived geographically, not chronologically. Land and landmarks are both the substance of history and the mnemonic triggers that recall the past. Murray then offers a detailed account of the 1944 US invasion against entrenched Japanese forces on Peleliu, a seventy-four-day campaign that razed villages, farms, ancestral cemeteries, beaches, and forests, and with them, many of the key nodes of memory and identity.

Cover Art
The Cannibal islands : a Foh Fum drama - Mudie, Andrew William
Call Number: PR 9619 .3 .M8 C3 2015
ISBN: 9780977527007
Publication Date: 2015
William Brown is born in 1825 and grows up in the harsh jute mills of Dundee Scotland. Later, he is brought to the attention of Queen Victoria and is dispatched to the tropical islands of the Feejees to bring light to the heathen and infamous giant cannibal Chief, Ratu Seru Cakobau 1817, Feejee sees the birth of Ratu Seru Cakobau, heir to the island position of Paramount Chief. Born a Heathen cannibal, Cakobau grows into a giant ogre, feasting on a diet of human flesh, whilst practicing the art of voodoo.

Cover Art
The cliffs of Levuka - Waddingham, Margaret
Call Number: PR 9639 .4 .W33 C55 2016 (a copy is also available in USP Gen)
ISBN: 9780473339388
Publication Date: 2016
It was an age of exploration, a time of danger and a place full of intrigue. Fiji, 1866, is a country teetering between unpredictable chiefs, lawless migrants, missionaries and wild colonial boys from New Zealand and Australia seeking new lives and fortunes. Into this explosive mix steps Spencer Hunter, a dark-haired voyager on the run from his own troubles and unprepared for what - and who - awaits him. Who will win his heart? Will he keep his head? Margaret Waddingham's painstaking research into colonial Fiji illustrates a canvas with plantation-owners, powerful tribal chiefs and migrant labourers, and delivers the Pacific's answer to the American South...

Cover Art
The DeWire guide to lighthouses of Alaska, Hawai'i, and the U.S. Pacific territories - DeWire, Elinor
Call Number: VK 1024 .A4 D49 2012
ISBN: 9781937196912
Publication Date: 2012
The immense Pacific Ocean, rife with islands and rimmed by huge continents, has been a liquid highway for trade and travel for centuries. Its peaceful name masks a fickle character though serene and idyllic at times but also turbulent and merciless. Marking the shores of this largest ocean with lights and buoys presented enormous challenges. The DeWire Guide to Lighthouses of Alaska, Hawai i and Pacific Territories details that struggle and offers travelers and armchair tourists a glimpse of some little-known sentinels in distant places. The U.S. territories of the Pacific are detailed, including two that eventually became our 49th and 50th states in 1959, along with Guam and the Northern Marianas, American Samoa, and a sprinkling of small, far-flung islands made famous by World War II battles and celebrities like Amelia Earhart. Profiles of the lighthouses are complemented by travel information and archival and contemporary images. Also included are the stories of lightkeepers, lighthouse optics, and the fleet of vessels that built and maintained the lights. A bonus section tells the little-known history of buoys those faithful and colorful markers of waterways worldwide.

Cover Art
The genius of birds - Ackerman, Jennifer
Call Number: QL 698 .3 .A25 2016 (a copy is also available in the General collection)
ISBN: 9781594205217
Publication Date: 2016
In The Genius of Birds, acclaimed author Jennifer Ackerman explores the newly discovered brilliance of birds and how it came about. As she travels around the world to the most cutting-edge frontiers of research— the distant laboratories of Barbados and New Caledonia, the great tit communities of the United Kingdom and the bowerbird habitats of Australia, the ravaged mid-Atlantic coast after Hurricane Sandy and the warming mountains of central Virginia and the western states—Ackerman not only tells the story of the recently uncovered genius of birds but also delves deeply into the latest findings about the bird brain itself that are revolutionizing our view of what it means to be intelligent.

Cover Art
The providential life & heritage of Henry Obookiah : why did missionaries come to Hawai'i from New England and Tahiti? - Cook, Christopher L.
Call Number: BV 3680 .H4 O26 2015 (a copy is also available in USP Gen)
ISBN: 9780692440964
Publication Date: 2015
The publication of the Memoirs of Henry Obookiah inspired the sending of the Sandwich Islands Mission to Hawaii from Boston in 1819. Henry Obookiah, a young Native Hawaiian man known in Hawai‘i as Opukahaia, in 1808 left his life as an apprentice kahuna at Kealakekua Bay in Hawaii Island for the sea. He rose from sailor to scholar to evangelical Christian celebrity in New England. Obookiah’s life and death, as told in his memorial biography, made him a leading Second Great Awakening figure in America, Great Britain and beyond. For almost two-hundred years this classic account has stood as Obookiah’s definitive biography. Now following a decades-long quest seeking unknown aspects of the life of Henry Obookiah in Hawaii and New England, Hawaii-based author Christopher L. Cook is unveiling The Providential Life & Heritage of Henry Obookiah. This new account of the life and times of Obookiah greatly expands on the Memoirs of Henry Obookiah.

Cover Art
Tsunami science : ten years after the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami - Alexander B. Rabinovich, Eric L. Geist, Hermann M. Fritz, Jose C. Borrero (Editors)
Call Number: GC 221 .2 .T78 2015 v. I & II (other copies available)
ISBN: 9783034809115
Publication Date: 2015
This is a collection of essays focusing on progress in tsunami science since the great tsunami of 26 December. A magnitude Mw 9.1 earthquake (third strongest ever instrumentally recorded) generated a global tsunami that killed about 230,000 people along the coasts of 14 countries in the Indian Ocean and propagated as far as the North Pacific and North Atlantic. Since then, various countries from around the globe contributed major funding to tsunami research and mitigation, enabling the installation of hundreds of new high-precision instruments, the development of new technology and the establishment of more modern communication systems. As a result, incredible progress has been achieved in tsunami research and operation during the ten years after the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami.

Cover Art
War at the end of the world : Douglas MacArthur and the forgotten fight for New Guinea, 1942-1945 - Duffy, James P.
Call Number: D 767 .95 .D84 2016 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9780451418302
Publication Date: 2016
One American soldier called it “a green hell on earth.” Monsoon-soaked wilderness, debilitating heat, impassable mountains, torrential rivers, and disease-infested swamps—New Guinea was a battleground far more deadly than the most fanatical of enemy troops. Japanese forces numbering some 600,000 men began landing in January 1942, determined to seize the island as a cornerstone of the Empire’s strategy to knock Australia out of the war. Allied Commander-in-Chief General Douglas MacArthur committed 340,000 Americans, as well as tens of thousands of Australian, Dutch, and New Guinea troops, to retake New Guinea at all costs. What followed was a four-year campaign that involved some of the most horrific warfare in history.

Cover Art
Worldly provincialism : German anthropology in the age of empire - H. Glenn Penny and Matti Bunzl (Editors)
Call Number: GN 17 .3 .G47 W67 2003
ISBN: 9780472113187
Publication Date: 2003
Worldly Provincialism introduces readers to the intellectual history that drove the emergence of German anthropology. Drawing on the most recent work on the history of the discipline, the contributors rethink the historical and cultural connections between German anthropology, colonialism, and race. By showing that German intellectual traditions differed markedly from those of Western Europe, they challenge the prevalent assumption that Europeans abroad shared a common cultural code and behaved similarly toward non-Europeans. The eloquent and well-informed essays in this volume demonstrate that early German anthropology was fueled by more than a simple colonialist drive. Rather, a wide range of intellectual history shaped the Germans' rich and multifarious interest in the cultures, religions, physiognomy, physiology, and history of non-Europeans, and gave rise to their desire to connect with the wider world.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Shirley Devi
Contact Info
Phone: (+679) 32 32285
Send Email
What section of the Library do you work in?
Pacific Collection

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sofie Kubuwai
Contact Info
323 2380
Send Email
 
Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
© Copyright 2004 - 2013. All Rights Reserved.
The University of the South Pacific
Laucala Campus, Suva, Fiji
Tel: +679 323 1000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip