This is the "This month's new books" page of the "New titles in the Pacific Collection July 2016 " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
The University of the South Pacific
Welcome to the Library
 

New titles in the Pacific Collection July 2016   Tags: new books, pacific collection new resources  

Last Updated: Sep 4, 2016 URL: http://usp.ac.fj.libguides.com/pacnewtitles-july2016 Print Guide RSS Updates
This month's new books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New items in the Pacific Collection

Here are the titles added to the Pacific Collection this month and are now available for borrowing and use in the Pacific Collection Reading Room.

In some cases, there may be another copy of a title in the General Collection or the Audio Visual Room (AVR)  for regular checkout. This is noted in the description where applicable.

 

Cover Art
A simple nullity? : the Wi Parata case in New Zealand law and history - Williams, David V.
Call Number: KUQ 354 .W55 2011
ISBN: 9781869404840
Publication Date: 2011
When the New Zealand Supreme Court ruled on Wi Parata v the Bishop of Wellington in 1877, the judges infamously dismissed the relevance of the Treaty of Waitangi. During the past 25 years, judges, lawyers, and commentators have castigated this “simple nullity” view of the treaty. The infamous case has been seen as symbolic of the neglect of Maori rights by settlers, the government, and New Zealand law. In this book, the Wi Parata case—the protagonists, the origins of the dispute, the years of legal back and forth—is given a fresh look, affording new insights into both Maori-Pakeha relations in the 19th century and the legal position of the treaty. As relevant today as they were at the time of the case ruling, arguments about the place of Indigenous Maori and Pakeha settlers in New Zealand are brought to light.

Cover Art
Agroforestry landscapes for pacific islands : creating abundant and resilient food systems - Craig R. Elevitch (Editor)
Call Number: S 494 .5 .A45 A366 2015 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781939618047
Publication Date: 2015
This title focuses on low-input and sustainable techniques for growing food in the Pacific. It covers a range of time-tested traditional agroforestry systems, modern agroforestry, enhancing soil function using local resources, pest and disease control, integrating livestock, and getting started with planning and implementation.

Cover Art
Artefacts of encounter : Cook's voyages, colonial collecting and museum histories - Nicholas Thomas, Julie Adams, Billie Lythberg, Maia Nuku & Amiria Salmond (Editors)
Call Number: GN 662 .A78 2016 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781877578694
Publication Date: 2016
The Pacific artefacts and works of art collected during the three voyages of Captain James Cook are of foundational importance for the study of art and culture in Oceania. These collections are representative not only of technologies or belief systems but of indigenous cultures at the formative stages of their modern histories, and exemplify Islanders’ institutions, cosmologies and social relationships.

Cover Art
At the heart of Hiruharama - Waiti-Mulholland, Isabel
Call Number: PR 9639 .4 .W35 A8 2006
ISBN: 9781869692384
Publication Date: 2006
Assured, thoughtful and a really compelling read, At the Heart of Hiruharama takes us on a journey where the boundaries between past and present are not just blurred - they're broken. The dead are haunted by the living, burnt bridges are rebuilt and crossed.

Cover Art
Ballads and poems from the Pacific, by Philip Garth - Sinclair, Francis
Call Number: PR 9639 .2 .S56 B35 2016 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781245322645
Publication Date: 2016
This is a reproduction of a book published before 1923. This book may have occasional imperfections such as missing or blurred pages, poor pictures, errant marks, etc. that were either part of the original artifact, or were introduced by the scanning process. We believe this work is culturally important, and despite the imperfections, have elected to bring it back into print as part of our continuing commitment to the preservation of printed works worldwide. We appreciate your understanding of the imperfections in the preservation process, and hope you enjoy this valuable book.

Cover Art
Decolonisation and the Pacific : indigenous globalisation and the ends of empire - Banivanua Mar, Tracey
Call Number: GN 663 .B36 2016 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781107037595
Publication Date: 2016
This book charts the previously untold story of decolonisation in the oceanic world of the Pacific, Australia and New Zealand, presenting it both as an indigenous and an international phenomenon. Tracey Banivanua Mar reveals how the inherent limits of decolonisation were laid bare by the historical peculiarities of colonialism in the region, and demonstrates the way imperial powers conceived of decolonisation as a new form of imperialism. She shows how Indigenous peoples responded to these limits by developing rich intellectual, political and cultural networks transcending colonial and national borders, with localised traditions of protest and dialogue connected to the global ferment of the twentieth century. The individual stories told here shed new light on the forces that shaped twentieth-century global history, and reconfigure the history of decolonisation, presenting it not as an historic event, but as a fragile, contingent and ongoing process continuing well into the postcolonial era.

Cover Art
Exalted sits the chief : the ancient history of Hawai'i Island - Cordy, Ross
Call Number: DU 628 .H28 C67 2000
ISBN: 9781566473408
Publication Date: 2000
Exalted Sits the Chief is one of the most important books ever published in the fields of Hawaiian archeology and history. It is the first book-length effort to combine the rich traditional history and ethnography of the Big Island with the vast amount of archeological data accumulated over the last 50 years.

Cover Art
Freshwater fishes of the Timika Region, New Guinea - Allen. Gerald R. ; Hortle, Kent G. ; Renyaan, Samuel J.
Call Number: QL 634 .I65 A45 2000
ISBN: 9780646404806
Publication Date: 2000
The first book in a series of field guides to the flora and fauna of the Timika Region, New Guinea.

Cover Art
Fulton's story : commemorating 110 years of Seventh-day Adventist Tertiary Education in Fiji - Currow, Stephen J. ; Potter, Bruce L.
Call Number: LC 510 .F5 C87 2015
ISBN: 9789829812018
Publication Date: 2015
Fulton College endeavors to prepare men and women for service to mankind thus fulfilling its mission. Fulton College is committed to its mission, that is, to provide a tertiary education in a Christian environment through quality instruction and to empower men and women of the Pacific Islands to achieve excellence in academic studies and professional training for service to island communities.

Cover Art
Gender diversity : crosscultural variations - Nanda, Serena
Call Number: GN 479 .65 .N35 2014 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781478611264
Publication Date: 2014
Anthropologist Serena Nanda has heralded the importance of understanding human similarities and differences throughout her writing and teaching career. This was especially evidenced in her groundbreaking work, Gender Diversity: Crosscultural Variations, a masterful, far-reaching examination of the relationships between sex, gender, and sexuality and how they are culturally constructed.
The latest edition of Gender Diversity incorporates new material on hijras in Bangladesh, three gender alternatives in Indonesia, and global changes related to migration, communication, and health. Concept-reinforcing review questions have also been added to each chapter. Throughout, rich ethnographic examples representing nine cultures illuminate the need to analyze sex/gender roles and identities on the basis of broad cultural patterns and distinct cultural features, including social class, ethnicity, age, religion, urban or rural residence, and exposure to Western cultures. Gender Diversity, 2/E encourages readers to think in new ways about what they consider natural, normal, or morally right.

Cover Art
Health and disease in the prehistoric Pacific Islands - Buckley, Hallie R.
Call Number: GN 58 .P16 B83 2016 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781407314433
Publication Date: 2016
This book is an historical document presenting the author's doctoral thesis on health and disease in the Pacific Islands, completed in 2001. The study was conducted using a sample from the Solomon Islands in Melanesia and another sample from two burial mounds in Tonga, Polynesia. The primary aim of the study was to assess whether the presence of malaria in Melanesia adversely affected overall health of these people compared to the Polynesian group, where malaria has always been absent.

Cover Art
Indigenous and minority place names : Australian and international perspectives - Ian D. Clark, Luise Hercus and Laura Kostanski (Editors)
Call Number: DU 91 .I53 2014
ISBN: 9781925021622
Publication Date: 2014
This book showcases current research into Indigenous and minority placenames in Australia and internationally. Many of the chapters in this volume originated as papers at a Trends in Toponymy conference hosted by the University of Ballarat in 2007 that featured Australian and international speakers. The chapters in this volume provide insight into the quality of toponymic research that is being undertaken in Australia and in countries such as Canada, Finland, South Africa, New Zealand, and Norway. The research presented here draws on the disciplines of linguistics, geography, history, and anthropology. The book includes meticulous studies of placenames in central NSW and the Upper Hunter region; Gundungurra cave names; western Arnhem Land; Northern Cape York Peninsula and Mount Wheeler in Queensland; saltwater placenames around Mer in the Torres Strait; and the Kaurna in South Australia.

Cover Art
Injia on criminal offences in Papua New Guinea and the Pacific - Injia, Salamo
Call Number: HV 9960 .P3 I55 2013
ISBN: 9789980879172
Publication Date: 2013
This textbook is one of eight (8) textbooks written under my hand and supervision: 'Injia on Criminal Offences in Papua New Guinea and the Pacific'; 'Injia on Criminal Practice and Procedure in Papua New Guinea and the Pacific'; 'Injia on Sentencing in Papua New Guinea and the Pacific'; 'Injia on Statutory Interpretation in Papua New Guinea and the Pacific'; 'Injia on Coronial Proceedings in Papua New Guinea and the Pacific'; 'Injia on Investigatory Practice in Papua New Guinea and the Pacific'; 'Injia on Contempt of Court in Papua New Guinea and the Pacific'; 'Injia on Evidence in Papua New Guinea and the Pacific'. Each of those textbooks is an effort to offer to Judicial officers, legal practitioners and students of law a comprehensive set of principles and practical guidelines on criminal law and practice in Papua New Guinea and the Pacific.

Cover Art
Islanders and education : the I- Kiribati experience - Carey, Melissa
Call Number: LB 2324 .C37 2011
ISBN: 9783847302711
Publication Date: 2011
The Republic of Kiribati is under threat from climate change, leaving the growing population vulnerable to the elements. Sea water inundation occurs regularly, reducing the thin water lens beneath the island. This is the main source of fresh drinking water for the I-Kiribati people. Strategies to improve future outcomes for the population include international education initiatives. This book tells the story of one such initiative. Mobilising I-Kiribati youth for the purposes of education is not without difficulties. Students are leaving their Island homes to travel to Australia in the hopes of achieving a nursing qualification. Chapter by chapter this work explores the student experience from an Indigenous perspective, following the cycle of the seasons. Go on a journey with the researcher and the students as they tell their stories of studying in Australia.

Cover Art
Jungle warriors : from Tobruk to Kokoda and beyond, how the Australian Army became the world's most deadly jungle fighting force - Threlfall, Adrian
Call Number: D 767 .8 .T47 2014 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781742372204
Publication Date: 2014
How did the Australian Army transform itself from a military force totally unprepared for conflict of any kind in 1939 into a professional, experienced, and highly skilled jungle warfare force by 1945? Jungle Warriors explores how the 2nd AIF evolved from fighting European and desert wars, in open country and often with large numbers of troops, to master the very close warfare of jungle combat. It investigates the extraordinary array of changes to weapons, equipment, tactics, and training. It also reveals the painful lessons learned and the inadequate planning that resulted in the unnecessary deaths of so many Australian men. Following the story from the training camps in Australia on to the battlefields of North Africa and the Mediterranean to Milne Bay, Kokoda, and final victory in Borneo, Bougainville, and New Guinea, this is a comprehensive and coherent interrogation of Australia's jungle warfare experience. It also makes significant contribution to World War II military history.

Cover Art
Kokoda - FitzSimons, Peter
Call Number: D 676 .95 .F58 2010 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9780733619625
Publication Date: 2010
For Australians, Kokoda is the iconic battle of World War II, yet few people know the names of the men who fought on the track, or even the details of what happened. More Australians died in the months of fighting in Papua, than in any other campaign of World War II. Now bestselling author Peter FitzSimons tells the Kokoda story in a gripping, and moving, style for all Australians. Kokoda was a defining battle for Australia, where a small force of young, ill-equipped Australians engaged a highly experienced and hitherto unstoppable Japanese force on a narrow, precarious jungle track. Again and again, the outnumbered Australians risked everything to stop the Japanese from advancing along the track towards mainland Australia. Kokoda is a superb blend of authority and gripping storytelling history at its best.

Cover Art
Kokoda air strikes : allied air forces in New Guinea, 1942 - Cooper, Anthony
Call Number: D 767 .95 .C66 2014 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781742233833
Publication Date: 2014
The author of the bestselling Darwin Spitfires casts a forensic eye over the role that Allied air forces played —or failed to play—in crucial World War II campaigns in New Guinea. This is the story of the early battles of the southwest Pacific theatre—the Coral Sea, Kokoda, Milne Bay, Guadalcanal—presented as a single air campaign that began with the Japanese conquest of Rabaul in January 1942. It is a story of both Australian and American airmen who flew and fought in the face of adversity—with incomplete training, inadequate aircraft, and from poorly set up and exposed airfields. And they persisted despite extreme exhaustion, sickness, poor morale, and the near certainty of being murdered by their Japanese captors if they went down in enemy territory.

Cover Art
Manifestations of mana : political power and divine inspiration in Polynesia - Grijp, Paul van der
Call Number: GN 471 .4 .G75 2014 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9783643904966
Publication Date: 2014
This book explores the role of mana in past and present configurations of chiefly power in the Pacific region, where the chief is often seen as the transitional figure between traditional (tribal or feudal) and modern forms of leadership, the latter characterized by rationality and the nation-state with its accompanying bureaucracy. The configuration and reconfiguration of Tongan chieftaincy and kingship are analyzed as an extended case study of the gradual, and sometimes shock-like, integration of a Polynesian culture into a global structure - a nation-state partly imposed from the outside (colonization, missionary influences, etc.), but also generated from within, including state formation and the recent quest for democracy. Together with other Polynesian examples, this forms a relevant illustration of both continuity and change in the configuration of mana and chieftaincy in processes of globalization in the Pacific.

Cover Art
Mātini : the story of Cyclone Martin : Manahiki, Cook Islands, 1 November 1997 - Reeves, Rachel Michele Teana
Call Number: QC 948 .R44 2015 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9780473314941
Publication Date: 2015
On November, 1997, Cyclone Martin devastated the atoll of Manihiki in the northern Cook Islands. Nineteen people were lost and hundred of lives were dramatically changed. It was the most tragic cyclone in the Cook Islands' living history. This is the story of Martin - Matini - which has for 17 years remained untold.

Cover Art
Migration and development : perspectives from small states - Wonderful Hope Khonje (Editor)
Call Number: JC 365 .M54 2015 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781849291330
Publication Date: 2015
Over the past two decades, studies on the migration-development nexus often portray small states as one homogeneous group, "developing countries", without considering their critical and peculiar challenges or inherent vulnerabilities, due mainly to their size. This book explores key dynamics of migration and development in a small states setting. It includes case studies from small states in Africa, Caribbean and the Pacific that will help policy-makers to embrace migration as an inevitable phenomenon and devise policies that will maximize the benefits from migration at a minimal cost.

Cover Art
Native American whalemen and the world : indigenous encounters and the contingency of race - Shoemaker, Nancy
Call Number: E 78 .N5 S56 2015
ISBN: 9781469622576
Publication Date: 2015
In the nineteenth century, nearly all Native American men living along the southern New England coast made their living traveling the world's oceans on whaleships. Many were career whalemen, spending twenty years or more at sea. Their labor invigorated economically depressed reservations with vital income and led to complex and surprising connections with other Indigenous peoples, from the islands of the Pacific to the Arctic Ocean. At home, aboard ship, or around the world, Native American seafarers found themselves in a variety of situations, each with distinct racial expectations about who was "Indian" and how "Indians" behaved. Treated by their white neighbors as degraded dependents incapable of taking care of themselves, Native New Englanders nevertheless rose to positions of command at sea. They thereby complicated myths of exploration and expansion that depicted cultural encounters as the meeting of two peoples, whites and Indians. Highlighting the shifting racial ideologies that shaped the lives of these whalemen, Nancy Shoemaker shows how the category of "Indian" was as fluid as the whalemen were mobile.

Cover Art
New Zealand, France and the Pacific - Ian Conrich and Dominic Alessio (Editors)
Call Number: DU 421 .F8 N49 2011
ISBN: 9780955756450
Publication Date: 2011
Of the seventeen New Zealand Studies Association (NZSA) conferences, the first to be held overseas was in Paris in 2006. Co-organised with University Paris Dauphine, which also hosted the conference, the central strand of the event was to explore New Zealand's relationship with France. Two other distinct strands in the conference invited speakers to consider France and the Pacific, as well as New Zealand and the Pacific. All three strands are represented in this edited collection, which demonstrates the breadth and depth of research within the field, with articles here addressing literature, film, art, music, history, cultural studies, and land issues.

Cover Art
Ngā mōrehu = The survivors : the life histories of eight māori women - Binney, Judith ; Chapman, Gillian
Call Number: DU 422 .8 .B56 2011
ISBN: 9781927131312
Publication Date: 2011
In eight remarkable oral histories, Ngá Mórehu brings alive the experience of Máori women from the mid-twentieth century. Heni Brown , Reremoana Koopu, Maaka Jones, Hei Ariki Algie, Heni Sunderland, Miria Rua, Putiputi Onekawaand Te Akakura Rua talked with Judith Binney and Gillian Chaplin, sharing stories and memories. These are the women whose ‘voices must be heard’. The title, The Survivors, refects the women’s connection with the visionary leader Te Kooti Arikirangi Te Turuki and his followers, who adopted the name ‘Ngá Mórehu’ during the wars of the 1860s. But these women are not only survivors: they are alsothe chosen ones, the leaders of their society. They speak here of richly diverse lives – of arranged marriages and whángai adoption traditions, of working in both Máori and Pákehá communities. They pay testimony to their strong sense of a shared identity created by religious and community teachings

Cover Art
On the edge of the global : modern anxieties in a Pacific island nation - Besnier, Niko
Call Number: DU 880 .B472 2011 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9780804774055
Publication Date: 2011
Life in twenty-first century Tonga is rife with uncertainties. Though the postcolonial island kingdom may give the appearance of stability and order, there is a malaise that pervades everyday life, a disquiet rooted in the feeling that the twin forces of "progress" and "development"—and the seemingly inevitable wealth distribution that follows from them—have bypassed the society. Niko Besnier's illuminating ethnography analyzes the ways in which segments of this small-scale society grapple with their growing anxiety and hold on to different understandings of what modernity means. How should it be made relevant to local contexts? How it should mesh with practices and symbols of tradition? In the day-to-day lives of Tongans, the weight of transformations brought on by neoliberalism and democracy press not in the abstract, but in individually significant ways: how to make ends meet, how to pay lip service to tradition, and how to present a modern self without opening oneself to ridicule. Adopting a wide-angled perspective that brings together political, economic, cultural, and social concerns, this book focuses on the interface between the different forms that modern uncertainties take.

Cover Art
The brown book : Māori in screen production - Henry, Ella ; Wikaire, Melissa
Call Number: PN 1995 .9 .M56 H46 2013
ISBN: 9780473250669
Publication Date: 2013
The Brown Book: Maori in screen production' was commissioned by Nga Aho Whakaari, the association of Maori in screen production, and written by Ella Henry and Melissa Wikaire. It was launched in 2013. The Brown Book outlines the history of the Maori screen industry, the role that Nga Aho Whakaari has played in that evolution, and an introduction to Maori society and culture, particularly for those involved in screen production (film and television) who may interact with Maori communities, or draw on Maori language and culture.

Cover Art
The new Pacific diplomacy - Greg Fry and Sandra Tarte (Editors)
Call Number: JZ 1305 .N49 2016 (3 copies are also available in the General collection)
ISBN: 9789820109490
Publication Date: 2016
Since 2009 there has been a fundamental shift in the way that the Pacific Island states engage with regional and world politics. The region has experienced, what Kiribati President Anote Tong has aptly called, a ‘paradigm shift’ in ideas about how Pacific diplomacy should be organised, and on what principles it should operate. Many leaders have called for a heightened Pacific voice in global affairs and a new commitment to establishing Pacific Island control of this diplomatic process. This change in thinking has been expressed in the establishment of new channels and arenas for Pacific diplomacy at the regional and global levels and new ways of connecting the two levels through active use of intermediate diplomatic associations. The New Pacific Diplomacy brings together a range of analyses and perspectives on these dramatic new developments in Pacific diplomacy at sub-regional, regional and global levels, and in the key sectors of global negotiation for Pacific states – fisheries, climate change, decolonisation, and trade.

Cover Art
Waterworlds : anthropology in fluid environments - Kirsten Hastrup and Frida Hastrup (Editors)
Call Number: GB 665 .W38 2016
ISBN: 9781782389460
Publication Date: 2016
n one form or another, water participates in the making and unmaking of people's lives, practices, and stories. Contributors' detailed ethnographic work analyzes the union and mutual shaping of water and social lives. This volume discusses current ecological disturbances and engages in a world where unbounded relationalities and unsettled frames of orientation mark the lives of all, anthropologists included. Water emerges as a fluid object in more senses than one, challenging anthropologists to foreground the mutable character of their objects of study and to responsibly engage with the generative role of cultural analysis.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sofie Kubuwai
Contact Info
323 2380
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Shirley Devi
Contact Info
Phone: (+679) 32 32285
Send Email
What section of the Library do you work in?
Pacific Collection
 
Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
© Copyright 2004 - 2013. All Rights Reserved.
The University of the South Pacific
Laucala Campus, Suva, Fiji
Tel: +679 323 1000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip