This is the "This month's new books" page of the "New titles in the Pacific Collection May 2016" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
The University of the South Pacific
Welcome to the Library
 

New titles in the Pacific Collection May 2016   Tags: new books, pacific collection new resources  

Last Updated: Sep 4, 2016 URL: http://usp.ac.fj.libguides.com/pacnewtitles-may16 Print Guide RSS Updates
This month's new books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New items in the Pacific Collection

Here are the titles added to the Pacific Collection this month and are now available for borrowing and use in the Pacific Collection Reading Room.

In some cases, there may be another copy of a title in the General Collection or the Audio Visual Room (AVR)  for regular checkout. This is noted in the description where applicable.

 

Cover Art
Abundance and resilience : farming and foraging in ancient Kauaʻi - Field, Julie S. and Graves, Michael W.
Call Number: DU 624 .A28 2015
ISBN: 9780824839895
Publication Date: 2015
At the base of a steep cliff towering some 500 feet above the coast of the remote N? Pali district on the island of Kaua'i, lies the spectacular historical and archaeological site at Nu'alolo Kai. First excavated by Bishop Museum archaeologists between 1958 and 1964, the site contained the well-preserved remains of one of the largest and most diverse arrays of traditional and historic artifacts ever found in Hawai'i. The house sites that constitute the focus of Abundance and Resilience were built over five centuries of occupation and contained deeply buried, stratified deposits extending more than nine feet beneath the surface. The essays in this volume detail the work of archaeologists associated with the University of Hawai'i who have been compiling and studying the animal remains recovered from the excavations.

Cover Art
Adventures in the anthropocene : a journey to the heart of the planet we made - Vince, Gaia
Call Number: GE 149 .V56 2014 (a copy is also available at PIMRIS)
ISBN: 9781571313577
Publication Date: 2014
"We live in times of enormous change on Earth. While previous shifts from one geological epoch to another were caused by events beyond human control, our addition of carbon to the atmosphere over the past century has moved many scientists to declare the dawn of a new era: the Anthropocene--the Age of Man. This latest geological epoch is rarely associated with positive news. Pointing to climate change, overpopulation, and species extinction, the writers weighing in on the change widely assert that this dark cloud has no silver lining. Watching this consensus develop from her seat as an editor at Nature, Gaia Vince couldn't help but wonder if the greatest cause of this dramatic planetary change--humans' singular ability to innovate--might also hold the key to our survival. And so she left her professional life in London and set out to travel the world in search of ordinary people doing extraordinary things to adapt, and, in many cases, to thrive. She meets Nepalese engineers creating artificial glaciers, a man in the Caribbean who created an entire island out of garbage, and numerous other innovators--from Uganda, the Maldives, Columbia, and countless points between.

Cover Art
An introduction to the history of religion - Jevons, Frank Byron
Call Number: BL 80 .J48 2015
ISBN: 9781138815001
Publication Date: 2015
First published in 1902, this book investigates the history and development of early religion from an anthropological perspective. Rather than dealing with religions that grew from the teachings of their original founders, such as Christianity, Islam, and Buddhism, Jevons considers those religions that were practised as a matter of custom and tradition. The title considers such subjects as the supernatural, life and death, animal sacrifice, and the worship of nature. It provides an introduction to the history of religion for students of religion, anthropology and folklore.

Cover Art
Animals into art - Howard Morphy (ed.)
Call Number: GN 799 .P4 A55 2015 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781138816077
Publication Date: 2015
This book is one of a series of volumes resulting from the World Archaeological Congress, September 1986 which addressed world archaeology in its widest sense, investigating how people lived in the past and how and why changes took place to result in the forms of society and culture which exist now. The series brought together archaeologists and anthropologists from many parts of the world, academics from contingent disciplines, and also non-academics from a wide range of cultural backgrounds who could lend their own expertise to the discussions. This book is an exploration of the way in which the animal world features in the works of art of a variety of cultures of different times and places. Contributors have adopted a variety of perspectives for looking at the complex ways in which past and present humans have interrelated with beings they classify as animals. Some of the approaches are predominantly economic and ecological, some are symbolic and others philosophical or theological.

Cover Art
Beyond Papillon : the French overseas penal colonies, 1854-1952 - Toth, Stephen A.
Call Number: HV 8943 .F8 T68 2006
ISBN: 9780803217980
Publication Date: 2006
For French criminologists and colonialists of the mid-nineteenth century, the penal colonies of Guiana and New Caledonia seemed to satisfy two needs, namely, to incarcerate a growing number of criminals and to supply manpower for these developing colonies. But were these two goals not contradictory? Was the primary purpose of the penal colonies to punish or to colonize? In the prisons, inmates found means of subversion, guards resisted militaristic discipline, and camp commanders fought physicians for authority. Back in the metropole, journalistic exposés catered to the public’s fascination with the penal colonies’ horror and exoticism. An understanding of modern France is not complete without an examination of this institution, which existed for more than a century and imprisoned more than one hundred thousand people. Stephen A. Toth invites readers to experience the prisons firsthand. Through a careful analysis of criminal case files, administrative records, and prisoner biographies, Toth reconstructs life in the penal colonies and examines how the social sciences, tropical medicine, and sensational journalism evaluated and exploited the inmates’ experiences.

Cover Art
Bible, borders, belonging(s) : engaging readings from Oceania - Jione Havea, David J. Neville, and Elaine M. Wainwright (Editors)
Call Number: BS 511 .3 .B53 2014 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781589839564
Publication Date: 2014
In this collection of essays, scholars from Oceania open a new dialog regarding the vast, complex, and slippery nature of the Bible and the fluid meanings of borders and belongings. From belonging in a place, a group, or movement to belongings as material and cultural possessions, from borders of a text, discipline, or thought to borders of nations, communities, or bodies, the authors follow the currents of Oceania to the shores of Asia and beyond. Scholars contributing essays include Jeffrey W. Aernie, Merilyn Clark, Jione Havea, Gregory C. Jenks, Jeanette Mathews, Judith E. McKinlay, Monica Jyotsna Melanchthon, David J. Neville, John Painter, Kathleen P. Rushton, Ruth Sheridan, Nasili Vaka'uta, and Elaine M. Wainwright. Michele A. Connolly, David M. Gunn, and Mark G. Brett provide responses to the essays.

Cover Art
Bodies and persons : comparative perspectives from Africa and Melanesia - Michael Lambek and Andrew Strathern (Editors)
Call Number: GN 645 .B576 1998 (a copy also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9780521621946
Publication Date: 1998
This book suggests a bold comparative approach to broad cultural differences between Africa and Melanesia. Its theme is personhood, understood in terms of what anthropologists call embodiment. These concepts are applied to questions ranging from the meanings of spirit possession, to the logics of witchcraft and kinship relations, the use of rituals in healing, and even the impact of capitalism. Questioning common assumptions about the huge differences among these discrete areas, the contributions document surprising continuities.

Cover Art
Climate change and displacement : multidisciplinary perspectives - McAdam, Jane (ed.)
Call Number: HV 640 .C55 2010 (a copy also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781849460385
Publication Date: 2010
Environmental migration is not new. Nevertheless, the events and processes accompanying global climate change threaten to increase human movement both within states and across international borders. The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change has predicted an increased frequency and severity of climate events such as storms, cyclones and hurricanes, as well as longer-term sea level rise and desertification, which will impact upon people's ability to survive in certain parts of the world. This book brings together a variety of disciplinary perspectives on the phenomenon of climate-induced displacement. With chapters by leading scholars in their field, it collects in one place a rigorous, holistic analysis of the phenomenon, which can better inform academic understanding and policy development alike. Governments have not been prepared to take a leading role in developing responses to the issue, in large part due to the absence of strong theoretical and empirical frameworks from which sound policy can be constructed.

Cover Art
Creoles, their substrates, and language typology - Claire Lefebvre (Editor)
Call Number: PM 7831 .C74 2011
ISBN: 9789027206763
Publication Date: 2011
Since creole languages draw their properties from both their substrate and superstrate sources, the typological classification of creoles has long been a major issue for creolists, typologists, and linguists in general. Several contradictory proposals have been put forward in the literature. For example, creole languages typologically pair with their superstrate languages (Chaudenson 2003), with their substrate languages (Lefebvre 1998), or even, creole languages are alike (Bickerton 1984) such that they constitute a “definable typological class” (McWhorter 1998). This book contains 25 chapters bearing on detailed comparisons of some 30 creoles and their substrate languages. As the substrate languages of these creoles are typologically different, the detailed investigation of substrate features in the creoles leads to a particular answer to the question of how creoles should be classified typologically. The bulk of the data show that creoles reproduce the typological features of their substrate languages. This argues that creoles cannot be claimed to constitute a definable typological class.

Cover Art
Dark sparring : poems - Marsh, Selina Tusitala
Call Number: PR 9639 .4 .M37 D37 2013
ISBN: 9781869407865
Publication Date: 2013
In Dark Sparring, Selina Tusitala Marsh combats family loss with all the techniques of poetry, ritual and Thai kickboxing at her disposal. The book and accompanying CD brim with fluid, humming list poems, literary shoutouts and personal elegies, as Marsh takes us through her mother's diagnosis with cancer and the long journey out the other side of her illness. Along the way, she shows us other parts of her world: scenes from Matiatia to ?rapiu to Apia; classroom politics; the importance of leadership; and the reasons New Zealand is a 'lucky' country. Dark Sparring has an appealing voice, a strong right hook and an affecting, rhythmic heart.

Cover Art
Disaster capitalism : making a killing out of catastrophe - Loewenstein, Antony
Call Number: HD 2756 .L64 2015 (a copy also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781784781156
Publication Date: 2015
Crisis? What crisis? How powerful corporations make a killing out of disaster, Award-winning journalist Antony Loewenstein travels across the US, Britain, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Haiti, Papua New Guinea and Australia to witness the reality of Disaster Capitalism. He visits Britain's immigration detention centers, tours the prison system in the United States, and digs into the underbelly of the companies making a fortune from them. Loewenstein reveals the dark history of how large multinational corporations have become more powerful than governments, supported by media and political elites.

Cover Art
Disaster risk management in Asia and the Pacific - Ian Davis (ed.)
Call Number: HV 551 .5 .P16 D57 2015 (a copy available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781138785021
Publication Date: 2015
This book uses two international frameworks―the Millennium Development Goals and the Hyogo Framework for Action, a program focused on disaster risk management―to study the key trends in the region in terms of disaster incidence, sources of vulnerability and social and economic challenges. As both frameworks draw to a close, international debate is taking place during the period 2012–2015 on their current progress. The chapters are written by eight independent internationally based authors. Collectively, they have extensive regional experience in the areas of disaster risk management and climate change as well as working in academia, research, consultancy, the UN and international agencies, government and the NGO sector. The analysis presented benefits from their varied backgrounds in medicine, architecture, economics, engineering, planning, social studies, development studies and political science.

Cover Art
Engaging first peoples in arts-based service learning : towards respectful and mutually beneficial educational practices - Brydie-Leigh Bartleet, Dawn Bennett, Anne Power, Naomi Sunderland (Editors)
Call Number: LC 220 .5 .E54 2016
ISBN: 9783319221526
Publication Date: 2016
This volume offers educators, higher education institutions, communities and organizations critical understandings and resources that can underpin respectful, reciprocal and transformative educative relationships with First Peoples internationally. With a focus on service learning, each chapter provides concrete examples of how arts-based, community-led projects can enhance and support the quality and sustainability of First Peoples' cultural content in higher education. In partnership with communities across Australia, Aotearoa New Zealand, Canada and the United States, contributors reflect on diverse projects and activities, offer rich and engaging first-hand accounts of student, community and staff experiences, share recommendations for arts-based service learning projects and outline future directions in the field. Arts-based service learning is here presented as a tool for stepping outside traditional classrooms, in order to learn about culture and to engage with real subjects.

Cover Art
English language as hydra : its impacts on non-English language cultures - Vaughan Rapatahana and Pauline Bunce (Editors)
Call Number: P 130 .52 .P16 E54 2012
ISBN: 9781847697493
Publication Date: 2012
English Language as Hydra brings together the voices of linguists, literary figures and teaching professionals in a wide-ranging exposé of this monstrous Hydra in action on four continents. It provides a showcase of the diverse and powerful impacts that this ever-evolving, gluttonous beast has had on so many non-English language cultures - as well as the surreptitious, drug-like ways in which it can infiltrate individual psyches. Includes a chapter by Xavier Barker, ex-Director (Acting), USP campus Nauru : English language as bully in the Republic of Nauru

Cover Art
Handbook of coastal disaster mitigation for engineers and planners - Miguel Esteban; Hiroshi Takagi; Tomoya Shibayama (Editors)
Call Number: TC 209 .H36 2015 (a copy also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9780128010600
Publication Date: 2015
"Handbook of Coastal Disaster Mitigation for Engineers and Planners" presents a coherent overview of 10 years of coastal disaster risk management and engineering, during which some of the most relevant events of recent times have taken place, including the 2004 Indian Ocean Tsunami, hurricanes Katrina and Sandy in the United States, the 2011 Tohoku earthquake tsunami in Japan, typhoon Haiyan in 2013 in the Philippines and 2009 Samoa Tsunami. The Handbook begins with an authoritative engineering analysis of recent tsunami and tropical cyclone events. This is followed by chapters covering topics dealing with how to analyze future threats and conduct vulnerability assessments. The authors then introduce engineering mitigation measures, including structural measures (both hard and soft types) and the potential for post-disaster reconstruction to build societies more resilient to natural disasters. Finally, the influence that climate change is likely to have on future coastal disasters and engineering structures is discussed, together with adaptation options for a range of coastal infrastructure.

Cover Art
Historical dictionary of international organizations in Asia and the Pacific - McDougall, Derek
Call Number: JZ 4850 .M33 2014
ISBN: 9780810867918
Publication Date: 2014
This second edition covers the history through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 200 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, thematic topics, and major international issues affecting the region. This book is a valuable tool for anyone seeking details about international organizations in Asia and the Pacific, and the international context within which those organizations function.

Cover Art
Hīkoi : forty years of Māori protest - Harris, Aroha
Call Number: DU 423 .S6 H37 2004
ISBN: 9781869691011
Publication Date: 2004
This book provides an overview of the contemporary Maori protest 'movement', a summary of the rationale behind the actions, and a wonderful collection of photographs of the action - the protests, the marches and the toil behind the scenes. And it provides a glimpse of the fruits of that protest - the Waitangi Tribunal and the opportunity to prepare, present and negotiate Treaty settlements; Maori language made an official language; Maori-medium education; Maori health providers; iwi radio and, in 2004, Maori television.

Cover Art
Indigenous Australia and the unfinished business of theology : cross-cultural engagement - Havea, Jione (ed.)
Call Number: BR 128 .A86 I53 2014
ISBN: 9781137426666
Publication Date: 2014
This book engages a complex subject that mainline theologies avoid, Indigenous Australia. The heritages, wisdoms and dreams of Indigenous Australians are tormented by the discriminating mindsets and colonialist practices of non-Indigenous peoples. This book gives special attention to the torments due to the arrival and development of the church.

Cover Art
Indigenous education : language, culture and identity - W. James Jacob, Sheng Yao Cheng, Maureen K. Porter (Editors)
Call Number: LC 3715 .I53 2015
ISBN: 9789401793544
Publication Date: 2015
Indigenous Education is a compilation of conceptual chapters and national case studies that includes empirical research based on a series of data collection methods. The book provides up-to-date scholarly research on global trends on three issues of paramount importance with indigenous education--language, culture, and identity. It also offers a strategic comparative and international education policy statement on recent shifts in indigenous education, and new approaches to explore, develop, and improve comparative education and policy research globally. Contributing authors examine several social justice issues related to indigenous education. In addition to case perspectives from 12 countries and global regions, the volume includes five conceptual chapters on topics that influence indigenous education, including policy debates, the media, the united nations, formal and informal education systems, and higher education.

Cover Art
Information structure and reference tracking in complex sentences - Rik van Gijn ; Jeremy Hammond ; Dejan Matić ; Saskia van Putten ; Ana Vilacy Galucio (Editors)
Call Number: P 294 .I54 2014
ISBN: 9789027206862
Publication Date: 2014
This volume is dedicated to exploring the crossroads where complex sentences and information management – more specifically information structure and reference tracking – come together. Complex sentences are a highly relevant but understudied domain for studying notions of IS and RT. On the one hand, a complex sentence can be studied as a mini-unit of discourse consisting of two or more elements describing events, situations, or processes, with its own internal information-structural and referential organization. On the other hand, complex sentences can be studied as parts of larger discourse structures, such as narratives or conversations, in terms of how their information-structural characteristics relate to this wider context. The book offers new perspectives for the study of the interaction between complex sentences and information management, and moreover adds typological breadth by focusing on lesser studied languages from several parts of the world. Includes a chapter on Whitesands (Oceanic language).

Cover Art
Inked : tattoos and body art around the world (2 Volumes) - DeMello, Margo
Call Number: GT 2345 .D46 2014 (a copy of each volume is also located in the Reference Collection)
ISBN: 9781610690751
Publication Date: 2014
In recent decades, tattoos have gone from being a subculture curiosity in Western culture to mainstream and commonplace. This two-volume set provides broad coverage of tattooing and body art in the United States today as well as around the world and throughout human history. Provides the most complete global overview of tattooing and body art as it exists today and throughout history, available in one resource. Addresses the major practices, their historical and cross-cultural locations, and the major cultural groups and places in which tattooing has played a central role in social and cultural practices. Covers individuals who helped popularize tattooing, the major theoretical issues surrounding tattooing, the laws and customs regarding tattooing, the many ways in which tattooing has played a role in various marketing and advertising campaigns, and the social movements that have influenced or been affected by tattooing. Includes a comprehensive list of resources such as magazines, organizations, websites, and museums devoted to tattooing as well as a glossary and comprehensive bibliography

Cover Art
Jerome Kaino : my story - Kaino, Jerome ; McKendry, Patrick
Call Number: GV 944 .9 .K35 J47 2015 (a copy also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9780143573562
Publication Date: 2015
For the first time and in his own words, this is All Black Jerome Kaino's life story, from humble beginnings in South Auckland to becoming a Rugby World Cup champion and the best number 6 on the planet.

Cover Art
Kanaka ʻōiwi methodologies : moʻolelo and metaphor - Katrina-Ann R. Kapāʻanaokalāokeola Nākoa Oliveira and Erin Kahunawaikaʻala Wright (Editors)
Call Number: DU 624 .5 .K36 2016
ISBN: 9780824855857
Publication Date: 2016
For many new indigenous scholars, the start of academic research can be an experience rife with conflict in many dimensions. Though there are a multitude of approaches to research and inquiry, many of those methods ignore ancient wisdom and traditions as well as alternative worldviews and avenues for both discovery and learning. The fourth volume in the Hawai'inui?kea series, guest coedited by Katrina-Ann R. Kap?'anaokal?okeola N?koa Oliveira and Erin Kahunawaika'ala Wright, explores techniques for inquiry through some of the many perspectives of Kanaka '?iwi (Native Hawaiian) scholars at work today.Kanaka '?iwi Methodologies: Mo'olelo and Metaphor is a collection of """"methods-focused"""" essays written by Kanaka scholars across academic disciplines. To better illustrate for practitioners how to use research for deeper understanding, positive social change, as well as language and cultural revitalization, the texts examine Native Hawaiian Critical Race Theory, Hawaiian traditions and protocol in environmental research, using mele (song) for program evaluation, and more.

Cover Art
Ko tautoro, te pito o tōku ao : a Ngāpuhi narrative - Sadler, Hōne
Call Number: DU 424 .N36 S23 2014
ISBN: 9781869408145
Publication Date: 2014
Sadler illustrates the unbroken chain of Ngāpuhi sovereignty by looking in-depth at his own hapū of Ngāti Moerewa, Ngāti Rangi and Ngāi Tawake ki te Waokū of Tautoro and Matarāua. The narrative is told through weaving together karakia and whakapapa, histories and kōrero that have been part of the oral traditions of Ngāpuhi's whānau, hapū and iwi and handed down through the generations on marae and other gathering places.

Cover Art
Kuleana and commitment : working toward a collaborative Hawaiian archaeology - Kawelu, Kathleen L.
Call Number: CC 77 .C66 K39 2015
ISBN: 9780824846800
Publication Date: 2015
In Kuleana and Commitment , Kathleen Kawelu examines the often tension-filled interactions between Kanaka Maoli and archaeologists in Hawai'i by conducting an ethnographic investigation of the discipline of archaeology itself. She explores the development of Hawaiian archaeology, discusses important cases of the recent past, and focuses on the interpersonal relationships between these two key groups involved in heritage management in Hawai'i. By revealing and understanding the contemporary attitudes of Kanaka Maoli and archaeologists toward each other, Kawelu suggests a change in trajectory toward a more collaborative approach in practicing Hawaiian archaeology. Through interviews with individuals from both sides, Kawelu taps into collective narratives that reveal two overarching themes. The first narrative speaks about the continuation of Kanaka Maoli cultural practices and beliefs, for example, kuleana (responsibility); the second speaks about the kind of commitment to Hawaiian archaeology and Kanaka Maoli descendants that is desired from archaeologists. Requests for respect, communication, and partnership are heard in the narratives. These same qualities also serve as the foundation for community-based archaeology, which challenges the exclusive access of archaeologists to the past and places the discipline and its practitioners among a broader community of stakeholders, particularly descendant communities.

Cover Art
Kūpapa : the bitter legacy of Māori alliances with the Crown - Crosby, Ron
Call Number: DU 423 .W35 C76 2015
ISBN: 9780143573111
Publication Date: 2015
The Treaty of Waitangi struck a bargain between two parties: the Crown and Māori. Its promises of security, however, were followed from 1845 to 1872 by a series of volatile and bloody conflicts commonly known as the New Zealand Wars. Many people today believe that these wars were fought solely between the Crown and Māori, when the reality is that Māori aligned with both sides - resulting in three participants with differing viewpoints ... Kūpapa addresses those realities, the complex Treaty-related reasons for them, and the cynical use of Māori by the Crown for its own purposes.

Cover Art
La fin des Indigènes en Nouvelle-Calédonie : le colonial à l'épreuve du politique, 1946-1976 - Soriano, Éric
Call Number: DU 720 .75 .S67 2014
ISBN: 9782811110734
Publication Date: 2014
This book is the result of an investigation initiated in 1993 as part of a political sociology doctorate. The author takes up and develops some of the initial work , which resulted in the presentation of a thesis in 2000 at the University of Montpellier under the title, "A political trajectory in Melanesia: identity construction and training of a staff policy : example Kanak of New Caledonia, 1946-1999."

Cover Art
Language and translation in postcolonial literatures : multilingual contexts, translational texts - Bertacco, Simona
Call Number: PN 241 .L36 2014
ISBN: 9780415656047
Publication Date: 2014
This collection gathers together a stellar group of contributors offering innovative perspectives on the issues of language and translation in postcolonial studies. In a world where bi- and multilingualism have become quite normal, this volume identifies a gap in the critical apparatus in postcolonial studies in order to read cultural texts emerging out of multilingual contexts. The essays in this book by contributors from Australia, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Cyprus, Malaysia, Quebec, Ireland, France, Scotland, the US, and Italy outline a pragmatics of language and translation of value to scholars with an interest in the changing forms of literature and culture in our times. Essay topics include: multilingual textual politics; the benefits of multilingual education in postcolonial countries; the language of gender and sexuality in postcolonial literatures; translational cities; postcolonial calligraphy; globalization and the new digital ecology.

Cover Art
Language vitality through Bible translation - Marianne Beerle-Moor, Vitaly Voinov, (Editors)
Call Number: BS 450 .L36 2015
ISBN: 9781433128929
Publication Date: 2015
This interdisciplinary collection of articles, written by scholars involved in translating the Bible into various languages around the world, demonstrates that such translation projects are promoting the vitality of local languages, both those that are endangered and those that are still fairly healthy but non-empowered. Bible translation and activities typically associated with it, such as linguistic documentation, vernacular literacy work, cultural engagement, community development, technological advancement, and self-esteem building among native speakers, help languages to develop and strengthen their position in society and should therefore be welcomed by linguists and all who care about stemming the growing tide of language death all over the world. This book is immediately relevant to the global community of documentary and conservationist linguists, as well as to anyone interested in translation studies, the sociology of religion, and the relationship between language, culture, and the Bible.

Cover Art
My Couch is Your Couch: exploring how people live around the World - Galimberti, Gabriele
Call Number: GT 170 .G35 2015
ISBN: 9780804185578
Publication Date: 2015
Documentarian and photographer Gabriele Galimberti traveled the world for more than two years. The stunning photography collection in My Couch Is Your Couch reveals the wide range of spaces we can call “home.” Sleeping everywhere, from a castle-like estate in Germany surrounded by a moat to a hut in Fiji made of metal sheeting, Gabriele saw the world and its cultures from the inside. Across six continents, he photographed his hosts at home, at work, and at play, and in doing so, captured the essence of each person and place. My Couch Is Your Couch is about sharing and learning; it presents moments of awkwardness and discomfort, friendship, and sometimes even love. Ultimately, Gabriele reveals what’s at the center of travel: connecting with other people.

Cover Art
New Zealand's empire - Katie Pickles and Catharine Coleborne (Editors)
Call Number: DU 421 .N49 2016 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9780719091537
Publication Date: 2016
This edited collection investigates New Zealand's history as an imperial power, and its evolving place within the British Empire. It revises and expands the history of empire within, to and from New Zealand by looking at the country's spheres of internal imperialism, its relationship with Australia, its Pacific empire and its outreach to Antarctica. The book critically revises our understanding of the range of ways that New Zealand has played a role as an imperial power, including the cultural histories of New Zealand inside the British Empire, engagements with imperial practices and notions of imperialism, the special significance of New Zealand in the Pacific region, and the circulation of ideas of empire both through and inside New Zealand over time.

Cover Art
Nā inoa hōkū : Hawaiian and Pacific star names - Johnson, Rubellite K. ; Mahelona, John K. ; Ruggles, Clive
Call Number: QB 802 .J64 2015 (a copy also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9780954086756
Publication Date: 2015
Na Inoa Hoku is a definitive source of reference for anyone studying the use of astronomy in Polynesian voyaging as well as in ritual and calendrical practices throughout the Pacific. This new edition is completely overhauled, vastly expanded, and includes new translations of many key original Hawaiian sources from the mid-19th century onwards.

Cover Art
Our own image : a story of a Maori filmmaker - Barclay, Barry
Call Number: PN 1993 .3 .J26 B37 2015 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9780816697618
Publication Date: 2015
Acclaimed Maori filmmaker Barry Barclay’s Our Own Image relates the experiences of making his documentaries and his critically acclaimed feature-length film Ngati (1987), widely credited as the first fiction feature by a member of an indigenous community. Barclay details his views on the process of filmmaking within his own Maori community and discusses how his work differed from popular cinema, advocating for indigenous control, participation, and perspectives in media. Our Own Image gives an in-depth depiction of the changes Barclay’s approach contributed to the field of documentaries, as well as displaying the respect for community Barclay brought to his filming technique. His insistence on letting people speak for themselves demonstrated authenticity to audiences, creating awareness of indigenous cinema in New Zealand and worldwide.

Cover Art
People of the land : images and Māori proverbs of Aotearoa New Zealand - Mead, Hirini Moko ; Mead, June Te Rina
Call Number: PN 6519 .M35 M43 2010
ISBN: 9781869694036
Publication Date: 2010
He aha te mea nui o te Ao? He tangata, he tangata, he tangata What is most precious and important in this world? It is people, it is people, it is people. A collection of poignant pepeha (Maori proverbs) explained in English with images of Maori that embody the messages. This precious gift book opens doors to a Maori world for everyone who is interested in the wisdom, values and advice of past generations.

Cover Art
Politics and democracy in microstates - Veenendaal, Wouter
Call Number: JC 365 .V44 2015 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781138792593
Publication Date: 2015
Why are small states statistically more likely to have a democratic political system? By addressing this question from a qualitative and comparative methodological angle, this book analyses the effects of a small population size on political competition and participation. By comparing the four microstates of San Marino (Europe), St. Kitts and Nevis (Caribbean), Seychelles (Africa), and Palau (Oceania), it provides fresh and stimulating insight, concluding that the political dynamics of microstates are not as democratic as commonly believed. Instead, it is found in all four cases that smallness results in personalistic politics, dominance of the political executive, patron-client relations between citizens and politicians, and the circumvention of formal political institutions. In addition, the book suggests that the study of formal institutions provides an incomplete image of microstate democracy and that informal characteristics of politics in microstates also need to be explored in order to better explain the influence of smallness on democracy.

Cover Art
Porphyry copper assessment of Southeast Asia and Melanesia - Michael L. Zientek, Jane M. Hammarstrom, and K. L. Johnson (Editors)
Call Number: TN 446 .A785 P76 2013 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781497596504
Publication Date: 2013
The U.S. Geological Survey collaborated with member countries of the Coordinating Committee for Geoscience Programmes in East and Southeast Asia (CCOP) on an assessment of the porphyry copper resources of Southeast Asia and Melanesia as part of a global mineral resource assessment. The region hosts world-class porphyry copper deposits and underexplored areas that are likely to contain undiscovered deposits. Examples of known porphyry copper deposits include Batu Hijau and Grasberg in Indonesia; Panguna, Frieda River, and Ok Tedi in Papua New Guinea; and Namosi in Fiji.

Cover Art
Power-sharing and political stability in deeply divided societies - McCulloch, Allison
Call Number: JF 51 .M338 2014 (a copy in the General Collection is also available)
ISBN: 9781138024762
Publication Date: 2014
This book examines the effect of power-sharing forms of governance in bringing about political stability amid deep divisions. It is the first major comparison of two power-sharing designs--consociationalism and centripetalism - and it assesses a number of cases central to the debate, including Nigeria, Sri Lanka, Fiji, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Burundi and Northern Ireland. Drawing on information from a variety of sources, such as political party manifestoes and websites, media coverage, think tank reports, and election results, the author reaches significant conclusions about power-sharing as an invaluable conflict-management device.

Cover Art
Raising Māori medium students' academic language proficiency - Shandley, Rosina
Call Number: PL 6465 .S53 2014
ISBN: 9783659593758
Publication Date: 2014
To ensure the survival of the Māori language, and the cognitive advantages associated with bilingualism, Māori medium students need to reach a high level of proficiency in both the English and Māori languages over their time at school. As well as academic success, Māori medium whānau expect their students to gain a level of competence in te reo Māori that enables them to actively engage in authentic Māori cultural contexts. This is crucial as the historical interruption to the intergenerational transfer of te reo Māori means that today Māori medium graduates make up the main pool of speakers who can transmit our language into the future. This book describes an action research project in which a group of Māori medium students used a newly developed language matrix of writing outcomes to self and peer assess their learning in their literacy programme. The results of the study revealed that the confluence of self and peer assessment practices and the new language scaffolds raised the students' academic oral and written language competency significantly beyond what was normally expected in a Māori medium programme.

Cover Art
Refugees : why seeking asylum is legal and Australia's policies are not - McAdam, Jane ; Chong, Fiona
Call Number: HV 640 .4 .A8 M33 2014
ISBN: 9781742231396
Publication Date: 2014
Stopping the boats, blocking queue-jumpers, and proving who is a “real” refugee have become national obsessions. Misconceptions about refugees and asylum-seekers seem to be increasing, and governments and media continue to exploit anxieties in the community. This clear-headed book rejects spin and panic to explain what our obligations are and who the refugees and asylum-seekers are. It shows that there is a gap between the rhetoric and the legislated rights of refugees, who have been resettled from camps abroad, and asylum-seekers, who arrive by boat. It explains the difference between asylum-seekers, refugees, and migrants. It shows why asylum-seeker policies, developed over decades, are at odds with legal obligations. With real-life examples, the book reminds us that we are talking about real people and their children.

Cover Art
Reptiles of the Federated States of Micronesia - Buden, Donald W. ; Taborosi, Danko
Call Number: QL 664 .F4 B83 2016
ISBN: 9789829123947
Publication Date: 2016
This book offers a comprehensive look at the turtles, lizards, and snakes of the Federated States of Micronesia. It includes identification keys, detailed species accounts, and hundreds of high quality illustrations. In addition to rich zoological and biogeographical information, the book contains a fascinating review of cultural significance of reptiles in the tropical islands of the Western Pacific

Cover Art
Ring of fire : an encyclopedia of the Pacific Rim's earthquakes, tsunamis, and volcanoes - Bethany D. Rinard Hinga
Call Number: QE 537 .5 .R56 2015 (A copy also available in the Reference Collection)
ISBN: 9781610692960
Publication Date: 2015
The author examines natural disasters around the Pacific Rim throughout history together with scientific data context to produce enlightening and highly readable entries. Written to take some of the mystery out of the earth's behavior, this encyclopedia chronicles major natural disasters that have occurred around the Pacific Rim, an area nicknamed the "Ring of Fire" because of the volatile earth that lies above and below. The encyclopedia offers descriptions of deadly earthquakes, volcanic eruptions, and tsunamis through time. The entries provide in-depth information that promotes an understanding of the structure of the earth and earth processes and shares the insights of scientists whose work helps clarify the causes and effects of these cataclysmic events. At the same time, the work examines how the people and cultures of the Pacific Rim view this active part of the earth, how they live with the threat of disaster, and how they have been affected by major events that have occurred.

Cover Art
Sextant : a voyage guided by the stars and the men who mapped the world's oceans - Barrie, David
Call Number: VK 549 .B37 2015 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9780007516582
Publication Date: 2015
David Barrie tells how and why the sextant was invented; how offshore navigators depended on it for their lives in wild and dangerous seas until the advent of GPS - and the sextant's vital role in the history of exploration.

Cover Art
Sherman in the Pacific War, 1943-45 - Giuliani, Raymond
Call Number: UG 446 .5 .G58 2015
ISBN: 9782352502838
Publication Date: 2015
This book tells the extraordinary story of the M4 Sherman tank in the Pacific theater of operations during World War 2. Through carefully selected and unpublished photographs, you will discover the extraordinary metamorphosis of the famous American tank, its first disastrous engagement on “Bloody Atoll” Tarawa, in the island of Okinawa, the last bastion of the Rising Sun. The terrible experience of fire against an enemy, as brave as fanatical, required Americans to adapt and transform the Sherman to resist and win the war. Nearly 350 photos, thirty specific profiles paired with contemporary photographs and maps of each of the battles, this richly illustrated book is of high visual value for all lovers of the Sherman tank.

Cover Art
Shifting location : Indo-Fijian writing from Australia - Subramani (Editor)
Call Number: PR 9650 .5 .S55 2009 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781876418953
Publication Date: 2009
This anthology is the first volume of published writing by Indo-Fijian-Australians. It includes new writing by well-established writers. These writings focus on expressing identity while recording the specificities of the communities' respective narrative of migrations. More importantly, the anthology provides alternative but illuminating renditions of what "being Australian" means. Contains new writings by Seona Smiles, Suren Prasad, Rajat Gyaneshwar, Satish Rai and Subramani.

Cover Art
So far the world - Raioaoa, Tava'e
Call Number: HD 8039 .F66 T3 2010 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781877484155
Publication Date: 2010
When his boat engine failed him in March 2002, Tahitian fisherman Tava'e Raioaoa was cast adrift in the currants and winds of the Pacific Ocean. He travelled over 1,200 kilometers in his small open vessel for more than 100 days. Tava'e's reflections on his family and his community offer a poignant counterpoint to his beautiful and terrible adventure. 'So far the world' is a true story of survival - a tale of hardship, tenacity and tradition.

Cover Art
Social lives in language--sociolinguistics and multilingual speech communities : celebrating the work of Gillian Sankoff - Miriam Meyerhoff and Naomi Nagy (Editors)
Call Number: P 40 .S63 2008
ISBN: 9789027218636
Publication Date: 2008
This volume offers a synthetic approach to language variation and language ideologies in multilingual communities. Although the vast majority of the world’s speech communities are multilingual, much of sociolinguistics ignores this internal diversity. This volume fills this gap, investigating social and linguistic dimensions of variation and change in multilingual communities. Drawing on research in a wide range of countries (Canada, USA, South Africa, Australia, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu), it explores: connections between the fields of creolistics, language/dialect contact, and language acquisition; how the study of variation and change, particularly in cases of additive bilingualism, is central to understanding social and linguistic issues in multilingual communities; how changing language ideologies and changing demographics influence language choice and/or language policy, and the pivotal place of multilingualism in enacting social power and authority, and a rich array of new empirical findings on the dynamics of multilingual speech communities.

Cover Art
South Pacific cauldron : World War II's great forgotten battlegrounds - Rems, Alan
Call Number: D 767 .R46 2014 (a copy also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781612514710
Publication Date: 2014
While the Pacific War has been widely studied by military historians and venerated in popular culture through movies and other media, the fighting in the South Pacific theater has, with few exceptions, been remarkably neglected. Worthy of remembrance no less than Wake Island, Leyte Gulf, and Tarawa are the great unsung battlefields of Buna, Shaggy Ridge, and the Driniumor River on New Guinea, as well as the torpedo-infested waters off New Georgia; and the deadly skies over Rabaul and Wewak. South Pacific Cauldron is the first complete history embracing all land, sea and air operations in this critically important sector of that oceanic war. Unlike most other World War II accounts, this work covers the South Pacific operations in detail, including the little-known final Australian campaigns that continued until the Japanese surrender.

Cover Art
Terrestrial biodiversity of the Austral islands, French Polynesia - Jean-Yves Meyer, Elin M. Claridge (editors)
Call Number: QH 198 .F74 T47 2014
ISBN: 9782856537619
Publication Date: 2014
As part of a larger research program aiming to inventory and evaluate the terrestrial biodiversity of French Polynesia, a series of multidisciplinary scientific expeditions were conducted in 2002, 2003, and 2004 to the five inhabited Austral Islands—Raivavae, Rapa, Rimatara, Rurutu, and Tubuai—at the southernmost tip of this French collectivity. The primary goals of these studies were to: identify and characterize the Austral Islands’ terrestrial and freshwater native habitats, in order to assess their conservation status; to localize the natural areas of high ecological value; to conduct exhaustive inventories of native and alien vascular plant species and animals (mainly birds, mollusks, insects, and other arthropods); to estimate the distribution and abundance of threatened species and assess their conservation status; to identify past and current threats to species and their habitats; to study the dynamics and evolution of the terrestrial biota compared with historic data; and to propose recommendations for biodiversity conservation and natural resource management.

Cover Art
The art of featherwork in old Hawaii - Holt, John Dominis
Call Number: NK 4860 .5 .U62 H652 1997
ISBN: 9780914916543
Publication Date: 1997
Hawaiian featherwork objects are among the most treasured objects to be found in the Pacific collections of the world's greatest museums. To date, however, there has been very little either written or said about these beautiful works of art. John Dominis Holt's The Art of Featherwork in Old Hawai'i is thus distinguished as the first complete book ever published about this cultural genre. Here is a spectacular collection of family legends, chants, scholarly commentaries, and an exquisite gallery of photographs.

Cover Art
The coral reef era : from discovery to decline : a history of scientific investigation from 1600 to the Anthropocene Epoch - Bowen, James
Call Number: QE 565 .B69 2015 (a copy is also available at PIMRIS)
ISBN: 9783319074788
Publication Date: 2015
On 4 June 1629, the Batavia, pride of the Dutch East India Company Fleet, was wrecked on her maiden voyage in a seemingly empty expanse of the Indian Ocean. The question “how did this happen?” led to 300 years of investigation by those curious to solve the enigma: what are corals and how are coral reefs formed?. Relying heavily on primary source material Part 1 traces the sequential evolution of scientific thought and practice as the author explores the way this evolution is reflected in the search for understanding corals. At each stage, answers lead to fresh questions that challenge investigators to solve the riddle and new branches of science emerge. Then, with the first enigma finally understood, a new enigma arose. Why are Reefs dying? Part 2 traces the range of problems that have emerged in the past 50 years as marine, ecological, reef and climate scientists attempt to put the pieces of the jigsaw together.

Cover Art
The dead don't dance - Enright, John
Call Number: PS 3555 .N73 D43 2014 (a copy each is available in the General Collection and Leisure Reading)
ISBN: 9781612185026
Publication Date: 2014
Rumored to hold more spirits than people, the remote tropical paradise To’aga frightens many Samoan locals—but not Detective Apelu Soifua. Reeling from the loss of his young daughter, Apelu retreats to the haunted island for a self-imposed exile. He spends his days drinking, trying to ignore the ghosts in his head, and receives few visitors other than a shamanistic recluse and a pair of dedicated marine biologists conducting research. But after a crew of surveyors arrives, Apelu makes a disturbing discovery: foreign investors plan to build a resort hotel on the coast, a project sure to destroy the To’aga coral reef and shatter the island’s peaceful way of life. When tensions rise and someone—or something—commits a gruesome murder, Apelu must force himself out of retirement to solve the case. Can the heartbroken detective navigate both modern and mystical forces to find the killer and appease the angry spirits of To’aga, in this third book of the Jungle Beat Mystery series?

Cover Art
The Enga people, Papua New Guinea, 1955 : photographs and letters of Norma Lenschow - Norma Lenschow and Nancy S. Cannon
Call Number: DU 744 .35 .E53 L46 2014
ISBN: 9781495474668
Publication Date: 2014
In September 1955, Norma Lenschow began an arduous journey from Illinois to Papua New Guinea to live and work as a medical missionary among the Enga people. The young nurse encountered a group of people only recently exposed to Western civilization. Provocative color photographs, revealing letters, and observant notes from the Lenschow collection provide documentation of a culture in transition. The commentary of librarian and author Nancy S. Cannon places Lenschow’s unique primary source materials within cultural and biographical context.

Cover Art
The oval world : a global history of rugby - Collins, Tony
Call Number: GV 944 .85 .C65 2015 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781408843703
Publication Date: 2015
Rugby has always been a sport with as much drama off the field as on it. For every thrilling last-minute Jonny Wilkinson drop-goal to win the World Cup or Jonah Lomu rampage down the touchline for a try there has been a split, a feud, or a controversy. The Oval World is the first full-length history of rugby on a world scale from its origins in the village-based football games of medieval times to the globalized sport of the twenty-first century, now played over a hundred countries. It tells the story of how a game played in an obscure English public school became the winter sport of the British Empire, spreading to France, Argentina, Japan, and the rest of the world, and commanding a global television audience of over four billion for the last World Cup final. It also explores how American football and other games, such as Australian, Canadian, and Gaelic football emerged from their English cousin. Featuring the great moments in the game s history and its legendary names David Duckham, Serge Blanco, Billy Boston, and David Campese, alongside Rupert Brooke, King George V, Boris Karloff, Charles de Gaulle, and Nelson Mandela The Oval World investigates just what it is about rugby that enables it to thrive in countries with very different traditions and cultures.

Cover Art
The Oxford handbook of postcolonial studies - Graham Huggan (Editor)
Call Number: PN 56 .P555 O94 2013 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9780199588251
Publication Date: 2013
This book provides a comprehensive overview of the latest scholarship in postcolonial studies, while also considering possible future developments in the field. Original chapters written by a worldwide team of contritbuors are organised into five cross-referenced sections, 'The Imperial Past', 'The Colonial Present', 'Theory and Practice', 'Across the Disciplines', and 'Across the World'. The chapters offer both country-specific and comparative approaches to current issues, offering a wide range of new and interesting perspectives. The 'Handbook' reflects the increasingly multidisciplinary nature of postcolonial studies and reiterates its continuing relevance to the study of both the colonial past - in its multiple manifestations - and the contemporary globalized world. Taken together, these essays, the dialogues they pursue, and the editorial comments that surround them constitute nothing less than a blueprint for the future of a much-contested but intellectually vibrant and politically engaged field.

Cover Art
The Pacific War and contingent victory : why Japanese defeat was not inevitable - Myers, Michael W.
Call Number: D 767 .M94 2015
ISBN: 9780700620876
Publication Date: 2015
This book is Myers’s thorough and deeply informed explanation of how contingent the “foregone conclusion” of the war in the Pacific really was. However disproportionate their respective resources, both Japan and the Allied forces confronted significant obstacles to ultimate victory. One the two sides shared, Myers shows, was the lack of a single individual with the knowledge, vision, and authority to formulate and implement effective strategy. Both exercised leadership by committee, and Myers cogently explains how this contributed to the contingent nature of the conflict. A remarkable exercise in logical methods of strategic thinking, his book analyzes decisive campaigns in the Pacific War, examining the economic and strategic challenges that both sides faced and had to overcome to achieve victory.

Cover Art
The Rugby World Cup : the definitive photographic history - Gallagher, Brendan
Call Number: GV 945 .5 .G35 2015 (a copy is also located in the Reference Collection)
ISBN: 9781472912626
Publication Date: 2015
A visual history of rugby's greatest sporting event, this beautiful photographic book is a fascinating chronological exploration of the matches, teams, heroes and surrounding stories of the tournament. Each chapter covers a Rugby World Cup, starting with the inaugural competition in 1987 - in which New Zealand confirmed their status as the world's top rugby nation - to the historical 1995 Rugby World Cup in South Africa after the end of apartheid and the international sports boycott through England's fantastic win in 2003 breaking the southern hemisphere's dominance, up to the 2015 qualifiers.

Cover Art
Tsunami : the underrated hazard - Bryant, Edward
Call Number: GC 221 .2 .B78 2014 (a copy is also available at PIMRIS)
ISBN: 9783319061320
Publication Date: 2014
This third edition of Tsunami: The underrated hazard has been comprehensively updated to include detailed descriptions of tsunami which have impacted on the world's coastlines over the past few years, in particular, the great tsunami that struck the Indian Ocean on 26 December 2004 and Japan on 11 March 2011. With a wealth of case studies and examples, the book describes the nature and process of tsunami formation, outlines field evidence for detecting the presence of past events, and describes notable events linked to earthquakes, volcanoes, submarine landslides, and comet impacts.

Cover Art
The conquering tide : war in the Pacific Islands, 1942-1944 - Toll, Ian W.
Call Number: D 767 .T652 2015 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9780393080643
Publication Date: 2015
The devastation of Pearl Harbor and the American victory at Midway were prelude to a greater challenge: rolling back the vast Japanese Pacific empire, island by island. This masterful history encompasses the heart of the Pacific War―the period between mid-1942 and mid-1944―when parallel Allied counteroffensives north and south of the equator washed over Japan's far-flung island empire like a "conquering tide," concluding with Japan's irreversible strategic defeat in the Marianas. It was the largest, bloodiest, most costly, most technically innovative and logistically complicated amphibious war in history, and it fostered bitter interservice rivalries, leaving wounds that even victory could not heal. Often overlooked, these are the years and fights that decided the Pacific War. Ian W. Toll's battle scenes―in the air, at sea, and in the jungles―are simply riveting. He also takes the reader into the wartime councils in Washington and Tokyo where politics and strategy often collided, and into the struggle to mobilize wartime production, which was the secret of Allied victory. Brilliantly researched, the narrative is propelled and colored by firsthand accounts―letters, diaries, debriefings, and memoirs―that are the raw material of the telling details, shrewd judgment, and penetrating insight of this magisterial history.

Cover Art
Tsunami science : ten years after the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami : volume II - Alexander B. Rabinovich, Eric L. Geist, Hermann M. Fritz, Jose C. Borrero (Editors)
Call Number: GC 221 .2 .T78 2016 (a copy is also available at PIMRIS)
ISBN: 9783034809597
Publication Date: 2016
Ten years ago, on December 26, 2004, one of the world’s most destructive natural disasters occurred. A magnitude Mw 9.1 earthquake (third strongest ever instrumentally recorded) generated a global tsunami that killed about 230,000 people along the coasts of 14 countries in the Indian Ocean and propagated as far as the North Pacific and North Atlantic Oceans. Since then, various countries from around the globe contributed major funding to tsunami research and mitigation, enabling the installation of hundreds of new high-precision instruments, the development of new technology and the establishment of more modern communication systems. As a result, incredible progress has been achieved in tsunami research and operation during the ten years after the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami. The papers presented in this second of two special volumes of Pure and Applied Geophysics reflect the state of tsunami science during this time.

Cover Art
Unsettled narratives : the Pacific writings of Stevenson, Ellis, Melville and London - Farrier, David
Call Number: PR 756 .T72 F37 2014 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781138813939
Publication Date: 2014
In the nineteenth-century Pacific, the production of a text of encounter occurred in tandem with the production of a settled space; asserting settler presence through the control of the space and the context of the encounter. Indigenous resistance therefore took place through modes of representation that ‘unsettled’ the text. This book considers the work of four Western visitors to the Pacific―Robert Louis Stevenson, William Ellis, Herman Melville, and Jack London―and the consequences for the written text and the experience of cross-cultural encounter when encounter is reduced to writing. The study proposes a strong connection between settling and writing as assertions of presence, and, by engaging a metaphor of building dwellings and building texts, the study examines how each writer manipulates the process of text creation to assert a dominant presence over and against the indigenous presence, which is represented as threatening, and extra-textual

Cover Art
Jesuits at the margins : missions and missionaries in the Marianas (1668-1769) - Coello de la Rosa, Alexandre
Call Number: BV 3680 .M2 C64 2015
ISBN: 9781138955585
Publication Date: 2016
In the past decades historians have interpreted early modern Christian missions not simply as an adjunct to Western imperialism, but a privileged field for cross-cultural encounters. Placing the Jesuit missions into a global phenomenon that emphasizes economic and cultural relations between Europe and the East, this book analyzes the possibilities and limitations of the religious conversion in the Micronesian islands of Guåhan (or Guam) and the Northern Marianas. Frontiers are not rigid spatial lines separating culturally different groups of people, but rather active agents in the transformation of cultures. By bringing this local dimension to the fore, the book adheres to a process of missionary “glocalization” which allowed Chamorros to enter the international community as members of Spain’s regional empire and the global communion of the Roman Catholic Church.

Cover Art
Voyage to Australia & the Pacific, 1791-1793 - Edited by Edward Duyker and Maryse Duyker ; D'Entrecasteaux, Bruny (Author)
Call Number: DU 20 .E58 2006
ISBN: 9780522852325
Publication Date: 2006
In 1791, Admiral Bruny d'Entrecasteaux sailed from France to search for his compatriot, the explorer La Perouse. Although d'Entrecasteaux failed to discover the fate of La Perouse, his voyage had many achievements. It also yielded significant natural history collections and ethnographic observations in both Australia and the Pacific.

Cover Art
Strangers on the shore : early coastal contacts in Australia - Peter Veth, Peter Sutton and Margo Neale (Editors)
Call Number: DU 124 .F57 S77 2008
ISBN: 9781876944636
Publication Date: 2008
Exploring the diverse, subtle, dynamic, and volatile first encounters between Indigenous Australians and outsiders—including Macassans, Dutch, English, and French—this volume examines from Indigenous and non-Indigenous perspectives the myriad elements of these cross-cultural exchanges and their profound impact on the first Australians.

Cover Art
Disputed histories : imagining New Zealand's pasts - Tony Ballantyne and Brian Moloughney (Editors)
Call Number: DU 419 .D57 2006
ISBN: 9781877372162
Publication Date: 2006
In this volume, leading historians reflect on writing about New Zealand's past. They also test how that past is investigated and framed. Their essays tell us much about New Zealand's many pasts and how historians have imagined them, and indicate particular concerns with what the country is now and the current role of history as a discipine within our nation. They ask questions and venture some answers. The introductory essay by the editors surveys the work of historians since the 1980s, while the final essay is based on an interview with Erik Olssen, whose work has been at the forefront of historical research and methodology in the period. In between, a variety of topics are visited and methodologies applied. Running through the volume are two threads: discussions of the limits of national history and the search for new archives and sites of historical enquiry.

Cover Art
Blood jungle ballet - Enright, John
Call Number: PS 3555 .N73 B57 2014 (a copy each is available in the General Collection and Leisure Reading)
ISBN: 9781612185033
Publication Date: 2014
A disquieting string of murders terrorizes the remote, lush island of Samoa. Detective Sergeant Apelu Soifua has seen a lot in his time with the police force, but even he is unsettled by the bodies that have started piling up. At first, the murders don't seem connected--a local transvestite found castrated and brutalized, a visiting politician who drops dead on the dance floor, a prison guard and an inmate who kill each other--but as Apelu works with the hospital's new medical examiner to find out who is behind the killings, a disturbing pattern emerges. And the closer they get to the killer, the more destructive he becomes. Can they put the pieces together before Apelu becomes the next victim?

Cover Art
A bride for barter? [videorecording] - Dumon, Dirk ; PIKSA ; ITV ; TV Music
Call Number: DU 740 .4 .B75 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Stuck between ancestral values and an ever changing modern world, the Huli people of Papua New Guinea find themselves struggling to maintain their tribal identity. An empathetic look at life's daily struggles.

Cover Art
Splinters [videorecording] - Adam Pesce ; Perrin Chiles ; In Effect Films production ; Divisadero Pictures & Little House Productions
Call Number: PN 1997 .2 .S65 2012 (a copy is also available in the AVR collection)
Publication Date: 2012
Twenty years prior, a pilot left behind a surfboard in a remote seaside village in Papua New Guinea. Today, the community is slintering as traditional society is affected by the outside influences introduced by the sport of surfing. Meanwhile four local surfers compete for the country's first-ever national surfing titles, dreaming of a better life.

Cover Art
Climate refugees [videorecording] :"the human face of climate change" - Michael P. Nash ; Justin Hogan (Producers)
Call Number: QC 903 .C552 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Explores the global human impact of climate change and its serious destabilizing effect on international politics. The film turns the distant concept of global warming into a concrete human problem with enormous worldwide consequences ... The film features a variety of leading scientists, relief workers, security consultants, and major political figures, including John Kerry and Newt Gingrich. Whether human-caused or a product of nature, the changing climate is already creating humanitarian disasters and will inevitably lead to worldwide political instability.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sofie Kubuwai
Contact Info
323 2380
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Shirley Devi
Contact Info
Phone: (+679) 32 32285
Send Email
What section of the Library do you work in?
Pacific Collection
 
Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
© Copyright 2004 - 2013. All Rights Reserved.
The University of the South Pacific
Laucala Campus, Suva, Fiji
Tel: +679 323 1000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip