This is the "This month's new books" page of the "New titles in the Pacific Collection (June 2017) " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
The University of the South Pacific
Library
 

New titles in the Pacific Collection (June 2017)  

Last Updated: Jul 19, 2017 URL: http://usp.ac.fj.libguides.com/pacnewtitles-jun17 Print Guide RSS Updates
This month's new books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New items in the Pacific Collection

Here are the new books, DVDs, theses and article reprints added to the Pacific Collection this month. Except for a few items on display in the New Books case in the Pacific Collection on Level C, these items are now available to be borrowed for 3 hours and used in the Pacific Collection Reading Room.

In some cases, there may be another copy of a title in the General collection or the Audio Visual Room (AVR)  for regular checkout. This is noted in the description where applicable.

 

Cover Art
Monopoly capital, white racism and super-profits in Fiji : a case study of CSR 1979 : with annex on "Expiring native leases in Ba" 1974 - Narsey, Wadan Lal
Call Number: HD 9118 .F5 N377 2017
ISBN: 9789829811639
Publication Date: 2017
This monograph appeared orginally as "Monopoly capital, white racism and super-profits in Fiji : a case study of Colonial Sugar Refining Company", Journal of Pacific Studies, Vol. 5, 1979. Pp. 66-146.
Annex A appeared orginally in a 1974 article for UNISPAC "Cane farmers' expiring leases". Field trip assisted by USP students Jayant Prakash, Rajendra Prasad and Vimal Madhavan.

Cover Art
Disastrous ventures : German and British enterprises in East New Guinea up to 1914 - Ohff, Hans-Jürgen
Call Number: DU 740 .7 .O44 2015
ISBN: 9780994304520
Publication Date: 2015
The colonies of German New Guinea (GNG) and British New Guinea (BNG) which from 1906 became the Territory of Papua, experienced different paths of development due to the colonial administrators’ divergent commercial policies. The establishment of these colonies in the late19th century, and all of the major events and decisions relating to them up to 1914, were based mainly on commercial imperatives. This book examines the circumstances leading to the founding of GNG and BNG. It analyses the impact of government decisions and the growth of capitalist enterprises in East New Guinea during its first 30 years (1884–1914). German and British governments were reluctant to become involved in the colonisation of East New Guinea. In the context of the political pressures prevailing in Berlin and London, both governments succumbed but insisted that the cost of administering and developing the colonies was not to be borne by the state. The establishment costs of GNG were accepted by the Neu Guinea Compagnie (NGC) until 1899.

Cover Art
Transnational Pacific Islander Americans and social work : dancing to the beat of a different drum - Vakalahi, Halaevalu F. Ofahengaue ; Vakalahi, Godinet, Meripa Taiai
Call Number: HV 3198 .A2 T73 2014
ISBN: 9780871014498
Publication Date: 2014
Transnational Pacific Islander Americans and Social Work: Dancing to the Beat of a Different Drum serves as a voice for Pacific Islander American communities that have long been subdued in the hope that it will assist in dispelling misunderstandings, misconceptions, and misrepresentation of Pacific Islander Americans. A first of its kind, this book attempts to bring Pacific Islander Americans to the forefront of transnational conversations, particularly in the profession of social work. It contains accounts of real-life experiences of transnational Pacific Islander Americans and issues such as colonization, immigration, and dual/multiple identities.

Cover Art
New perspectives in Southeast Asian and Pacific prehistory - Piper, Philip J. Matsumura, Hirofumi Bulbeck, David
Call Number: DS 523 .N49 2017
ISBN: 9781760460945
Publication Date: 2017
‘This volume brings together a diversity of international scholars, unified in the theme of expanding scientific knowledge about humanity’s past in the Asia-Pacific region. The contents in total encompass a deep time range, concerning the origins and dispersals of anatomically modern humans, the lifestyles of Pleistocene and early Holocene Palaeolithic hunter-gatherers, the emergence of Neolithic farming communities, and the development of Iron Age societies. These core enduring issues continue to be explored throughout the vast region covered here, accordingly with a richness of results as shown by the authors. Befitting of the grand scope of this volume, the individual contributions articulate perspectives from multiple study areas and lines of evidence.

Cover Art
The pigs that ate the garden : a human ecology from Papua New Guinea - Dwyer, Peter D.
Call Number: DU 740 .42 .D89 2016
ISBN: 9780472751181
Publication Date: 2016
In The Pigs That Ate the Garden, Peter D. Dwyer examines the subsistence ecology of 109 Etolo people who live on the wet, forested mountain slopes of Papua New Guinea. Dwyer describes the community's practice of deliberately placing pigs in gardens so that the pigs depredate the vegetation there. He shows how this practice is actually the community's method of sending a message to itself that serves to resynchronize a switch from sweet potato gardening to sago starch processing. The interrelationships of the different food-producing activities of the Etolo—gardening, hunting, tree-crop cultivation, etc. —are shown to have seasonal rhythms, and these rhythms maximize the Etolo's use of food resources at appropriate times and areas. Dwyer argues that the "shape" of Etolo ecology is ultimately driven by sociocultural, rather than environmental, forces, and is set within a theoretical frame concerning processes of communication and change in open systems.

Cover Art
A Fiji diary : reminiscences and reflections of a newsman - Kumar, Vijendra
Call Number: PN 5639 .F5 K86 2017
ISBN: 9789820109582
Publication Date: 2017
"Vijendra Kumar is a former editor of the Fiji Times. In this collection of essays, he has captured the life of Fiji in its pages with several memorable portraits, from Ratu Sir Kamisese Mara, Fiji's first Prime Minister, to the current Prime Minister, Voreqe Bainimarama of Fiji First Party" --Back cover.

Cover Art
Hungry devils and other tales from Vanuatu - Webb, Brian W.
Call Number: BV 3680 .V3 W33 2011
ISBN: 9780615566627
Publication Date: 2011
In Hungry Devils Bryan Webb takes you on a modern missions adventure. Authentic, humorous and inspiring stories fill every page. With Bryan’s gripping descriptions you will: • Stare into the eyes of regretful cannibals • Stand on the brink of an erupting volcano • Climb rugged mountains to discover forgotten Stone Age tribes. You will move from laughter to tears, you will be inspired as you experience the joys and heartaches of twenty-first century missions. An Assembly of God missionary for fifteen years in the South Pacific Islands Bryan draws on his years of experience to bring you a firsthand account of modern missions. With his refreshing candor he debunks many of the myths about missions and missionaries to bring you an unvarnished, graphic description of front line missions. A must read for anyone who cares about the Great Commission.

Cover Art
Our voyage : stories of triumph in the response to HIV and other STIs in the Pacific - editor: Jacinta Isaacs [and 5 others], authors: Jacinta Isaacs, Nicole Gooch, Moira Vilsoni-Raduva.
Call Number: RA 643 .86 .O3 I87 2013
ISBN: 9789820006492
Publication Date: 2013
"Editorial Team: Nicole Cave, Vicci Lawrence, Jitske Wildschut, Dennie Iniakwala, Sala Tupou-Tamani"--Page 4.
At foot of cover: logos of the Secretariat of Australian AID, the Pacific Community, New Zealand Foreign Affairs and Trade Aid Programme, the University of the South Pacific, and Pacific Islands HIV and STI Response Fund 2009-2013.

Cover Art
To walk under palm trees : the Germans in Samoa : snapshots from albums. Part one - Brunt, Tony
Call Number: DU 817 .B78 2017
Publication Date: 2017
The remnants of German era have largely disappeared from the islands, but in this landmark book, Auckland writer Tony Brunt has endeavoured to protect one aspect which is both salvageable and fascinating, its photographic legacy. Drawing on private albums which he has carefully researched, Tony presents compelling images and stories which are, for the most part, new to public presentation.

Cover Art
Soso village, Naviti Island, Fiji : a traditional village in modern times - Triffitt, Geraldine Nayato, Onisimo
Call Number: HT 431 .T75 2017
ISBN: 9780648057109
Publication Date: 2017
This is the everyday story of Soso, a remote village of about 450 people, on Naviti Island, one of the islands of the Yasawa archipelago in Fiji. The author, Geraldine Triffitt, has been associated with the village of Soso for over 40 years, since her first visit with her husband, Tom, in 1977. Onisimo Nayato is a resident of Soso, who has shared his culture with his good friend, Geraldine.

Cover Art
The best of e-Tangata - Tapu Misa and Gary Wilson (Editors)
Call Number: DU 420 .E83 2017
ISBN: 9780947518455
Publication Date: 2017
The celebrated digital magazine e-Tangata is home to some of the most incisive and profound commentary on life in New Zealand. Māori, Pasifika and Pākehā writers grapple with topics that range from politics and social issues to history and popular culture. The best of these are collected together here into this BWB Text by the magazine’s editors, Tapu Misa and Gary Wilson.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Gwen Rounds

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sofie Kubuwai
Contact Info
323 2380
Send Email
 
Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
© Copyright 2004 - 2013. All Rights Reserved.
The University of the South Pacific
Laucala Campus, Suva, Fiji
Tel: +679 323 1000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip