This is the "This month's new titles" page of the "New titles in the Pacific Collection August 2016 " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
The University of the South Pacific
Welcome to the Library
 

New titles in the Pacific Collection August 2016   Tags: new books, pacific collection new resources  

Last Updated: Sep 4, 2016 URL: http://usp.ac.fj.libguides.com/pacnewtitles-august16 Print Guide RSS Updates
This month's new titles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New items in the Pacific Collection

Here are the titles added to the Pacific Collection this month and are now available for borrowing and use in the Pacific Collection Reading Room.

In some cases, there may be another copy of a title in the General Collection or the Audio Visual Room (AVR)  for regular checkout. This is noted in the description where applicable.

 

Cover Art
A mission divided : race, culture & colonialism in Fiji's Methodist Mission - Close-Barry, Kirstie
Call Number: BV 3680 .F5 C56 2015 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781925022858
Publication Date: 2015
This book provides insight into the long process of decolonisation within the Methodist Overseas Missions of Australasia, a colonial institution that operated in the British colony of Fiji. The mission was a site of work for Europeans, Fijians and Indo-Fijians, but each community operated separately, as the mission was divided along ethnic lines in 1901. This book outlines the colonial concepts of race and culture, as well as antagonism over land and labour, that were used to justify this separation. Recounting the stories told by the mission’s leadership, including missionaries and ministers, to its grassroots membership, this book draws on archival and ethnographic research to reveal the emergence of ethno-nationalisms in Fiji, the legacies of which are still being managed in the post-colonial state today.

Cover Art
Abaiang Island, Kiribati : a whole-of-island integrated vulnerability assessment - jointly prepared by the Government of Kiribati and Kiribati National Expert Group (KNEG), Pacific Community (SPC), Secretariat of the Pacific Regional Environment Programme (SPREP) and Deutsche Gesellschaft fur International Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH.
Call Number: QC 903 .2 .K5 A23 2016 ( a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9789820009875
Publication Date: 2016
his report presents the outcomes of a Whole-of-Island Integrated Vulnerability Assessment (WoI-IVA) conducted on Abaiang Atoll in Kiribati in September 2013. The WoI approach to vulnerability assessment and resilience development was initiated by the Government of Kiribati, and Abaiang Atoll was selected as the first site to trial this approach. The 2013 vulnerability assessment was guided by the first draft of the WoI-IVA framework (SPC 2014), which was conceptualised and developed by the Kiribati National Expert Group (KNEG) in collaboration with the Pacific Community (SPC), Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ), and Secretariat of the Pacific Regional Environment Programme (SPREP).

Cover Art
All quiet on the Western Front [videorecording] - Director, Lewis Milestone ; script, Lewis Milestone, Maxwell Anderson, George Abbott, Del Andrews ; photography, Arthur Edeson
Call Number: PN 1997 .A45 2005
Publication Date: 2005
[This Oscar-winning classic is a landmark of American filmaking and one of the most powerful antiwar stories of all time, about teenage German soldiers on the infamous western front. Based on the novel by Erich Maria Remarque].

Cover Art
Ancestral lines : the Maisin of Papua New Guinea and the fate of the rainforest - Barker, John
Call Number: DU 744 .35 .M32 B37 2016 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781442635937
Publication Date: 2016
This compelling ethnography offers a nuanced case study of the ways in which the Maisin of Papua New Guinea navigate pressing economic and environmental issues. Beautifully written and accessible to most readers, Ancestral Lines is designed with introductory cultural anthropology courses in mind. Barker has organized the book into chapters that mirror many of the major topics covered in introductory cultural anthropology, such as kinship, economic pursuit, social arrangements, gender relations, religion, politics, and the environment. The second edition has been revised throughout, with a new timeline of events and a final chapter that brings readers up to date on important events since 2002, including a devastating cyclone and a major court victory against the forestry industry.

Cover Art
Asian and Pacific regional cooperation : turning zones of conflict into arenas of peace - Haas, Michael
Call Number: JZ 5584 .A7 H33 2013
ISBN: 9781137304391
Publication Date: 2013
An exploration of why and how peace has gradually mitigated intense conflict in the Asia-Pacific region, this volume draws on case studies and multivariate quantitative analysis to test theories of peace and conflict regarding the region.

Cover Art
Breaking connections : a novel - Wendt, Albert
Call Number: PR 9665 .9 .W46 B74 2015 (2 other copies available)
ISBN: 9781775502104
Publication Date: 2015
A dynamic group has emerged in Auckland whose members refer to themselves as the Tribe. Mainly Polynesian, they grow up together, rise from poverty and become successful professionals, bound by love and fierce loyalty. At the centre, is Aaron, who lives at the edge of danger, shady dealings and self-destruction. When Daniel, receives a call in Hawaii telling him that Aaron has been killed, he returns to New Zealand, and steps into the most dangerous crisis the Tribe has faced. They must confront the truth about who Aaron is and what they, as the Tribe, have become, while facing the infidelity and greed that threatens to tear the group apart.

Cover Art
China and the Pacific : the view from Oceania - Michael Powles (Editor)
Call Number: DS 740 .P16 C45 2016 ( 2 copies available in General Collection)
ISBN: 9781776560530
Publication Date: 2016
China and the Pacific: The View from Oceania is based on a conference held at the National University of Samoa in Apia from 25 to 27 February 2015. China's new role as an important diplomatic and economic partner of the island countries of the Pacific has attracted increasing attention, and some controversy, in recent years. The unique priority of this conference in Samoa was to give full opportunity for both Pacific voices to be heard on the subject and for productive engagement and discussion between Pacific island participants and those from China.

Cover Art
Christianity, conflict, and renewal in Australia and the Pacific - Fiona Magowan, Carolyn Schwarz (Editors)
Call Number: BR 1480 .C57 2016 ( a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9789004217232
Publication Date: 2016
Cultural expressions of Christianity show great diversity around the globe. While scholarship has tended to consider charismatic practices in distinct geographical contexts, this volume advances the anthropology of Christianity through ethnographically rich, comparative insights from across the Australia-Pacific region. "Christianity, Conflict, and Renewal in Australia and the Pacific" presents new perspectives on the performative dynamics of Christian belief, conflict, and renewal. Addressing experiences of cultural and spiritual renewal, contributors reveal how tensions can arise between spiritual and political expressions of culture and identity, opening up alternative spaces for spiritual realization and religious change. These local processes further mobilize responses of individuals and groups to state forces and political reforms, in turn, influencing the shape of translocal and transnational Christian practices.

Cover Art
Deep blue : critical reflections on nature, religion and water - Sylvie Shaw & Andrew Francis (Editors)
Call Number: BL 65 .N35 D44 2008
ISBN: 9781845532550
Publication Date: 2008
Nature religions look to rivers, lakes and oceans for inspiration and spiritual transformation. 'Deep Blue' brings together the work of influential scholars in the field of nature religion, ranging across anthropology, mythology, sociology and psychology. The essays examine the interrelationship between spiritual practice, critical thinking, and environmental concern. Tracing the ancient history of humanity's close relationship with both salt and fresh water, the book calls for a sustainable relationship with water in contemporary western culture. 'Deep Blue' will be of interest to students of paganism and religion, environmental researchers and activists, and all those involved in the intersection between religion and ecology.

Cover Art
Democracy and social peace in divided societies : exploring consociational parties - Bogaards, Matthijs
Call Number: JF 2051 .B64 2014
ISBN: 9781403998231
Publication Date: 2014
This unique comparative study examines minority representation and powersharing in Canada, Kenya, South Africa, Fiji, India, Malaysia, and Yugoslavia. Presenting a new concept of the 'consociational party', Bogaards explores how diversity differs within parties and why it matters for social peace and democracy.

Cover Art
Dive Truk Lagoon : the Japanese WWII Pacific shipwrecks - Macdonald, Rod
Call Number: D 767 .99 .T78 M33 2014
ISBN: 9781849951319
Publication Date: 2014
Truk Lagoon is quite simply the greatest wreck diving location in the world. Scores of virtually intact large WWII wrecks filled with cargoes of tanks, trucks, artillery, beach mines, shells and aircraft rest in the crystal clear waters of the Lagoon—each a man-made reef teeming with life. Truk was the main forward anchorage for the Japanese Imperial Navy and merchant fleet during the early days of WWII. The lagoon had been fortified by the Japanese in great secrecy during the 1930s—the Allies knew little about it. In total secrecy Operation Hailstone was prepared: nine U.S. carriers holding more than 500 combat aircraft steamed towards Truk—supported by a screen of battleships, cruisers, destroyers and submarines. Before dawn on 17 February, Strike Groups of 12 Hellcat fighters swept in low towards Truk under Japanese radar and immediately began strafing Japanese airfields. Soon, hundreds of aircraft were involved in one of the largest aerial dogfights of WWII which was over within an hour.

Cover Art
Drinking : anthropological approaches - Igor and Valerie de Garine (Editors)
Call Number: GT 2880 .D75 2001
ISBN: 9781571818096
Publication Date: 2001
Over the last decades quite a few studies have been devoted to drinking. Most of these were concerned with alcohol and written by social anthropologists. This book presents multidisciplinary aspects of the ingestion of liquids at large, addressing many of the overt and covert meanings of drinking: from satisfying biological needs to communicating with humans and the hereafter, attempting to reach a differential emotional state or seeking good health and longevity through the ingestion of appropriate beverages. It includes papers from both biological and social scientists and covers a fair range of societies from rural and urban environments, and in continents and countries ranging from Europe, Africa, and Latin America to Malaysia and the Pacific.

Cover Art
Gauguin : tales from paradise - Line Clausen Pedersen and Friborg, Flemming (Editors)
Call Number: ND 553 .G27 A44 2015 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9788866482949
Publication Date: 2015
Drawing upon a refined selection of over eighty masterpieces, the catalogue and the exhibition it accompanies explore the entire career of the restless French artist Gauguin, analysing the primitive tendency as ideology, as an artistic practice, and lastly as a heritage of vast importance for the development of painting through the entire 20th century. Although Paul Gauguin is known mainly for his Polynesian adventures during the years of his maturity, his search for the primitive was actually a lifelong search intended to attain a sole objective: the renewal of figuration and of all its canons.

Cover Art
Global evangelicalism : theology, history and culture in regional perspective - Donald M. Lewis and Richard V. Pierard (Editors)
Call Number: BR 1640 .G56 2014
ISBN: 9780830840571
Publication Date: 2014
Evangelicalism is not merely a North American religiously charged ideology that dominates the popular mind. Over the last century, evangelicalism has taken on global proportions. It has spread from its northern heartlands and formed burgeoning new centers of vibrant life in the global South. Alongside Islam, it is now arguably the most important and dynamic religious movement in the world today. This tectonic shift has been closely watched by some scholars of religion, though it is merely a ghost in our international news stories. Now, in Global Evangelicalism a gathering of front-rank historians of evangelicalism offer conceptual and regional overviews of evangelicalism, as well as probings of its transdenominationalism and views of gender.

Cover Art
Hidden economy : Māori in the privatised military industry - Bargh, Maria
Call Number: HV 8290 .B37 2015
ISBN: 9781775501978
Publication Date: 2015
The Maori economy is often defined simply by the contributions of Maori in New Zealand in the areas of farming, fisheries and forestry. This book explores the ways that Maori in the privatised military industry contribute in monetary and non-monetary ways to the Maori economy. Workers in the privatised military industry very rarely, if ever, give interviews about their work or details about their pay. However, this book includes five interviews with Maori who have worked or are still working in the privatised military industry and explores how they articulate themselves as Maori in the industry, giving a glimpse at this secret world and how Maori operate in it.

Cover Art
Home : here to stay - Marilyn McPherson, Mere Kēpa and Linitā Manuʻatu (Editors)
Call Number: HD 7287 .H66 2015 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781775502081
Publication Date: 2015
This is a collection of twelve academic essays that consider understandings of home and the impact of dominant societies on indigenous societies and their homes. The book covers home and language preservation, homelessness, retention of land, tobacco use in the home, loss of home through trauma and natural disaster, ageing and health, and the meaning of home. This is the third book in the Nga Pae o te Maramatanga Edited Collections series. Previous titles include vol. 1 Maori and Social Issues and vol. 2 The Value of the Maori Language.

Cover Art
Human development and capacity building : Asia Pacific trends, challenges and prospects for the future - Maria Fay Rola-Rubzen and John Burgess (Editors)
Call Number: HQ 1240 .5 .P16 H86 2016
ISBN: 9781138843707
Publication Date: 2016
Capacity building looks at developing the infrastructure, institutions and people and is critical to the development and participation of humans in the economy and society. Capacity building ranges from schools, roads and hospitals through to health and welfare systems, education, communication and information sharing, participation and voice, governance and opportunity. This book aims to outline the nature and scale of the capacity building challenges facing countries in the Asia Pacific region. Human Development and Capacity Building presents case studies from selected countries with an emphasis on rural development and programs that enhance opportunity and participation in the economy. It focuses on issues arising from women development in Pakistan, indigenous union voice in the French Pacific, job creation programs in Indonesia and the role of international aid and labour agencies in capacity building in Myanmar.

Cover Art
Into the river - Dawe, Ted
Call Number: PR 9639 .4 .D39 I58 2016 ( a copy is also available in Leisure Reading)
ISBN: 9781943818198
Publication Date: 2016
"Some rivers should not be swum in. Some rivers hold secrets that can never be told." Te Arepa is an adventurous Maori boy, bound to the history, customs and rituals of his people. Yet when he comes upon a giant eel while fishing, he is convinced the creature is a taniwha, or water demon, and follows it. Yet what Te Arepa finds in the river is far different, far more sinister. And it will change his life forever. Te Arepa has always been curious about experiencing life beyond his tribe. His wishes seem granted when he is awarded a scholarship at a prestigious boarding school, far away from the Maori. Leaving behind his family and their traditions, Te Arepa sets out to discover a strange new world with customs of its own...as well as new enemies. When he arrives at school, Te Arepa finds the freedom and everything it offers intoxicating. But to fit in, he realizes that he must shed his identity, culture, and even his name. And he comes to realize that what the water demon showed him in the darkness of the river that day changed him, and that freedom comes with a heavy price.

Cover Art
Land, indigenous peoples and conflict - Alan Tidwell and Barry Scott Zellen (Editors)
Call Number: JZ 4974 .L36 2016
ISBN: 9781138847637
Publication Date: 2016
Land, Indigenous Peoples and Conflict presents an original comparative study of indigenous land and property rights worldwide. The book explores how the ongoing constitutional, legal and political integration of indigenous peoples into contemporary society has impacted on indigenous institutions and structures for managing land and property. This book details some of the common problems experienced by indigenous peoples throughout the world, providing lessons and insights from conflict resolution that may find application in other conflicts including inter-state and civil and sectarian conflicts. An interdisciplinary group of contributors present specific case material from indigenous land conflicts from the South Pacific, Australasia, South East Asia, Africa, North and South America, and northern Eurasia. These regional cases discuss issues such as modernization, the evolution of systems and institutions regulating land use, access and management, and the resolution of indigenous land conflicts, drawing out common problems and solutions.

Cover Art
Landscape of peace : mechanisms of social control on Lamotrek Atoll, Micronesia - Werle, Kerstin J. S.
Call Number: HQ 1865 .7 .W47 2014
ISBN: 9783658058319
Publication Date: 2014
Kerstin Werle’s work is based upon a year of fieldwork on Lamotrek and Yap, belonging to a group of islands with a matrilineal culture. Although a trend to the lifestyle of the Western world can be found everywhere on the islands, traditional customs, a gendered division of labour and subsistence techniques prevail. Kerstin Werle carried out her research according to classical anthropological methods, supplementing the available specialist literature on the widespread Micronesian atolls with a valuable overview. Her book shows how the ideal of an old and wise woman, contained in the cultural symbol lavalava, is faced with a young society. Due to the extremely limited space on the small atolls, individual plots of land have become historically, culturally and emotionally significant places, all of which have been ascribed their own individual character. With the help of these personalized places, people on Lamotrek pursue local politics.

Cover Art
Living with biodiversity in an island ecosystem : cultural adaptation in the Solomon Islands - Furusawa, Takuro
Call Number: GF 852 .S6 F87 2016
ISBN: 9789812879028
Publication Date: 2016
This book presents a detailed case study of ecological and cultural interactions between the people and their natural environment at Roviana Lagoon, Solomon Islands, a land of rich biodiversity. This volume documents the subsistence lifestyle of the people and their indigenous ecological knowledge, analyzes the effects of recent socioeconomic changes on the people and ecosystem, and proposes future directions for sustainability. The contents have been designed to answer questions such as, “What kinds of factors have determined whether current human actions are sustainable or will result in a collapse of biocultural diversity in the Solomon Islands?”; “How do Solomon Islanders recognize nature and biodiversity conservation in traditional ways or under socioeconomic changes?”; and “How can harmony between humans and nature be achieved in the Solomon Islands under changing socioeconomic conditions?”

Cover Art
Mana wai water - Daniels, N. M.
Call Number: PR 9655 .9 .D36 M36 2011 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9780977144747
Publication Date: 2011
Thirteen year-old Pita Serau has a secret. Ever since the day he almost drowned, he can get the ocean do his bidding, just by making a wish on a little blue stone. But each wish is coming true at the cost of hurting someone he loves. Other strange things are happening as well. The fish are disappearing from his coastal village in Fiji and the weather is erratic. Could these events really be his fault, just like everyone is whispering? Or is the magical blue rock actually cursed? But when Pita chooses to make a selfless wish, his world is turned upside down. Stories that were once mere legends are suddenly all too real as he discovers he has unwittingly resurrected a catastrophic curse. And, to his horror, he has drawn the attention of a dark and dangerous ancestor, Bakaloa, he who still seeks the power of the stone and will do anything to get it. Now, Pita must make a choice - face his destiny and find a way to defeat his adversary and break the curse, or keep the stone for himself and pay a cost that is higher than he ever could have imagined.

Cover Art
Māori and Parliament : diverse strategies and compromises - Maria Bargh (Editor)
Call Number: DU 423 .P63 2010
ISBN: 9781869694050
Publication Date: 2010
A series of essays by Maori politicians and political scientists about the trials and tribulations of being Maori and a member of parliament.

Cover Art
New World and Pacific civilizations : cultures of America, Asia, and the Pacific - Göran Burenhult (Editor)
Call Number: GN 303 .N49 1993
ISBN: 9780062502698
Publication Date: 1994
Images of awesome ruins and beautiful yet powerfully eerie artifacts serve as a prelude to the fourth volume in the Illustrated History of Humankind series. The focus here shifts to the development of cultures in Mesoamerica, the Andes, Japan, the Pacific Islands, and North America, with an impressive group of scholars seizing the opportunity to present their latest findings. Overall, the very readable text pays ample attention to the indigenous people who populated these regions and to the evolution of the various civilizations. Numerous illustrations--stunning photographs of major archaeological sites, descriptive maps, and reproductions of artwork, ritual objects, and stunning crafts--enliven and enrich the survey, which concludes with a glossary of terms. Alice Joyce

Cover Art
Pacific strife : the great powers and their political and economic rivalries in Asia and the Western Pacific 1870-1914 - Dijk, Kees van
Call Number: DS 33 .5 .D55 2015 ( a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9789089644206
Publication Date: 2015
In the late 1800s and early 1900s, colonial powers clashed over much of Central and East Asia: Great Britain and Germany fought over New Guinea, the Bismarck Archipelago, Fiji, and Samoa; France and Great Britain competed over control of continental Southwest Asia; and the United States annexed the Philippines and Hawaii. Meanwhile, the possible disintegration of China and Japan’s growing nationalism added new dimensions to the rivalries. Surveying these and other international developments in the Pacific basin during the three decades preceding World War I, Kees van Dijk traces the emergence of superpowers during the colonial race and analyzes their conduct as they struggled for territory. Extensive in scope, Pacific Strife is a fascinating look at a volatile moment in history.

Cover Art
Sunset to sunrise [videorecording] = Ingwartentyele - arrerlkeme - Director, Allan Collins; sound recording, David Tranter; editor, Dean Curtis; translators, Louise Cavanagh, Doreen McCormack; Composers/musicians, Swainson Rion, Steven Tranter
Call Number: GN 667 .N67 S86 2006
Publication Date: 2006
By the light of a comforting campfire, Rupert Max Stuart, a 77-year old Arrernte Mat-utjarra Elder and custodian of the Alice Springs area, offers poignant words of wisdom to a young generation.
Max speaks directly to his people, and chastises them for the irresponsible nature of their lives, whereby the importance of culture is forsaken for white manś poison, or alcohol; sometimes with nostalgic reflections on traditional culture and sense of community.

Cover Art
The big nine : human rights conventions and related human rights documents - Regional Rights Resource Team (RRRT) of the Secretariat of the Pacific Community
Call Number: JC 599 .O3 B54 2014 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9789820008595
Publication Date: 2014
The publication is a one-stop-shop for international human conventions and other related documents. It will also be useful for human rights advocates, civil society representatives and policy makers who seek to draw on international human rights law as a tool for initiating change in governance, policy and legislation, as well as in traditional and cultural practices in their own countries.

Cover Art
The changing South Pacific : identities and transformations - Serge Tcherkézoff and Françoise Douaire-Marsaudon (Editors)
Call Number: GN 663 .C54 2008
ISBN: 9781921536144
Publication Date: 2008
The texts collected in this volume take an anthropological approach to the variety of contemporary societal problems which confront the peoples of the contemporary South Pacific: religious revival, the sociology of relations between local groups, regions and nation-States, the problem of culture areas, the place of democracy in the transition of States founded on sacred chiefdoms, the role of ceremonial exchanges in a market economy, and so forth. Each chapter presents a society seen from a specific point of view, but always with reference to the issue of collective identity and its confrontation with history and change.

Cover Art
The Good Neighbour : Australian peace support operations in the Pacific Islands, 1980-2006 - Breen, Bob
Call Number: JZ 6377 .O3 B74 2016 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781107019713
Publication Date: 2016
The Good Neighbour explores the Australian government's efforts to support peace in the Pacific Islands from 1980 to 2006. It tells the story of the deployment of Australian diplomatic, military and policing resources at a time when neighbouring governments were under pressure from political violence and civil unrest. The main focus of this volume is Australian peacemaking and peacekeeping in response to the Bougainville Crisis, a secessionist rebellion that began in late 1988 with the sabotage of a major mining operation. Following a signed peace agreement in 2001, the crisis finally ended in December 2005, under the auspices of the United Nations. During this time Australia's involvement shifted from behind-the-scenes peacemaking, to armed peacekeeping intervention, and finally to a longer-term unarmed regional peacekeeping operation. Granted full access to all relevant government files, Bob Breen recounts the Australian story from decisions made in Canberra to the planning and conduct of operations.

Cover Art
The Laughing Samoans : A small Samoan wedding [videorecording] - Ete, Maiava Eteuati ; Fepulea'i, Tofiga
Call Number: PN 1969 .C65 S63 2005 (a copy is also available in the AVR Collection)
Publication Date: 2005
"A small Samoan wedding is the latest offering from The Laughing Samoans comedy duo of Eteuati Ete and Tofiga Fepulea.ơi. The show premiered on the 22nd October 2004 at Auckland Girls Grammer School where more than twelve hundred people saw it. It was performed in the Memorial Theatre, Victoria University Wellington a week later where it sold-out and returned to the Wellington Opera House on the 27th November where this video was recorded"--Container.

Cover Art
The Laughing Samoans : Choka-Block [videorecording] - Ete, Maiava Eteuati ; Fepulea'i, Tofiga
Call Number: PN 1969 .C65 C46 2010 (a copy is also available in the AVR Collection)
Publication Date: 2010
"Choka Block is the seventh DVD The Laughing Samoans have released. This DVD was recorded at the Concert Hall of the Queensland Performing Arts Centre (QPAC) in Brisbane, Australia on Saturday 26th June 2010"--Container.

Cover Art
The Laughing Samoans : Fobulous [videorecording] - Ete, Maiava Eteuati ; Fepulea'i, Tofiga
Call Number: PN 1969 .C65 L38 2013 (a copy is also available from the AVR Collection)
Publication Date: 2013
Fobulous is a comedy show presented on DVD. Individually, they are Eteuati Ete and Tofiga Fepulea. Together they are the Laughing Samoans. The first show they ever did was a show called Laughing With Samoans back in February 2003. That show was such a success that they abbreviated and adopted the name - the Laughing Samoans. Since then they have completed and toured a new show every year playing to packed houses throughout New Zealand, Australia, the Pacific and North America.

Cover Art
The Laughing Samoans : funny chokers [videorecording] - Ete, Maiava Eteuati ; Fepulea'i, Tofiga
Call Number: PN 1969 .C65 L38 2012 (a copy is also available in the AVR Collection)
Publication Date: 2012
"Comedy at its freshest" -- Container
"Co-produced by The Laughing Samoans Ltd, Double E Productions"--Container.
Recorded at the Queensland Performing Arts Centre in Brisbane, Australia in 2012.

Cover Art
The Laughing Samoans : off work : live at QPAC, Queensland Performing Arts Centre, Brisbane, Australia [videorecording] - Ete, Maiava Eteuati ; Fepulea'i, Tofiga
Call Number: PN 1969 .C65 O34 2007 (a copy is also available in the AVR Collection)
Publication Date: 2007
"Off work is the latest from the team that brought you Laughing Samoans, A Small Samoan Wedding and Old School. This was recorded in the Concert Hall of QPAC in Brisbane Australia on Saturday 29th September '07. Includes bonus footage of the Laughing Samoans on tour and behind the scenes"--Container.

Cover Art
The Laughing Samoans [videorecording]proudly present : Prettyfull woman - Ete, Maiava Eteuati ; Fepulea'i, Tofiga
Call Number: PN 1969 .C65 L38 2010 (a copy is also available in the AVR Collection)
Publication Date: 2010
"This is the sixth DVD the Laughing Samoans have released..."--Container.
"Co-produced by The Laughing Samoans Ltd, Double E Productions"--Container.
Recorded at the TelstraClear Pacific Events Centre, Auckland, New Zealand on Saturday 8th of August 2009.

Cover Art
The Laughing Samoans in : Crack me off [videorecording] - co-produced by The Laughing Samoans Ltd and Double E Productions
Call Number: PN 1969 .C65 C73 2008 (a copy is also available in the AVR Collection)
Publication Date: 2008
"Crack Me Off is the fifth DVD the Laughing Samoans has released. This show was recorded at the Concert Hall of QPAC in Brisbane, Australia on Saturday 6th September 2008. Includes bonus footage of the Laughing Samoans in London"--Container.

Cover Art
The Laughing Samoans present : greatest hits [videorecording] - Ete, Maiava Eteuati ; Fepulea'i, Tofiga
Call Number: PN 1969 .C65 L38 2011 (a copy is also available in the AVR Collection)
Publication Date: 2011
Special features: The Laughing Samoans Hawaii tour 2011 ; Christchurch visit.
"Featuring the funniest of the funny!"--Container.
Co-produced by The Laughing Samoans Ltd, Double E Productions"--Container.
Recorded at the Concert Hall of the Queensland Performing Arts Centre in Brisbane, Australia on Friday 14th October 2011

Cover Art
The Levuka journal 1866 to 1888 - Breheret, Jean-Baptiste ; translated from the French by John Crispin
Call Number: BX 1691 .F5 B74 2016 (a copy is also available in the General Collection).
ISBN: 9789825060093
Publication Date: 2016
This book is the third in a series of books on the history of the Catholic Church in Fiji from 1844 to 1888: from the arrival of the first missionaries in Lakeba until the appointment of Bishop Vidal as the first resident bishop in Fiji. these were the days of the pioneers, and looming large for all of this time was Fr. Jean-Baptiste Breheret.

Cover Art
The mission of Our Lady of the Seven Sorrows : the letters and journal of the Marist priests in Lakeba, Lau, Fiji 1844 to 1855 - Roulleaux, Francois ; Breheret, Jean-Baptiste ; translated from the French by John Crispin
Call Number: BX 1691 .F5 R68 2015 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9789829808929
Publication Date: 2015
Catholic Missionaries first arrived in Fiji in 1844, and established a mission station at Lakeba in Lau. Until 1851 it was the only station in Fiji. The Lakeba Mission was finally closed in July 1855, after nearly eleven years of promise and dashed hopes: new converts made, but nearly all of them became Wesleyans, as the chiefs wanted unity of religion as part of the unity of the vanua. This si a story of hopes raised, and hopes dashed, a story of sickness, hunger, discouragement and perseverance.

Cover Art
The political economy of small tropical islands : the importance of being small - Helen M. Hintjens and Malyn D.D. Newitt (Editors)
Call Number: HC 695 .P65 1992
ISBN: 9780859893725
Publication Date: 1992
This book is a comparative study of a number of dependent and independent tropical islands and archipelagos. Its contributors seek to answer a number of vital questions affecting the security, political status and economic development of some of the world's smallest and most remote communities.

Cover Art
The Routledge handbook of bioarchaeology in Southeast Asia and the Pacific Islands - Marc Oxenham and Hallie Buckley (Editors)
Call Number: CC 79 .5 .H85 R68 2015
ISBN: 9781138778184
Publication Date: 2015
The volume is divided into two broad sections, one dealing with mainland and island Southeast Asia, and a second section dealing with the Pacific islands. A multi-scalar approach is employed to the bio-social dimensions of Southeast Asia and the Pacific islands with contributions alternating between region and/or site specific scales of operation to the individual or personal scale. The more personal level of osteobiographies enriches the understanding of the lived experience in past communities. Including a number of contributions from sub-disciplinary approaches tangential to bioarchaeology the book provides a broad theoretical and methodological approach. Providing new information on the globally relevant topics of farming, population mobility, subsistence and health, no other volume provides such a range of coverage on these important themes.

Cover Art
The savage shore : extraordinary stories of survival and tragedy from the early voyages of discovery - Seal, Graham
Call Number: GR 365 .S43 2016 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9780300220414
Publication Date: 2016
For centuries before the arrival in Australia of Captain Cook and the so-called First Fleet in 1788, intrepid seafaring explorers had been searching, with varied results, for the fabled “Great Southland.” In this enthralling history of early discovery, Graham Seal offers breathtaking tales of shipwrecks, perilous landings, and Aboriginal encounters with the more than three hundred Europeans who washed up on these distant shores long before the land was claimed by Cook for England. The author relates dramatic, previously untold legends of survival gleaned from the centuries of Dutch, Spanish, Portuguese, French, and Indonesian voyages to Australia, and debunks commonly held misconceptions about the earliest European settlements: ships of the Dutch East Indies Company were already active in the region by the early seventeenth century, and the Dutch, rather than the English, were probably the first European settlers on the continent.

Cover Art
The struggle for Māori fishing rights : te ika a Māori - Bargh, Brian
Call Number: DU 423 .F5 B37 2016 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781775501961
Publication Date: 2016
Maori fishing rights were guaranteed by the Treaty of Waitangi, taken away by Crown actions, and, along with Maori land rights and other grievances, contested throughout the 1970s and 1980s. Finally, after years of struggle in the courts, through the Waitangi Tribunal and in protests, Maori fishing rights were restored. This book claims that four pou or elements significantly assisted in the recognition and eventual recovery of Maori fishing rights: The Treaty of Waitangi; the courts; The Waitangi Tribunal and the resilience and tenacity of Maori people, who never gave up fighting for what was right. The author argues that the strong tradition of fairness and justice in New Zealand society provided a platform for Maori and Pakeha to support the four pou and address the injustices that included not only a denial of Maori fishing rights but also a large number of others.

Cover Art
Thinking about political things : an Aristotelian approach to Pacific life - Murray, Andrew Peter
Call Number: JC 71 .A7 M87 2016 (also available in CD-ROM format)
ISBN: 9781925232981
Publication Date: 2016
Andrew Murray offers us an ingenious and humane reading of Aristotle's Politics. He presents the Politics as its author intended it to be received, as a work that clarifies how we must think about political matters and order our civic communities if we are to bring out the best in our humanity. He does this by blending classical political philosophy with the concerns of contemporary political societies of the Pacific islands: the chapters of the book move back and forth between Aristotle and life in Melanesia, Polynesia, and Micronesia. Murray acknowledges the sharp difference between the classical city and the modern state, and shows what we who live in modern states are in danger of losing if we abandon Aristotle for Hobbes.

Cover Art
Underwater archaeology of a Pacific battlefield : the WWII Battle of Saipan - Jennifer F. McKinnon, Toni L. Carrell (Editors)
Call Number: CC 77 .U5 2015 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9783319166780
Publication Date: 2015
Battlefields have been the object of fascination for millions of tourists and the subjects of elaborate interpretation projects. This volume will outline the process and results of developing the WWII Maritime Heritage Trail: Battle of Saipan Project. T́́his book will provide examples of how a group of archaeologists, managers and a community took a specific battle and transformed it from a collection of unknown archaeological sites into a comprehensive storied battlescape that reflects the individuals and actions of those who were involved. It will provide an in-depth view of current maritime archaeological research on submerged battlefield sites, the development of a WWII battlefield maritime heritage trail, as well as the problems and solutions of such an effort. It will cover subjects such as: heritage and dark tourism-conflict or battlefield archaeology-public interpretation, and community engagement.

Cover Art
Vulnerability of Pacific Island agriculture and forestry to climate change - Mary Taylor, Andrew McGregor and Brian Dawson (Editors)
Call Number: QC 903 .2 .O3 V85 2016 (a copy is also available at PIMRIS)
ISBN: 9789820008823
Publication Date: 2016
This research highlights the underlying resilience of Pacific agriculture to climate change, particularly for many of the region’s staple food crops. It identifies a range of potential response measures that could be implemented to significantly reduce exposure to climate-related risks and enable the Pacific Community to better cope with emerging impacts.

Cover Art
Wayfinding leadership : ground-breaking wisdom for developing leaders - Spiller, Chellie ; Barclay-Kerr, Hoturoa ; Panoho, John
Call Number: HD 57 .7 .S65 2015 ( a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781775502111
Publication Date: 2015
This book presents a new way of leading by looking to traditional waka navigators or wayfinders for the skills and behaviours needed in modern leaders. It takes readers on a journey into wayfinding and leading, discussing principles of wayfinding philosophy, giving examples of how these have been applied in businesses and communities, and providing action points for readers to practise and reflect on the skills they are learning.

Cover Art
Wirriya [videorecording] : small boy - writer/director [and camera] Beck Cole ; producers, Beck Cole and Citt Williams
Call Number: GN 667 .N67 W57 2004
Publication Date: 2004
This documentary explores the world of a young Aboriginal boy, Ricco - a cheeky, bright and adventurous seven-year-old. Originally from Tennant Creek, he now lives with his foster mother, Maudie Nelson, in a small Aboriginal community, Hidden Valley community, nestled on the outskirts of Alice Springs, Central Australia. In his own words, Ricco tells the story of an ordinary day in his life. Includes contributions from other participants featured in the film.

Cover Art
ʻO fāiā faʻatūmua o Sāmoa mai tala o le vavau = a text for the advanced study of Samoan language and culture - Simanu, 'Aumua Mata'itusi
Call Number: PL 6501 .P37 2011
ISBN: 9780980045994
Publication Date: 2011
More so than most other Polynesian languages, the Samoan language is highly stratified. The common spoken form of Samoan used among friends and peers, for example, would be inappropriate for public speaking at both traditional and non-traditional gatherings. At these kinds of events, Gagana Fa'aaloalo (Respect Language) and Gagana Fa'afailauga (Chiefly Language/Oratory) are used. Both of these speech registers interweave into the language references to Samoan history, genealogies, and, more recently, the Christian bible. The first book in this series, 'o si manu a ali'i, was written primarily to provide linguistic background for these registers. This second book, 'O Faia Fa'atumua o Samoa mai Tala o le Vavau, provides the core knowledge necessary to understand the high level of interplay in Samoan oratory between language and history.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Shirley Devi
Contact Info
Phone: (+679) 32 32285
Send Email
What section of the Library do you work in?
Pacific Collection

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sofie Kubuwai
Contact Info
323 2380
Send Email
 
Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
© Copyright 2004 - 2013. All Rights Reserved.
The University of the South Pacific
Laucala Campus, Suva, Fiji
Tel: +679 323 1000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip