This is the "This month's new books" page of the "New titles in the Pacific Collection June 2016 " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
The University of the South Pacific
Welcome to the Library
 

New titles in the Pacific Collection June 2016   Tags: new books, pacific collection new resources  

Last Updated: Sep 4, 2016 URL: http://usp.ac.fj.libguides.com/pacnewtitles-june2016 Print Guide RSS Updates
This month's new books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New items in the Pacific Collection

Here are the titles added to the Pacific Collection this month and are now available for borrowing and use in the Pacific Collection Reading Room.

In some cases, there may be another copy of a title in the General Collection or the Audio Visual Room (AVR)  for regular checkout. This is noted in the description where applicable.

 

Cover Art
Engaging with strangers : love and violence in the rural Solomon Islands - McDougall, Debra L.
Call Number: BF 575 .L8 M33 2016 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781785330209
Publication Date: 2016
The civil conflict in Solomon Islands (1998-2003) is often blamed on the failure of the nation-state to encompass culturally diverse and politically fragmented communities. Writing of Ranongga Island, the author tracks engagements with strangers across many realms of life-pre-colonial warfare, Christian conversion, logging and conservation, even post-conflict state building. She describes startling reversals in which strangers become attached to local places, even as kinspeople are estranged from one another and from their homes. Against stereotypes of rural insularity, she argues that a distinctive cosmopolitan openness to others is evident in the rural Solomons in times of war and peace.

Cover Art
Missionaries and idols in Polynesia - King, David Shaw
Call Number: BV 3678 .5 .K56 2015
ISBN: 9781907372834
Publication Date: 2015
The first Europeans to follow the explorers of the eighteenth century into the South Pacific were missionaries. They were sent by an Evangelical Christian organization called The London Missionary Society, whose aim was to bring the word of the Bible to all peoples – “to illume a dark and sinful world”. Their first target was Tahiti, an island of extravagant beauty, inhabited by a people of astonishing sophistication. The missionaries settled down, learned the language and stayed for decades. Although their aim was to Christianize the islanders and eradicate the traditional religion along with its pagan idols, they ended up recording a good deal about Polynesian culture and even saving a large number of the very idols they came 12,000 miles to destroy.

Cover Art
Le Laau o le Sopoaga : a plant for a journey : planting Samoan Methodism in New Zealand - Sila, Saunoa
Call Number: BX 8328 .S33 S55 2015
ISBN: 9789823490175
Publication Date: 2015
This thesis describes and analyses the history of Methodist Church of Samoa (MCS) in New Zealand as a "plant for a journey" (Laau o le sopoaga), planted by early immigrant Samoans in the 1960s in the hope of retaining a structure and organisation that would preserve the Samoan cultural understanding and outlook. Special attention, therefore, is given to highlighting the contributing factors which made possible the establishment of Samoan Methodism in New Zealand, including Samoan nationalism, independence, identity, and culture. However, since the children and grandchildren of the church's founders have become a significant part of the church body, this original purpose seems less relevant to many of these second and third generation members, whose participation is nevertheless essential to the survival of the church.

Cover Art
Cultures in conflict : encounters between European and non-European cultures, 1492-1800 - Bitterli, Urs
Call Number: D 32 .B58 1993
ISBN: 9780745611570
Publication Date: 1993
This is the first history of exploration to focus on the experience of non--European peoples who were colonized. aeo It is an extremely wide--ranging work of comparative history, which draws its case studies from the cultural encounters and collisions initiated by the English, Spanish, Portugese and French. As well it includes a chapter on the discovery and exploration of the Pacific!

Cover Art
The Kokoda Campaign 1942 : myth and reality - Williams, Peter Damian
Call Number: D 767 .95 .W55 2012 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781107015944
Publication Date: 2012
The fighting on the Kokoda track in World War II is second only to Gallipoli in the Australian national consciousness. According to the legend, Australian soldiers were vastly outnumbered by the Japanese, who suffered great losses as a result of Allied fighting and the harsh conditions of the Kokoda track. In this important book, Peter Williams seeks to dispel the Kokoda Myth. Using extensive research and Japanese sources, he explains what really happened on the Kokoda track in 1942. Unlike most other books written from an Australian perspective, this book focuses on the strategies, tactics and battle plans of the Japanese and shows that the Australians were in fact rarely outnumbered. For the first time, this book combines narrative with analysis to present an undistorted picture of the events of the campaign.

Cover Art
The battle for Vella Lavella : the Allied recapture of Solomon Islands territory, August 15-September 9, 1943 - Newell, Reg
Call Number: D 767 .98 .N49 2016 ( a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9780786473274
Publication Date: 2016
During World War II, the Solomon Islands became the scene of a titanic struggle between Allied and Japanese forces. This book is the first detailed examination of the struggle for Vella Lavella, covering the ground, air and sea battles and the involvement of American and New Zealand soldiers, the coastwatchers, South Pacific Scouts and the Islanders.

Cover Art
Guadalcanal 1942-43 : America's first victory on the road to Tokyo - Stille, Mark ; Dennis, Peter (Illustrator)
Call Number: D 767 .98 .S85 2015
ISBN: 9781472806932
Publication Date: 2015
The Guadalcanal campaign began with an amphibious assault in August 1942 - the US's first attempt to take the fight to the Japanese. It quickly escalated into a desperate attritional battle on land, air and sea, and by the time the Japanese had evacuated the last of their forces from the island in 1943, it was clear that the tide of the war had turned. The previously inexorable Japanese advance had been halted, and the myth of Japanese invincibility shattered. The fighting brought into sharp relief several crucial weaknesses of Japanese strategic planning and war economy, while the US was able to hone its Marine forces into the finest of points - ready for the devastating island-hopping campaign that would bring the war to Japan's doorstep. In this new study of the campaign, Pacific War expert Mark Stille draws on both US and Japanese sources to give a balanced and comprehensive account of a crucial, brutal conflict.

Cover Art
Writing war : soldiers record the Japanese Empire - Moore, Aaron William
Call Number: D 767 .M66 2013 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9780674059061
Publication Date: 2013
Historians have made widespread use of diaries to tell the story of the Second World War in Europe but have paid little attention to personal accounts from the Asia-Pacific Theater. Writing War seeks to remedy this imbalance by examining over two hundred diaries, and many more letters, postcards, and memoirs, written by Chinese, Japanese, and American servicemen from 1937 to 1945, the period of total war in Asia and the Pacific. As he describes conflicts that have often been overlooked in the history of World War II, Aaron William Moore reflects on diaries as tools in the construction of modern identity, which is important to our understanding of history.

Cover Art
'... when the long trick's over' : Donald Kennedy in the Pacific - Butcher, Mike
Call Number: DA 16 .8 .B88 2012
ISBN: 9780987162700
Publication Date: 2012
"This is an original piece of work in the best sense of the term... and not just on Kennedy, but [also] the historiography of war in the Pacific, and the colonial history of the Gilbert and Ellice Islands, the Solomon Islands and Fiji" (Professor Emeritus Barrie Macdonald) "Donald Gilbert Kennedy was described at one point as the most able person in the Colonial Service in the Pacific -- and this book by Mike Butcher tells us why. It also explains why Kennedy never achieved promotion commensurate with his ability. Butcher has written an intriguing and compelling account of a larger-than-life character grappling with his demons. It is a moving account. In laying bare his flaws, Butcher provides the reader with an intimate understanding of Kennedy the man, and an acute sense of what it means not to live up to one's own expectations -- never mind the expectations of others" - (Professor Ron Adams, Victoria University, Melbourne). - back cover.

Cover Art
The lion's share : a short history of British imperialism, 1850 to the present - Porter, Bernard
Call Number: DA 16 .P67 2013 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781408286050
Publication Date: 2013
As well as presenting a lively narrative of events, Bernard Porter explores a number of broad analytical themes, challenging more conventional and popular interpretations. He sees imperialism as a symptom not of Britain's strength in the world, but of her decline; and he argues that the empire itself both aggravated and obscured deep-seated malaise in the British economy.

Cover Art
The Bonin Islanders, 1830 to the present : narrating Japanese nationality - Chapman, David
Call Number: DS 895 .B6 C53 2016 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781498516631
Publication Date: 2016
This book is a collection of interwoven historical narratives that present an intriguing and little known account of the Ogasawara (Bonin) archipelago and its inhabitants. The narratives begin in the seventeenth century and weave their way through various events connected to the ambitions, hopes and machinations of individuals, communities, and nations. At the center of these narratives are the Bonin Islanders, originally an eclectic mix of Pacific Islanders, Americans, British, French, German, Portuguese, Italian, and African settlers that first landed on the islands in 1830. The islands were British sovereign territory from 1827 to 1876, when the Japanese asserted possession of the islands based on a seventeenth century expedition and a myth of a samurai discoverer. As part of gaining sovereign control, the Japanese government made all island inhabitants register as Japanese subjects of the national family register. The islanders were not literate in Japanese and had little experience of Japanese culture and limited knowledge of Japanese society, but by 1881 all were forced or coerced into becoming Japanese subjects.

Cover Art
Australia and the Pacific Islands in the twentieth century - Thompson, Roger C.
Call Number: DU 113 .5 .P16 T46 1998
ISBN: 9781875606542
Publication Date: 1998
Australia and the Pacific Islands in the 20th Century makes a major contribution to Australian and Pacific island history, and the wider history of colonial empires and decolonisation.

Cover Art
Dancing with strangers - Clendinnen, Inga
Call Number: DU 122 .B7 C54 2003
ISBN: 1877008583
Publication Date: 2003
In January 1788 the First Fleet arrived in New South Wales and a thousand British men and women encountered the people who would be their new neighbours - the beach nomads of Australia. "These people mixed with ours," wrote a British observer soon after landfall, "and all hands danced together." What followed would determine relations between the two peoples for the next two centuries. Drawing skillfully from first-hand accounts written at the time Inga Clendinnen reconstructs the complex dance of curiosity, attraction and mistrust performed by the protagonists on both sides. She brings this sad and poignant chapter in British colonial history brilliantly alive for the reader and then we discover why the dancing stopped!

Cover Art
The Aboriginal male in the Enlightenment world - Konishi, Shino
Call Number: DU 124 .F57 .K66 2016
ISBN: 9781848932166
Publication Date: 2016
This is the first historical study of indigenous Australian masculinity. Using the reactions of eighteenth-century western explorers to Aboriginal men, Konishi argues that these encounters were not as negative as has been thought. Instead, a wide range of contemporary sources from colonial explorers is used to present a more nuanced view. Ideas about human difference, nature, 'savagery', sexuality, language and conflict are analysed and assessed. By examining the response to the Aboriginal body within these contexts, Konishi makes a significant contribution to the study of eighteenth-century European thought.

Cover Art
From the ruins of colonialism : history as social memory - Healy, Chris
Call Number: DU 16 .8 .H43 1997
ISBN: 9780521565769
Publication Date: 1997
From the Ruins of Colonialism throws fresh light on the history of memory, forgetting and colonialism. Focusing on Australia, the book charts how film, public commemorations, history textbooks and museums have, in a strange ensemble, become something called Australian History. It considers key moments of historical imagination, including the legends of Captain Cook and the Eureka Stockade, events such as the 1988 Bicentennial celebrations and the shipwrecked woman Eliza Fraser, whose story reflects anxieties about race and gender. This book argues for a new sense of remembering. Rather than being content with a culture of amnesia, it makes the case for learning to belong in the ruins of colonial histories. Chris Healy's investigation of these historical cultures and narratives is innovative and stimulating and will become a powerful statement for new histories.


Cover Art
The Atlantic world in the Antipodes : effects and transformations since the eighteenth century - Kate Fullagar (Editor)
Call Number: DU 28 .3 .A85 2012
ISBN: 9781443837446
Publication Date: 2012
This collection of essays stems from a John E. Sawyer Seminar on the Comparative Study of Cultures. Held over two years, the seminar investigated the effects and transformations of ideas, people, and institutions from the Atlantic World when carried into the Antipodes. The papers presented in this volume distill some of the key themes to emerge from discussion, each demonstrating the complexity with which discourses and practices operated in the Indo-Pacific oceanic region. Some had unexpected effects, others underwent profound transformation. Always they were changed by the ideas, people, and institutions of the Antipodes. Combined, the chapters underscore the ways in which both oceanic worlds were co-produced through a variety of intellectual and practical interactions over the modern period.

Cover Art
Paradise reforged : a history of the New Zealanders from the 1880s to the year 2000 - Belich, James
Call Number: DU 420 .B452 2001 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9780713991727
Publication Date: 2001
This book is the eagerly awaited companion to Professor James Belich's acclaimed Making Peoples published in New Zealand, Britain and the United States in 1996. Making Peoples was hailed as a turning point in the writing of New Zealand history. Paradise Reforged picks up where Making Peoples left off, taking the story of the New Zealanders from the 1880s to the end of the twentieth century. It begins with the search for 'Better Britain' and ends by analysing the modern Maori resurgence, the new Pakeha consciousness, and the implications of a reinterpreted past for New Zealand's future. Along the way the book deals with subjects ranging from sport and sex to childhood and popular culture. Critics hailed Making Peoples as 'brilliant' and 'the most ambitious book yet written on this country's past'. Paradise Reforged its successor, adopts a similarly incisive, original sweep across the New Zealand historical landscape in confronting the myths of the past.

Cover Art
Marae : the heart of Māori culture - Malcolm Mulholland and Robyn Bargh (contributing writers)
Call Number: DU 423 .S63 M85 2015
ISBN: 9781775501947
Publication Date: 2015
This book is a comprehensive, concise guide to the marae, including the space and how it is arranged, the buildings on a marae, the functions of and gatherings held at marae, and the cultural understandings and values underpinning marae custom and protocol.

Cover Art
Uluvehi pūpūo tapuina = The sacred reef passage of Uluvehi - Fa'avae, Ioane Aleke
Call Number: DU 430 .N5 F33 2014
ISBN: 9780473297428
Publication Date: 2014
History and traditions of the Niuean village of Mutalau. Includes Niuean creation stories, the influence of Christianity, annexation to New Zealand, education, sport, migration to New Zealand, the establishment of the Mutalau Ululauta Matahefonua Trust in 2004. Brief biographies of current board members and some prominent people from Mutalau

Cover Art
St. Matthias group - Nevermann, Hans ; John Dennison, Glenn R. Summerhayes & Lisa Matisoo-Smith (Editors)
Call Number: DU 553 .S25 N48 2010
ISBN: 9781460976388
Publication Date: 2010
Translation of: Nevermann, Dr H. (1933) "St Matthias-Gruppe". Ergebnisse der Sudsee Expedition 1908-1910

Cover Art
Liliʻuokalani - Lowe, Ruby Hasegawa
Call Number: DU 627 .18 .L69 1993
ISBN: 9780873360180
Publication Date: 1993
A biography of the last queen of Hawaii who, among other accomplishments, wrote the anthem "Aloha Oe" and worked to preserve Hawaiian customs, especially after the kingdom's annexation by the United States.

Cover Art
Jamaican in Saipan : the true story of one man's escape from the rat race to live a personal nomadpreneur's dream! : (a unique travel guide for the rest of us) - Goodridge, Walt F. J.
Call Number: DU 648 .S35 G66 2009
ISBN: 9780974531397
Publication Date: 2007
"Once upon a time, there was this Jamaican guy who hated his job, followed his passion, started a sideline business self-publishing his own "how to" e-books, made enough money to quit his civil engineering career, ran away to a tropical island in the South Pacific, and started a tourism business so he could give tours of the island to pretty girls every day! This is his story."

Cover Art
Playing the game : life and politics in Papua New Guinea - Chan, Julius
Call Number: DU 740 .76 .C43 P53 2016 (a copy is available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9780702253973
Publication Date: 2016
"An insightful and candid memoir from one of Papua New Guinea's founding fathers. Born on a remote island to a migrant Chinese father and an indigenous mother, Julius Chan overcame poverty, discrimination and family tragedy to become one of Papua New Guinea's longest-serving and most influential politicians. His 50-year career, including two terms as Prime Minister, spans a crucial period of the country's history, particularly its coming of age from an Australian colony to a leading democratic nation in the South Pacific. Playing the Game is Chan's own account of the role he played during these decades of political, economic and social change. It also explores the vexed issues of increasing corruption, government failure, and the unprecedented exploitation of PNG's precious natural resources. This compelling memoir of Julius Chan's private and political lives offers a rare insight into the building of a nation and the extraordinary challenges facing Papua New Guinea."--Back cover.

Cover Art
PNG's goverance, management, policies, debates and decisions : contradictions of five national goals and directive principles - Sirox Kari, Sam
Call Number: DU 740 .8 .S57 2009
ISBN: 9789980861839
Publication Date: 2009
Papua New Guinea's governance, management, policies, decisions and debates since independence contradict the vision of the five National Goals and Directive Principles. Successive governments have not legitimised the National Goals and Directives Principles. As such Papua New Guinea's governance and management, policies, and decisions to not reflect visions prescribed in the national goals and directive principles. This meant that after 1975, the National Goals and Directves Principles was set aside as "something nothing" and not central to Papua New Guinea governance, management, debates, policies, decisions and legislations which is a major cause of current poor socio-economic conditions experienced by ordinary Papua New Guineans. The visions of the 5 National Goals and Directive Principles were to develop contemporary Papua New Guinea as an egalitarian and economically self-reliant society.

Cover Art
The chiefs' country : leadership and politics in Honiara, Solomon Islands - Kwa'ioloa, Michael ; Burt, Ben
Call Number: DU 850 .K932 2012
ISBN: 9781921902246
Publication Date: 2012
In this autobiographical account of life in Honiara, capital of Solomon Islands, Michael Kwa'ioloa reflects on the challenges of raising a family in town, managing marriage exchanges, and sustaining ties with a distant rural homeland in Malaita island. He also participates in a long tradition of political activism by community leaders or chiefs, whose role was severely tested by the violent conflict between Malaitans and the indigenous Guadalcanal people at the turn of the century. Kwa'ioloa provides a local perspective on the causes and course of this unhappy episode in his country's history.

Cover Art
Our low island home - Taborosi, Danko
Call Number: GB 391 .T334 2014
ISBN: 9789829123879
Publication Date: 2014

Cover Art
Landscape, memory and history : anthropological perspectives - Pamela J. Stewart and Andrew Strathern (Editors)
Call Number: GF 90. L36 2003 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9780745319674
Publication Date: 2003
How do people perceive the land around them, and how is that perception changed by history? The contributors explore this question from an anthropological angle, assessing the connections between place, space, identity, nationalism, history and memory in a variety of different settings around the world. Taking historical change and memory as key themes, they offer a broad study that will appeal to a readership across the social sciences. Contributors from North America, Australia, New Zealand, Taiwan, and Europe explore a wide variety of case studies that includes seascapes in Jamaica; the Solomon Islands; the forests of Madagascar; Aboriginal and European notions of landscape in Australia; place and identity in 19th century maps and the bogs of Ireland; contemporary concerns over changing landscapes in Papua New Guinea; and representations of landscape and history in the poetry of the Scottish Borders.

Cover Art
The lives of colonial objects - Annabel Cooper, Lachy Paterson and Angela Wanhalla (Editors)
Call Number: GN 406 .L58 2015 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781927322024
Publication Date: 2015
The Lives of Colonial Objects is a sumptuously illustrated and highly readable book about things, and the stories that unfold when we start to investigate them. In this collection of 50 essays the authors, including historians, archivists, curators and Maori scholars, have each chosen an object from New Zealand’s colonial past. Some are treasured family possessions such as a kahu kiwi, a music album or a grandmother’s travel diary, and their stories have come down through families. Some, like the tauihu of a Maori waka, a Samoan kilikiti bat or a flying boat, are housed in museums. Others—a cannon, a cottage and a country road—inhabit public spaces but they too turn out to have unexpected histories.

Cover Art
Pacific futures : projects, politics and interests - Will Rollason (Editor)
Call Number: GN 663 .P332 2014
ISBN: 9781782383505
Publication Date: 2014
The Pacific region presents a huge diversity of cultural forms, which have fuelled some of the most challenging ethnographic work undertaken in the discipline. But this challenge has come at a cost. Culture, often reconfigured as 'custom', has often served to trap the people of the Pacific in the past of cultural reproduction, where everything is what it has always been, or worse-outdated, outmoded and destined for modernization. Pacific Futures asks how our understanding of social life in the Pacific would be different if we approached it from the perspective of the futures which Pacific people dream of, predict or struggle to achieve, not the reproduction of cultural tradition. From Christianity to gambling, marriage to cargo cult, military coups to reflections on childhood fishing trips, the contributors to this volume show how Pacific people are actively shaping their lives with the future in mind.

Cover Art
Beach crossings : voyaging across times, cultures and self - Dening, Greg
Call Number: GN 671 .M3 D46 2004
ISBN: 9780522848861
Publication Date: 2004
Acclaimed ethnohistorian Greg Dening revisits the bloody history of the Marquesas and other Islands in Oceania to craft an extended essay on human change and transition. Beach Crossings is part memoir, part history, and part imaginative exploration of the symbolic strip of land where ocean meets beach.

Cover Art
Handpoke tattoo : 23 artists' words and ink - Charles Boday(Editor)
Call Number: GT 5960 .T36 H36 2014
ISBN: 9780692328743
Publication Date: 2014
23 professional tattoo artists rediscover the tattoo without the tattoo machine. From Polynesian hand-tap to Japanese tebori, and from Thai longstick to European chopstick, modern artists use traditional techniques outside the traditional environment. Artists include the Scandanavian school exemplified by Colin Dale, and the first titled female artist working with Samoan hand-tap, Su'a Sulu'ape Angela, as well as Polynesian work done by Thai bamboo, and Buddhist sacred geometry, effected by chopstick in Newcastle, England. Handpoke Tattoo explores art and artists reaching back in time to create work that is truly modern.

Cover Art
Rugby : a New Zealand history - Palenski, Ron
Call Number: GV 945 .9 .N45 P35 2015 ( a copy is also in the Reference Collection)
ISBN: 9781869408367
Publication Date: 2015
Rugby is New Zealand’s national sport. From the grand tour by the 1888 Natives to the upcoming 2015 World Cup, from games in the North African desert in the Second World War to matches behind barbed wire during the 1981 Springbok tour, from grassroots club rugby to heaving crowds outside Eden Park, Lancaster Park, Athletic Park or Carisbrook, New Zealanders have made rugby their game. In this book, historian and former journalist Ron Palenski tells the full story of rugby in New Zealand for the first time. It is a story of how the game travelled from England and settled in the colony, how Maori and later Pacific players made rugby their own, how battles over amateurism and apartheid threatened the sport, how national teams, provinces and local clubs shaped it. The story of rugby is New Zealand’s story.

Cover Art
Corporate social responsibility and natural resource conflict - McKenna, Kylie
Call Number: HD 60 .M35 2016 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781138783287
Publication Date: 2016
This book examines the possibilities and limitations of corporate social responsibility in minimizing the violent conflict often associated with natural resource exploitation. Through detailed and penetrating empirical analysis, the author skilfully asks why previous corporate social responsibility practices have not always achieved their aims. This theme is explored though an analysis of two of the most complex and protracted conflicts linked to natural resources in the Asia Pacific region: Bougainville (Papua New Guinea) and West Papua (Indonesia). Drawing on first-hand accounts of corporate executives and communities affected by resource conflict, this book documents the translation of global corporate social responsibility into local peace. Covering topics as diverse as post-colonialism, law, revenue distribution, security, the environment and customary reconciliation, this ambitious text reveals how and why current corporate social responsibility initiatives may be unable to assist extractive companies avoid social conflict.

Cover Art
Making the empire work - Daniel E. Bender and Jana K. Lipman (Editors)
Call Number: HD 8066 .M35 2015 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781479871254
Publication Date: 2015
Millions of laborers, from the Philippines to the Caribbean, performed the work of the United States empire. Forging a global economy connecting the tropics to the industrial center, workers harvested sugar, cleaned hotel rooms, provided sexual favors, and filled military ranks. Placing working men and women at the center of the long history of the U.S. empire, these essays offer new stories of empire that intersect with the 'grand narratives' of diplomatic affairs at the national and international levels. Missile defense, Cold War showdowns, development politics, military combat, tourism, and banana economics share something in common they all have labor histories. This collection challenges historians to consider the labor that formed, worked, confronted, and rendered the U.S. empire visible. The U.S. empire is a project of global labor mobilization, coercive management, military presence, and forced cultural encounter. Together, the essays in this volume recognize the United States as a global imperial player whose systems of labor mobilization and migration stretched from Central America to West Africa to the United States itself.

Cover Art
The eye of the cyclone. Book 2, Governance and stability in the Pacific - Ivan Molloy & Ron Reavell (Editors)
Call Number: JQ 5995 .E932 2006
ISBN: 0975191330
Publication Date: 2006
A compilation of many of the papers presented at the 2004 PIPSA Conference held in Noumea, New Caledonia.

Cover Art
Decolonisation and the birth of Papua New Guinea's constitution : with five national goals and directive principles - Sirox Kari, Sam
Call Number: KWH 172 .S57 2009
ISBN: 9789980861832
Publication Date: 2009
The five National Goals and Directive Principles was a blueprint concerned largely with redressing the socio-economic problems, tensions, fears, inequalities experienced by the indigenous people brought about by the colonial administration and its laws and policies during the 74 years of control and rule. This book is based on the empirical data from the authors' Ph.D thesis, whic unravelled the process of writing PNG's constitution and declaration of the five National Goals and Directive Principles by the Constitutional Planning Committee (CPC) during the decolonisation process.

Cover Art
The Nelson A. Rockefeller vision : arts of Africa, Oceania, and the Americas - Alisa LaGamma ... [et al.]
Call Number: N 611 .A37 M48 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Single back issue of The Metropolitan Museum of Art Bulletin - Spring 2014 issue - published in conjunction with the exhibition "The Nelson A. Rockefeller Vision: In Pursuit of the Best in the Arts of Africa, Oceania, and The Americas" from October 8, 2013 to October 5, 2014.

Cover Art
Cook Islands art & architecture - Rod Dixon, Linda Crowl and Marjorie Tuainekore Crocombe (Editors)
Call Number: N 7411 .C6 C66 2015
ISBN: 9789820109377
Publication Date: 2015
Cook Islanders, Cook Islands residents, artists, choreographers, performers and scholars write about the vibrancy of local dance, drumming, fashion, painting, quilting, carving, weaving, tapa making, theatre, and other creative endeavours. The book's 21 chapters provide compelling evidence of Cook Islands visual and performance art as essentially collaborative endeavours, often inspired by the vision of ta'unga or experts, but elaborated through the collective improvisation of artists or performers who at the same time observe a highly complex, delicate and critical sense for ensemble. Significantly, improvisation and innovation may come from any member of the group ensuring that Cook Islands art retains a strong 'grass-roots' enthusiasm, while undergoing constant reinvention and renewal.

Cover Art
A whakapapa of tradition : 100 years of Ngāti Porou carving, 1830-1930 - Ellis, Ngarino ; Robertson, Natalie
Call Number: NK 5504 .N45 E45 2016
ISBN: 9781869407377
Publication Date: 2016
From the emergence of the chapel and the wharenui in the nineteenth century to the rejuvenation of carving by Apirana Ngata in the 1920s, Maori carving went through a rapid evolution from 1830 to 1930. Focusing on thirty meeting houses, Ngarino Ellis tells the story of Ngati Porou carving and a profound transformation in Maori art. Beginning around 1830, three previously dominant art traditions – waka taua (war canoes), pataka (decorated storehouses) and whare rangatira (chief’s houses) – declined and were replaced by whare karakia (churches), whare whakairo (decorated meeting houses) and wharekai (dining halls). Ellis examines how and why that fundamental transformation took place by exploring the Iwirakau School of carving, based in the Waiapu Valley on the East Coast of the North Island.

Cover Art
Tales from the Trobriand Islands of Papua New Guinea : psycholinguistic and anthropological linguistic analyses of tales told by Trobriand children and adults - Gunter Senft, Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics, Nijmegen (Editors)
Call Number: P 302 .7 .T35 2015
ISBN: 9789027244536
Publication Date: 2015
This volume presents 22 tales from the Trobriand Islands told by children (boys between the age of 5 and 9 years) and adults. The monograph is motivated not only by the anthropological linguistic aim to present a broad and quite unique collection of tales with the thematic approach to illustrate which topics and themes constitute the content of the stories, but also by the psycholinguistic and textlinguistic questions of how children acquire linearization and other narrative strategies, how they develop them and how they use them to structure these texts in an adult-like way. The tales are presented in morpheme-interlinear transcriptions with first textlinguistic analyses and cultural background information necessary to fully understand them.

Cover Art
For better or worse : translation as a tool for change in the South Pacific - Fenton, Sabine
Call Number: P 306 .8 .O37 T7 2004 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781900650670
Publication Date: 2004
The essays in this book explore the vital role translation has played in defining, changing and redefining linguistic, cultural, ethnic and political identities in several nations of the South Pacific. While in other parts of the world postcolonial scholars have scrutinized the role and history of translation and exposed its close relationship with the colonizers, this has not yet happened in the specific region covered in this collection. In translation studies the Pacific region is terra incognita. The writers of this volume of essays reveal that in the Pacific, as in all other once colonized parts of the world, colonialism and translation went hand in hand. The unsettling power of translation is described as it effected change for better or for worse. While the Pacific Islanders' encounter with the Europeans has previously been described as having a 'Fatal Impact', the authors of these essays are further able to demonstrate that the Pacific Islanders were not only victims but also played an active role in the cross-cultural events they were party to and in shaping their own destinies.

Cover Art
Henderson's spear : a novel - Wright, Ronald
Call Number: PR 9199 .3 .W75 H46 2002 (a copy is also available in the Leisure Reading collection)
ISBN: 0805069968
Publication Date: 2002
Liv, a Canadian filmmaker, is writing from a Tahitian jail, piecing together her troubled past and her family's buried history for the unknown daughter she gave up at birth. The search for her own father, a pilot missing since the Korean War, has brought her to the South Seas and landed her behind bars on a trumped-up murder charge. In the stillness of her cell, Liv ponders the secret journal of her ancestor Frank Henderson, who came to these same waters a century before on an extraordinary three-year voyage with Queen Victoria's grandsons-Prince George (later George V) and Prince Eddy, who would die young and disgraced, linked by the gutter press to the Ripper killings and many other scandals. Through unforgettable characters and a mesmerizing story, Henderson's Spear traces two tales of obsession, intrigue, and loss-from the 1890s and the 1990s. These stories reach around the world from Africa, England, and North America to converge with compelling effect in the Polynesian islands.

Cover Art
Out of the Vaipe, the deadwater : a writer's early life - Wendt, Albert
Call Number: PR 9665 .9 .W46 O98 2015 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9780908321223
Publication Date: 2015
Albert Wendt recalls his boyhood in the Vaipe, a suburb of Apia in Samoa, just metres from the local cinema, and his life-changing schooling as a scholarship student at an initially foreign New Plymouth Boys' High School. Wendt also explores his fascination with traditional pre-Christian Samoan religion, banned by the missionaries, and while he laments its decline and partial disappearance, he also celebrates its richness and depth.

Cover Art
Imperium : a fiction of the South Seas - Kracht, Christian ; Daniel Bowles (Translator)
Call Number: PT 2671 .R225 I47 2015 (2 copies are available in Leisure Reading and General Collection)
ISBN: 9780374175245
Publication Date: 2015
In 1902, a radical vegetarian and nudist from Nuremberg named August Engelhardt set sail for what was then called the Bismarck Archipelago, in German New Guinea. His destination: the island Kabakon. His goal: to establish a colony based on worship of the sun and coconuts. His malnourished body was found on the beach on Kabakon in 1919; he was forty-three years old.
Christian Kracht's Imperium uses the outlandish details of Engelhardt's life to craft a fable about the allure of extremism and its fundamental foolishness. Engelhardt is at once a pitiable, misunderstood outsider and a rigid ideologue, and his misguided notions of purity and his spiral into madness presage the horrors of the mid-twentieth century.

Cover Art
Ferns and herbs of Niue : an identification guide to the island's ferns, grasses, sedges, orchids and other herbaceous flowering plants - Gardner, Rhys O.
Call Number: QK 473 .N57 G37 2013
ISBN: 9780473230791
Publication Date: 2013
Contains comprehensive guide to using the book, List of species, references, species described and illustrated, glossary, index to scientific plant names and an index to Niuean plant names.

Cover Art
Flying the knife edge - Mclaughlin, Matt
Call Number: TL 540 .M35 F5 2015
ISBN: 9789881403605
Publication Date: 2015
Flying The Knife Edge is the story of an ordinary man experiencing extraordinary things as a bush pilot in Papua New Guinea in the 1990s. After an untimely exit from the Royal New Zealand Air Force, Matt McLaughlin took a leap into the unknown, travelling to New Guinea to work as a missionary pilot. He soon switched from missionary to mercenary, and over the next three and a half years, as he built up the necessary experience to chase his goal of becoming an airline captain, his life was a rollercoaster ride of adventure, risk, near-misses, and tragedy. Matt lived on the knife edge of bush pilot ops in one of the world's most dangerous flying environments. Along the way he soaked up some fascinating local history: the country's vital role in WWII's Pacific Theatre; the disappearance of aviator Amelia Earhart; the chaos of the Bougainville civil war; the Morobe gold rush of the 1930s.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Shirley Devi
Contact Info
Phone: (+679) 32 32285
Send Email
What section of the Library do you work in?
Pacific Collection

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sofie Kubuwai
Contact Info
323 2380
Send Email
 
Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
© Copyright 2004 - 2013. All Rights Reserved.
The University of the South Pacific
Laucala Campus, Suva, Fiji
Tel: +679 323 1000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip