This is the "This month's new books" page of the "New titles in the Pacific Collection (January 2017)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
The University of the South Pacific
Library
 

New titles in the Pacific Collection (January 2017)  

Last Updated: Mar 6, 2017 URL: http://usp.ac.fj.libguides.com/pacnewtitles-jan17 Print Guide RSS Updates
This month's new books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New items in the Pacific Collection

Here are the new books, DVDs, theses and article reprints added to the Pacific Collection this month. Except for a few items on display in the New Books case in the Pacific Collection on Level C, these items are now available to be borrowed for 3 hours and used in the Pacific Collection Reading Room.

In some cases, there may be another copy of a title in the General collection or the Audio Visual Room (AVR)  for regular checkout. This is noted in the description where applicable.

 

Cover Art
Asia-Pacific trade and investment report 2015 : supporting participation in value chains - United Nations Publications
Call Number: HC 412 .U54 2015
ISBN: 9789211207019
Publication Date: 2015
Asia-Pacific Trade and Investment Report (APTIR) is a major annual publication of the Trade and Investment Division of United Nations ESCAP. It provides information on and independent analyses of trends and developments in: (a) intra- and inter-regional trade in goods and services; (b) foreign direct investment; (c) trade facilitation measures; (d) trade policy measures; and (e) preferential trade policies and agreements. It provides insights into the impacts of these recent and emerging developments on countries abilities to meet the challenges of achieving inclusive and sustainable development. It identifies and studies emerging issues in all these areas and offers innovative policy options towards building capacities of governments in the region to meet the challenges of achieving inclusive and sustainable development.

Cover Art
At the heart of ancient societies : French contributions to Pacific archaeology - Anne Di Piazza, Erick Pearthree and Christophe Sand (Editors)
Call Number: GN 871 .A8 2008
ISBN: 9782951920835
Publication Date: 2008
A number of innovative results obtained by Francophone archaeologists in the Pacific are seldom cited in the Anglophone literature. The language barrier is the most obvious reason preventing the incorporation by Anglo-/American scientists of archaeological results published in often difficult to access French journals and books. In order to share some of these results with the rest of the dispersed (and largely Anglophone) Pacific archaeologists, with the ultimate goal of reaching the Pacific people themselves, emerged the idea of a book assembling a number of English translations of papers initially published in French.

Cover Art
Biomedical entanglements : conceptions of personhood in a Papua New Guinea society - Herbst, Franziska A.
Call Number: R 683 .P26 H47 2017
ISBN: 9781785332340
Publication Date: 2017
Biomedical Entanglements is an ethnographic study of the Giri people of Papua New Guinea, focusing on the indigenous population's interaction with modern medicine. In her fieldwork, Franziska A. Herbst follows the Giri people as they circulate within and around ethnographic sites that include a rural health center and an urban hospital. The study bridges medical anthropology and global health, exploring how the 'biomedical' is imbued with social meaning and how biomedicine affects Giri ways of life.

Cover Art
Dictators and democrats : masses, elites, and regime change - Haggard, Stephan ; Kaufman, Robert R.
Call Number: JC 423 .H34 2016
ISBN: 9780691172156
Publication Date: 2016
From the 1980s through the first decade of the twenty-first century, the spread of democracy across the developing and post-Communist worlds transformed the global political landscape. What drove these changes and what determined whether the emerging democracies would stabilize or revert to authoritarian rule? Dictators and Democrats takes a comprehensive look at the transitions to and from democracy in recent decades. Deploying both statistical and qualitative analysis, Stephen Haggard and Robert Kaufman engage with theories of democratic change and advocate approaches that emphasize political and institutional factors. While inequality has been a prominent explanation for democratic transitions, the authors argue that its role has been limited, and elites as well as masses can drive regime change.

Cover Art
Discover Honolulu, Waikiki & O'ahu : experience the best of O'ahu - McLachlan, Craig
Call Number: DU 628 .O3 M35 2015
ISBN: 9781743214589
Publication Date: 2015
This full-color guide reveals the island's beaches, sights and off-the-beaten track adventures so you can discover the real Oahu. Realize your dream vacation with insider insights, honest reviews and simple planning tools. Highlights reveal the must-see attractions and unbeatable experiences. Itineraries make planning your ultimate vacation simple. Sustainable travel tips and resources. Easy-to-use maps make getting around the island a breeze.

Cover Art
Disease and social diversity : the European impact on the health of non-Europeans - Kunitz, Stephen J.
Call Number: RA 650 .9 .O3 K86 1994
ISBN: 9780195085303
Publication Date: 1994
This book discusses the various social, political, and cultural forces that shape the distribution of diseases in populations. It is based on a series of comparative studies of the historical and contemporary disease patterns of the indigenous peoples of America north of Mexico, Polynesia, and Australia. The purpose of the comparisons is to control in a quasi-experimental way certain crucial variables in order to examine the impact on health of other variables. The comparisons are made at increasingly more refined levels of analysis. Thus, once disease ecology has been held roughly constant, one can see more clearly the ways in which colonial policy and political institutions have shaped the affairs of indigenous peoples. And once policy has been held constant, one can see more clearly how culture can make a difference. And once culture has been held constant, one can see how gender and status make a difference.

Cover Art
Fisheries in the economies of Pacific Island countries and territories - Gillett, Robert D.
Call Number: SH 319 .O3 G55 2016 (a copy is also available at PIMRIS)
ISBN: 9789820010093
Publication Date: 2016
Fisheries is a critical sector for food security and economic growth in the Pacific region. Maintaining up-to-date information about the impact of fisheries is critical for Pacific Island countries and territories (PICTs) and their communities to make informed decisions about management of the sector, and for a range of development organisations, institutions and donors to plan and implement effective development assistance in collaboration with PICTs. However, finding accurate and up-to-date data on the value of fisheries, and its numerous components, to the economies of Pacific Island countries and territories is very difficult, and this makes the assessment of development and change very difficult to measure over time. This book contains a fisheries-oriented discussion of macroeconomics, country information on specific topics (fisheries production, contribution to GDP, etc.), a discussion of important topics across all countries (e.g. the regional significance of fisheries access fees and exports of fishery products), some important features of the benefits from fisheries that have emerged from this study, and recommendations on improving the measurement of fisheries benefits and assuring the continuity of those benefits.

Cover Art
Fisheries in the Pacific : the challenges of governance and sustainability - Fache, Elodie
Call Number: SH 319. O3 F33 2016
ISBN: 9782953748550
Publication Date: 2016
Fisheries in the Pacific: The Challenges of Governance and Sustainability is a multidisciplinary book, which examines various aspects of coastal and oceanic fisheries in Pacific waters. These interrelated fisheries sectors are critical for regional food security and also represent a reserve of food resources for the rest of the world. The introduction and eight chapters highlight that both these sectors raise major economic and ecological issues while revealing significant social changes, political asymmetries and alliances, geostrategic rationales, developments in legislation, customary dynamics, and conservation challenges. Through complementary approaches and interpretations of both quantitative and qualitative data, this book aims to contribute to a better understanding of the current situation of fisheries in the Pacific.

Cover Art
Health change in the Asia-Pacific region - Ryūtaro Ōhtsuka and Stanley J. Ulijaszek (Editors)
Call Number: RA 650 .7 .S68 H43 2012 (a copy is also available in USP Gen)
ISBN: 9781107406223
Publication Date: 2012
The Asia-Pacific region has seen great social, environmental and economic change across the past century, leading to dramatic changes in the health profiles of all populations represented in South East and East Asia, Pacific Islands and the islands of Melanesia. This volume considers evidence concerning prehistoric migration, and colonial, regional and global processes in the production of health change in the Asia-Pacific region. Notably, it examines ways in which a health pattern dominated by under-nutrition and infection has been displaced in many ways, and is being displaced elsewhere by over-nutrition and the degenerative diseases associated with it. This book presents a cohesive view of the ways in which exchange relationships, economic modernization, migration and transnational linkages interact with changing rural subsistence ecologies to influence health patterns in this region.

Cover Art
Intersecting cultures in music and dance education : an oceanic perspective - Linda Ashley, David Lines (Editors)
Call Number: GV 1589 .I58 2016 (a copy is also available in USP Gen)
ISBN: 9783319289878
Publication Date: 2016
This volume looks forward and re-examines present day education and pedagogical practices in music and dance in the diverse cultural environments found in Oceania. The book also identifies a key issue of how teachers face the prospect of taking a reflexive view of their own cultural legacy in music and dance education as they work from and alongside different cultural worldviews. This key issue, amongst other debates that arise, positions Intersecting Cultures as an innovative text that fills a gap in the current market with highly appropriate and fresh ideas from primary sources. The book offers commentaries that underpin and inform current pedagogy and bigger picture policy for the performing arts in education in Oceania, and in parallel ways in other countries.

Cover Art
Kaiviti - Robertson, Blair
Call Number: PR 9650 .9 .R63 K35 2015 (other copies available in USP Gen)
ISBN: 9789820109469
Publication Date: 2015
FIJI changed forever when the then Lieutenant-Colonel Sitiveni Rabuka walked into Parliament on May 14, 1987 and removed a democratically elected government. On that day Fiji lost her innocence and the nation was forced to confront the reality of the deep fissures – perceived and real – which extended across ethnic, religious and tribal lines.

Cover Art
Merdeka and the Morning Star : civil resistance in West Papua - MacLeod, Jason
Call Number: DU 744 .5 .M34 2015
ISBN: 9780702253768
Publication Date: 2015
West Papua is a secret story. On the western half of the island of New Guinea, hidden from the world, in a place occupied by the Indonesian military since 1963, continues a remarkable nonviolent struggle for national liberation. In Merdeka and the Morning Star, academic Jason MacLeod gives an insider’s view of the trajectory and dynamics of civil resistance in West Papua. Merdeka and the Morning Star is a must-read for all those interested in Indonesia, the Pacific, self-determination struggles and nonviolent ways out of occupation.

Cover Art
Photography and anthropology - Pinney, Christopher
Call Number: GN 347 .P56 2011 (a copy is also available in USP Gen)
ISBN: 9781861898043
Publication Date: 2011
In Photography and Anthropology, Christopher Pinney presents a provocative and readable account of the strikingly parallel histories of the two disciplines, as well as a polemical narrative and overview of the use of photography by anthropologists from the 1840s to the present. Walter Benjamin suggested that photography “make[s] the difference between technology and magic visible as a thoroughly historical variable,” and Pinney here explores photography as a divinatory practice that prompted anthropologists to capture the “primitive” lives of those they studied.

Cover Art
Small places, large issues : an introduction to social and cultural anthropology - Eriksen, Thomas Hylland
Call Number: GN 316 .E75 2015 (a copy is also available in USP Gen)
ISBN: 9780745336954
Publication Date: 2015
This concise introduction to social and cultural anthropology has become a modern classic, introducing countless students to the field and the tools it offers for exploring some of the most complicated questions of human life and interaction. This fourth edition is fully updated, incorporating recent debates and controversies in the field, ranging from globalization and migration research to problems of cultural translation and the challenges of interdisciplinarity. Effortlessly bridging the gap between classic and contemporary anthropology, Small Places, Large Issues remains an essential text for undergraduates embarking on the study of this field.

Cover Art
The battle for Hell's Island : how a small band of carrier dive-bombers helped save Guadalcanal - Moore, Stephen L.
Call Number: D 767 .98 .M66 2016 (a copy is also available in USP Gen)
ISBN: 9780451473752
Publication Date: 2016
November 1942: Japanese and American forces have been fighting for control of Guadalcanal, a small but pivotal island in Japan’s expansion through the South Pacific. Both sides have endured months of grueling battle under the worst circumstances: hellish jungles, meager rations, and tropical diseases, which have taken a severe mental and physical toll on the combatants. The Japanese call Guadalcanal Jigoku no Jima—Hell's Island. A remarkable story of grit, guts, and heroism, The Battle for Hell's Island reveals how command of the South Pacific, and the outcome of the Pacific War, depended on control of a single dirt airstrip—and the small group of battle-weary aviators sent to protect it with their lives.

Cover Art
The fleet at flood tide : America at total war in the Pacific, 1944-1945 - Hornfischer, James D.
Call Number: D 767 .H67 2016 (a copy is also available in USP Gen)
ISBN: 9780345548702
Publication Date: 2016
Timed to coincide with the 75th anniversary of the attack on Pearl Harbor, here is an unprecedented account of the extraordinary World War II air, land, and sea campaign that brought the U.S. Navy to the apex of its strength and marked the rise of the United States as a global superpower.

Cover Art
The memory code : the traditional Aboriginal memory technique that unlocks the secrets of Stonehenge, Easter Island and ancient monuments the world over - Kelly, Lynne
Call Number: TA 676 .K45 2016 (a copy is also available in USP Gen)
ISBN: 9781760291327
Publication Date: 2016
In the past, the elders had encyclopaedic memories. They could name all the animals and plants across the landscape, and the stars in the sky too. Yet most of us struggle to memorise more than a short poem. Using traditional Aboriginal Australian songlines as the key, Lynne Kelly has identified the powerful memory technique used by indigenous people around the world. She has discovered that this ancient memory technique is the secret behind the great stone monuments like Stonehenge, which have for so long puzzled archaeologists. The stone circles across Britain and northern Europe, the elaborate stone houses of New Mexico, the huge animal shapes at Nasca in Peru, and the statues of Easter Island all serve as the most effective memory system ever invented by humans. They allowed people in non-literate cultures to memorise the vast amounts of practical information they needed to survive.

Cover Art
The voyages of Captain James Cook : the illustrated accounts of three epic Pacific voyages - Nicholas Thomas (Editor)
Call Number: G 420 .C65 C672 2016 (a copy is also in USP Gen)
ISBN: 9780760350294
Publication Date: 2016
This is history's greatest adventure story. In 1766, the Royal Society chose prodigal mapmaker and navigator James Cook to lead a South Pacific voyage. His orders were to chart the path of Venus across the sun. That task completed, his ship, the HMS Endeavour, continued to comb the southern hemisphere for the imagined continent Terra Australis. The voyage lasted from 1768 to 1771, and upon Cook's return to London, his journaled accounts of the expedition made him a celebrity. After that came two more voyages for Cook and his crew, followed by Cook's untimely murder by natives in Hawaii. The Voyages of Captain James Cook reveals Cook's fascinating story through excerpts from his journals, as well as illustrations, photography, and supplementary writings.

Cover Art
Trees, knots, and outriggers : environmental knowledge in the northeast Kula Ring - Damon, Frederick H.
Call Number: GN 671 .N5 D36 2016
ISBN: 9781785332326
Publication Date: 2016
Trees, Knots and Outriggers (Kaynen Muyuw) is the culmination of twenty-five years of work by Frederick H. Damon and his attention to cultural adaptations to the environment in Melanesia. Damon details the intricacies of indigenous knowledge and practice in his sweeping synthesis of symbolic and structuralist anthropology with recent developments in historical ecology. This book is a long conversation between the author's many Papua New Guinea informants, teachers and friends, and scientists in Australia, Europe and the United States, in which a spirit of adventure and discovery is palpable.

Cover Art
Vanuatu 1972 - 1981 : when three cultures collide - Begley, Neil
Call Number: DU 760 .B44 2015 (a copy is also available in USP Gen)
ISBN: 9780994338181
Publication Date: 2015
In a light-hearted, anecdotal style this book explores expatriate life on a Pacific island. Vanuatu 1972–1981 describes the quixotic way in which the two competing European powers ruled these islands and introduces us to the indigenous people and their ancient customs and sacred rituals. The book covers the period of the country’s transformation from colony to independent nation and tells the parallel story of the passage to maturity of Willie, a young indigenous lad from the island of Tanna.

Cover Art
Victims of progress - Bodley, John H.
Call Number: GN 380 .B63 2015 (a copy is also available in USP Gen)
ISBN: 9781442226920
Publication Date: 2015
Victims of Progress, now in its sixth edition, offers a compelling account of how technology and development affect indigenous peoples throughout the world. Bodley’s expansive look at the struggle between small-scale indigenous societies, and the colonists and corporate developers who have infringed their territories reaches from 1800 into today. He examines major issues of intervention such as social engineering, economic development, self-determination, health and disease, global warming, and ecocide. Small-scale societies, Bodley convincingly demonstrates, have survived by organizing politically to defend their basic human rights.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Shirley Devi
Contact Info
Phone: (+679) 32 32285
Send Email
What section of the Library do you work in?
Pacific Collection

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sofie Kubuwai
Contact Info
323 2380
Send Email
 
Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
© Copyright 2004 - 2013. All Rights Reserved.
The University of the South Pacific
Laucala Campus, Suva, Fiji
Tel: +679 323 1000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip