This is the "This month's new books" page of the "New titles in the Pacific Collection (May 2017)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
The University of the South Pacific
Library
 

New titles in the Pacific Collection (May 2017)  

Last Updated: Jul 6, 2017 URL: http://usp.ac.fj.libguides.com/pacnewtitles-may17 Print Guide RSS Updates
This month's new books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New items in the Pacific Collection

Here are the new books, DVDs and journals added to the Pacific Collection. Except for a few items on display in the New Books case in the Pacific Collection on Level C, these items are now available to be borrowed for 3 hours and used in the Pacific Collection Reading Room.

In some cases, there may be another copy of a title in the General collection or the Audio Visual Room (AVR)  for regular checkout. This is noted in the description where applicable.

 

Cover Art
Ruling minds : psychology in the British empire - Erik Linstrum
Call Number: BF 108 .G7 L56 2016
ISBN: 9780674088665
Publication Date: 2016
At its zenith in the early twentieth century, the British Empire ruled nearly one-quarter of the world’s inhabitants. As they worked to exercise power in diverse and distant cultures, British authorities relied to a surprising degree on the science of mind. Ruling Minds explores how psychology opened up new possibilities for governing the empire. From the mental testing of workers and soldiers to the use of psychoanalysis in development plans and counterinsurgency strategy, psychology provided tools for measuring and managing the minds of imperial subjects, but it also led to unintended consequences. Following researchers, missionaries, and officials to the far corners of the globe, Erik Linstrum examines how they used intelligence tests, laboratory studies, and even dream analysis to chart abilities and emotions. Psychology seemed to offer portable and standardized forms of knowledge that could be applied to people everywhere. Yet it also unsettled basic assumptions of imperial rule. Some experiments undercut the racial hierarchies that propped up British dominance. Others failed to realize the orderly transformation of colonized societies that experts promised and officials hoped for. Challenging our assumptions about scientific knowledge and empire, Linstrum shows that psychology did more to expose the limits of imperial authority than to strengthen it. Includes Pacific content.

Cover Art
Tides of innovation in Oceania : value, materiality and place - Elisabetta Gnecchi-Ruscone
Call Number: GN 662 .T534 2017
ISBN: 9781760460921
Publication Date: 2017
Tides of Innovation in Oceania is directly inspired by Epeli Hau‘ofa’s vision of the Pacific as a ‘Sea of Islands’; the image of tides recalls the cyclical movement of waves, with its unpredictable consequences. The authors propose tides of innovation as a fluid concept, unbound and open to many directions. This perspective is explored through ethnographic case studies centred on deeply elaborated analyses of locally inflected agencies involved in different transforming contexts. Three interwoven themes—value, materiality and place—provide a common thread.

Cover Art
Te matau a Māui : fish-hooks, fishing and fisheries in New Zealand - Chris Paulin; Mark Fenwick
Call Number: DU 423 .F5 P38 2016
ISBN: 9780824866181
Publication Date: 2016
Prior to European arrival in New Zealand, fishing was a significant component of Māori subsistence. The abundant fish stocks provided a rich and readily available resource, with methods of procuring fish based on careful observations of generations of fishers. Supplemented by shellfish and birds, the fish stocks were sufficient to provide adequate food supplies, except when seasonal periods of adverse weather prevented harvesting. Māori fished efficiently and sustainably utilizing nets (some over a mile long), traps, pots, spears, and lures, as well as hooks made of wood, bone, shell or stone that were as effective as any modern steel hook. The surplus catch was prepared and stored for later consumption. In the late 1700s, European sealers and whalers traded with Māori, often using metal tools as barter. Te Matau a Māui (Māui's fish-hook) describes traditional Māori fish-hooks and fishing, the development of commercial fisheries and the impact on conservation and management of New Zealand's fisheries resources since European settlement and the Treaty of Waitangi.

Cover Art
Teenage pregnancy : a problem? : deconstructing problematic constructions in the public discursive context of Samoa - Faleatua, Rachel
Call Number: HQ 759 .4 .F35 2016
ISBN: 9783659889592
Publication Date: 2016
In the global North, teenage pregnancy is often considered a medical and social problem. However, over the past decade an emergent body of literature has begun to challenge this notion by examining its historical construction. By adopting a similar approach, this book explores how teenage pregnancy has been constructed as both a moral and social problem in Samoa. In particular, it considers how moral constructions can sometimes prevent the effectiveness of rights-based development interventions for teenage pregnancy and stop young women from exercising their rights to sexual and reproductive health. This work will be useful for development and health practitioners at the grassroots level and organisations and policy makers working at the strategic level in Samoa.

Cover Art
Tala fa'asolopito o le Ekalesia Fa'apotopotoga a le Atua i Samoa (Assemblies of God, AOG) i Amerika Samoa = History of the Assemblies of God church in American Samoa - Fini Aitaoto
Call Number: BX 8762 .A45 A48 2012
ISBN: 9781449746445
Publication Date: 2012
A comprehensive history of the Assemblies of God Church in American Samoa. O le tala'aga o le tapuaiga o le Fa'apotopotoga a le Atua i Samoa - Amerika Samoa.

Cover Art
Organising for peace operations : lessons learned from Bougainville, East Timor, and the Solomon Islands - John Gordon; Jason H. Campbell
Call Number: JZ 5584 .A8 G67 2016
ISBN: 9780833094957
Publication Date: 2016
This report examines the Governmental organizational structures used in three Australian-led interventions in the late 1990s and early 2000s in Bougainville, East Timor, and the Solomon Islands. Whole-of-government efforts requiring co-ordination across many parts of the Australian Government characterized each of these unique operations, in which different organisational approaches were used to manage the participation of various agencies.

Cover Art
The healers - Kimo Armitage
Call Number: PS 3601 .R55 H43 2016
ISBN: 9780824856458
Publication Date: 2016
With roots firmly in the oral storytelling tradition, Kimo Armitage's The Healers weaves multiple narrators and time periods into a novel of remarkable breadth, giving insight into Hawaiian culture where nature, man, and the spirit world co-exist seamlessly. Echoing the voices of long ago, the book celebrates the connection to stories of Hawaii as once told by grandparents and great-grandparents. In the world of The Healers, family and place are revered and aloha is heartfelt.This compelling novel fills a gap in the Hawaiian literary canon of works for young adult readers.

Cover Art
Spiritual skin : magical tattoos and scarification : wisdom, healing, shamanic power, protection = Spirituelle körper : magische tattoos und narbenkunst : weiheit, heilung, schamanismus, beschützung - Krutak, Lars F.
Call Number: GT 2347 .K78 2012
ISBN: 9783943105117
Publication Date: 2012
Spiritual Skin: MAGICAL TATTOOS AND SCARIFICATION. Wisdom. Healing. Shamanic Power.Protection is a photographic masterwork in two parts.Based on one decade of tattoo anthropologist Dr. Lars Krutak's fieldwork among animistic and shamanic societies of Asia, Africa, the Americas, and Melanesia, Spiritual Skin: MAGICAL TATTOOS AND SCARIFICATION journeys into highly sacred territory to reveal how people utilize ritual body modification to enhance their access to the supernatural.The first part delves into the ancient art of Thai tattooing or sak yant that is administered by holy monks.Also included is an in-depth study into the tattooing worlds of the Amerindians.Part two of Spiritual Skin: MAGICAL TATTOOS AND SCARIFICATION is an absolute must-read-and-see for anyone seeking knowledge about the religious meanings of tribal scarification.Text in English & German.

Cover Art
The coconut : phylogeny, origins, and spread - Nayar, N. M. (Narayanan Madhavan)
Call Number: SB 401 .C6 N39 2017
ISBN: 9780128097786
Publication Date: 2017
The Coconut: Phylogeny, Origins, and Spread comprehensively covers the botany, phylogeny, origins, and spread of the coconut palm. The coconut is used primarily for its oil, fiber, and as an article of food, including its tender-nut water. Until the 1950s, coconut oil used to rank first in the world in production and international trade among all the vegetable oils. Since then, lower-cost sources such as the African oil palm, soybean, canola, and others have overtaken the coconut in oil production and trade. The coconut, Cocos nucifera L. (Arecaceae), is a dominant part of the littoral vegetation across the tropics. In addition to discussing the origins of the coconut and its use as a crop, the book covers the resurgence in the use of the coconut in food, pharmaceuticals, and nutraceuticals.

Cover Art
Dispatches from Distant Shores - Nandan, Satendra,
Call Number: In-process
ISBN: 9780992498924
Publication Date: 2017
A book of essays on a variety of subjects. Most of these essays have been published in the daily newspaper Fiji Sun as weekly columns. Some have appeared in journals and books. These were written over the past two years on current topics including cricket, freedom, national identity, Gandhi, migrants and refugees, selected books, personalities and writers, politics,writing, literary journeys, and personal reminiscences.

Cover Art
Sous l'emprise du tiki / Françoise Saint-Chabaud - Saint-Chabaud, Françoise
Call Number: PQ 3998 .5 .T3 S25 2012
ISBN: 2915105596
Publication Date: 2012
A thriller in the South Pacific Chronicle to the very serious Sydney Post, Poerava Morton, Tahitian living in Australia, discovers on his answering machine a strange message. The same day, a motorcycle rushes on her and throws her downtown. Confronted with a situation that escapes her, dragged irresistibly to a past she rejects, unconsciously, Poorava Morton yields to the mysterious charm of Paul Dorval, a fascinating and enigmatic character. In spite of herself she finds herself mixed up in a millenarian sect which leads her to the gates of horror. In charge of the investigation, Inspector Arthur Brians does not believe in the accident. Disturbing coincidences and the more or less curious actions of the young woman's relatives seem to be right. A plot rich in twists, an obsessive image of filigree tiki plunge the reader into the disturbing world of pleiades and Polynesian mysteries.

Cover Art
Kana Vinaka : contemporary Island cuisine - Chung, Colin
Call Number: TX 724 .5 .P28 K36 2017
ISBN: 9780473390044
Publication Date: 2017
This book is a delightful collection of recipes, beautifully presented and photographed.Kana Vinaka is a celebration of contemporary Fijian cuisine which explores Fiji's bountiful produce and provides a wide selection of modern recipes, as well adapting traditional favourites to renew our pride and enjoyment of local cuisine. Throughout Fiji, food is about sharing our hospitality and culture with others, and Kana Vinaka (literally translated to mean 'Good food' or 'Eat well') is a modern and innovative look at Fijian cuisine,which provides us with exciting new recipes to try at home, in restaurants, resorts and culinary training institutions.

Cover Art
Australia's northern shield? : Papua New Guinea and the defence of Australia since 1880 - Hunt, Bruce G.
Call Number: UA 870 .H86 2017
ISBN: 9781925495409
Publication Date: 2017
This book is the first to draw extensively on the recently released highly classified notes of the cabinet room discussions of successive Australian Governments, from 1950 to the mid-1970s. It details the changing attitude of the nation's leaders towards the place of Papua New Guinea in Australia's defense and security outlook. The Cabinet Notebooks provide an uncensored and unprecedented insight into the opinion of Australia's leaders towards Indonesia under Sukarno, Southeast Asia and Indo-China in general; the changing nature of relations with Britain and the United States; and towards Papua New Guinea. The cabinet room discussions reveal attitudes towards Asia and Australia's place in the region which are more nuanced, varied, and sensitive than previously known. They also illustrate the dominant influence of Prime Minister Robert Menzies and Deputy Prime Minister John McEwen in shaping Australia's response to the critical events of the time. Australia's Northern Shield? shows how, since colonial times, Australia has assessed the importance of Papua New Guinea by examining the ambitions of and threats from external sources, principally Imperial Germany, Japan, and Indonesia. It examines the significant change in Australia's attitude as this region approached independence in 1975, amid concerns as to the new nation's future stability and unity.

Cover Art
The world and all the things upon it : native Hawaiian geographies of exploration - Chang, David A.
Call Number: G 222 .C53 2016
ISBN: 9780816699421
Publication Date: 2016
What if we saw indigenous people as the active agents of global exploration rather than as the passive objects of that exploration? What if, instead of conceiving of global exploration as an enterprise just of European men such as Columbus or Cook or Magellan, we thought of it as an enterprise of the people they “discovered”? What could such a new perspective reveal about geographical understanding and its place in struggles over power in the context of colonialism? The World and All the Things upon It addresses these questions by tracing how Kanaka Maoli (Native Hawaiian people) explored the outside world and generated their own understandings of it in the century after James Cook’s arrival in 1778.Writing with verve, David A. Chang draws on the compelling words of long-ignored Hawaiian-language sources—stories, songs, chants, and political prose—to demonstrate how Native Hawaiian people worked to influence their metaphorical “place in the world.”Rarely have historians asked how non-Western people imagined and even forged their own geographies of their colonizers and the broader world. This book takes up that task. It emphasizes, moreover, that there is no better way to understand the process and meaning of global exploration than by looking out from the shores of a place, such as Hawai?i, that was allegedly the object, and not the agent, of exploration.

Cover Art
Monster anthropology in Australasia and beyond - Musharbash, Yasmine, editor Henning Presterudstuen, Geir, editor
Call Number: GR 365 .M66 2014
ISBN: 9781137472793
Publication Date: 2014
Offering a dialogue between anthropology and literature, culture, and media, this book presents fine-grained ethnographic vignettes of monsters dwelling in the contemporary world. These monsters hail from Aboriginal Australia, the Pacific, Asia, and Europe, and their presence is inextricably intertwined with the lives of those they haunt.

Cover Art
Traveling prehistoric seas : critical thinking on ancient transoceanic voyages - Kehoe, Alice Beck, 1934-
Call Number: GN 799 .N3 K44 2016
ISBN: 9781629580661
Publication Date: 2016
Until recently the theory that people could have traversed large expanses of ocean in prehistoric times was considered pseudoscience. But recent discoveries in places as disparate as Australia, Labrador, Crete, California, and Chile open the possibility that ancient oceans were highways, not barriers, and that ancient people possessed the means and motives to traverse them. In this brief, thought-provoking, but controversial book Alice Kehoe considers the existing evidence in her reassessment of ancient sailing. Her book-critically analyzes the growing body of evidence on prehistoric sailing to help scholars and students evaluate a highly controversial hypothesis;-examines evidence from archaeology, anthropology, botany, art, mythology, linguistics, maritime technology, architecture, paleopathology, and other disciplines;-presents her evidence in student-accessible language to allow instructors to use this work for teaching critical thinking skills.

Cover Art
Economics : principles and policies in the South Pacific - Mickleburgh, Andrew
Call Number: HB 171 .5 .M53 2014
ISBN: 9781486002627
Publication Date: 2014
This book is designed to equip senior secondary and tertiary students in Papua New Guinea and other Pacific islands with the economic theory and skills required to identify and evaluate opportunities and challenges facing Pacific island nations in the global economy. Focusing on the six largest Pacific Islands countries, namely Papua New Guinea, Fiji, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga and Vanuatu, readers will acquire an understanding of the economist's toolkit and an ability to apply this to matters in the South Pacific, as well as gain knowledge of the theories and contributions of influential economists.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Gwen Rounds

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sofie Kubuwai
Contact Info
323 2380
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Aarti Mala
Contact Info
Ph: 3232380
Send Email
What section of the Library do you work in?
Pacific Collection
 
Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
© Copyright 2004 - 2013. All Rights Reserved.
The University of the South Pacific
Laucala Campus, Suva, Fiji
Tel: +679 323 1000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip