This is the "This month's new books" page of the "New titles in the Pacific Collection (April 2017)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
The University of the South Pacific
Library
 

New titles in the Pacific Collection (April 2017)  

Last Updated: May 18, 2017 URL: http://usp.ac.fj.libguides.com/pacnewtitles-april17 Print Guide RSS Updates
This month's new books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New items in the Pacific Collection

Here are the new books, journals and DVDs added to the Pacific Collection recently. These items are now available to be borrowed for 3 hours and used in the Pacific Collection Reading Room.

In some cases, there may be another copy of a title in the General collection or the Audio Visual Room (AVR)  for regular checkout. This is noted in the description where applicable.

 

Cover Art
'Some friends came to see us' : Lord Moyne's 1936 expedition to the Asmat - Stanley, Nick
Call Number: DU 744 .35 .A82 S736 2016
ISBN: 9780861592067
Publication Date: 2016
Walter Edward Guinness (1880–1944), the first Lord Moyne, was an Anglo-Irish politician, businessman and explorer. Travelling across the globe in his private yacht in search for ethnographic material, Lord Moyne visited South Papua three times in 1929, 1935 and 1936. Unlike previous explorers of New Guinea, Lord Moyne and his group travelled along the rivers much further inland, and were able to make sustained contact with several groups of villages, engaging in performances and bartering for a range of objects that included shields and other carvings. Many of these objects were brought back to the British Museum as a means to address the severe lack of representation of South Papuan art and handicraft in the collection for which the area is renowned. Using the most advanced equipment to hand, Lord Moyne’s party took some of the first photographs of the indigenous Asmat people. The wide-ranging series of photographs taken by his companion Lady Vera Broughton provide a unique account of indigenous Asmat life and culture at the time immediately prior to colonisation. many of which are published here for the first time.

Cover Art
A Fiji diary : reminiscences and reflections of a newsman - Kumar, Vijendra
Call Number: PN 5639 .F5 K86 2016 (other copies available in General collection)
ISBN: 9780646957395
Publication Date: 2016
Vijendra Kumar is a former editor of The Fiji times. In this collection of essays, he has captured the life of Fiji in its pages with several memorable portraits, From Ratu Sir Kamisese Mara, Fiji's first Prime Minister, to the current Prime Minister, Voreqe Bainimarama of Fiji First Party. In between there are other characters who, for good or ill, contributed dramatically to Fiji's growth and disasters. They make their entrances and exits in a tempestuous island country. Kumar has given us glimpses of an extraordinary journey of an individual whose one unforgettable home remains the Home of Island Memories.

Cover Art
A practice of anthropology : the thought and influence of Marshall Sahlins - Alex Golub, Daniel Rosenblatt, John D. Kelly (Editors)
Call Number: GN 345 .P73 2016 (a copy is also available in the General collection)
ISBN: 9780773546882
Publication Date: 2016
Marshall Sahlins (b. 1930) is an American anthropologist who played a major role in the development of anthropological theory in the second half of the twentieth century. Over a sixty-year career, he and his colleagues synthesized trends in evolutionary, Marxist, and ecological anthropology, moving them into mainstream thought. Sahlins is considered a critic of reductive theories of human nature, an exponent of culture as a key concept in anthropology, and a politically engaged intellectual opposed to militarism and imperialism. This collection brings together some of the world’s most distinguished anthropologists to explore and advance Sahlins’s legacy. All of the essays are based on original research, most dealing with cultural change - a major theme of Sahlins’s research, especially in the contexts of Fijian and Hawaiian societies. Like Sahlins’s practice of anthropology, these essays display a rigorous, humanistic study of cultural forms, refusing to accept comfort over accuracy, not shirking from the moral implications of their analyses.

Cover Art
Birds of New Guinea : distribution, taxonomy, and systematics - Beehler, Bruce M. & Pratt, Thane K.
Call Number: QL 691 .N48 B44 2016
ISBN: 9780691164243
Publication Date: 2016
New Guinea, the largest tropical island, supports a spectacular bird fauna characterized by cassowaries, megapodes, pigeons, parrots, kingfishers, and owlet-nightjars, as well as the iconic birds of paradise and bowerbirds. Of the nearly 800 species of birds recorded from New Guinea, more than 350 are found nowhere else on Earth. This comprehensive annotated checklist of distribution, taxonomy, and systematics of the birds of New Guinea is the first formal review of this avifauna since Ernst Mayr's Checklist, published in 1941. This new book brings together all the systematic, taxonomic, and distributional research conducted on the region's bird families over the last 70 years. Bruce Beehler and Thane Pratt provide the scientific foundation for the names, geographic distributions, and systematic arrangement of New Guinea's bird fauna.

Cover Art
Brokers and boundaries : colonial exploration in indigenous territory - Tiffany Shellam, Maria Nugent, Shino Konishi and Allison Cadzow (Editors)
Call Number: DU 124 .F57 B76 2016 (a copy is also available in General Collection)
ISBN: 9781760460112
Publication Date: 2016
Colonial exploration continues, all too often, to be rendered as heroic narratives of solitary, intrepid explorers and adventurers. This edited collection contributes to scholarship that is challenging that persistent mythology. With a focus on Indigenous brokers, such as guides, assistants and mediators, it highlights the ways in which nineteenth-century exploration in Australia and New Guinea was a collective and socially complex enterprise. Many of the authors provide biographically rich studies that carefully examine and speculate about Indigenous brokers’ motivations, commitments and desires. All of the chapters in the collection are attentive to the specific local circumstances as well as broader colonial contexts in which exploration and encounters occurred.

Cover Art
Circulating cultures : exchanges of Australian Indigenous music, dance and media - Amanda Harris (Editor)
Call Number: HN 843.5 .C57 2014
ISBN: 9781925022193
Publication Date: 2014
Circulating Cultures is an edited book about the transformation of cultural materials through the Australian landscape. The book explores cultural circulation, exchange and transit, through events such as the geographical movement of song series across the Kimberley and Arnhem Land; the transformation of Australian Aboriginal dance in the hands of an American choreographer; and the indigenisation of symbolic meanings in heavy metal music. Circulating Cultures crosses disciplinary boundaries, with contributions from historians, musicologists, linguists and dance historians, to depict shifts of cultural materials through time, place and interventions from people.

Cover Art
Collaborative and indigenous mental health therapy : Tātaihono, stories of Māori healing and psychiatry - NiaNia, Wiremu ; Bush, Allister & Epston, David
Call Number: RA 790 .7 .N7 N53 2017 (a copy is also available in General Collection)
ISBN: 9781138230286
Publication Date: 2017
This book examines a collaboration between traditional Māori healing and clinical psychiatry. Comprised of transcribed interviews and detailed meditations on practice, it demonstrates how bicultural partnership frameworks can augment mental health treatment by balancing local imperatives with sound and careful psychiatric care. In the first chapter, Māori healer Wiremu NiaNia outlines the key concepts that underpin his worldview and work. He then discusses the social, historical, and cultural context of his relationship with Allister Bush, a child and adolescent psychiatrist. The main body of the book comprises chapters that each recount the story of one young person and their family’s experience of Māori healing from three or more points of view: those of the psychiatrist, the Māori healer and the young person and other family members who participated in and experienced the healing.

Cover Art
Colonization and the origins of humanitarian governance : protecting aborigines across the nineteenth-century British empire - Lester, Alan & Dussart, Fae
Call Number: DA 18 .L47 2014 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781107007833
Publication Date: 2014
How did those responsible for creating Britain's nineteenth-century settler empire render colonization compatible with humanitarianism? Avoiding a cynical or celebratory response, this book takes seriously the humane disposition of colonial officials, examining the relationship between humanitarian governance and empire. The story of 'humane' colonial governance connects projects of emancipation, amelioration, conciliation, protection and development in sites ranging from British Honduras through Van Diemen's Land and New South Wales, New Zealand and Canada to India. It is seen in the lives of governors like George Arthur and George Grey, whose careers saw the violent and destructive colonization of indigenous peoples at the hands of British emigrants. The story challenges the exclusion of officials' humanitarian sensibilities from colonial history and places the settler colonies within the larger historical context of Western humanitarianism.

Cover Art
Dispossession and the environment : rhetoric and inequality in Papua New Guinea - West, Paige
Call Number: DU 740 .42 .W47 2016 (a copy is also available in General Collection)
ISBN: 9780231178792
Publication Date: 2016
When journalists, developers, surf tourists, and conservation NGOs cast Papua New Guineans as living in a prior nature and prior culture, they devalue their knowledge and practice, facilitating their dispossession. Paige West's searing study reveals how a range of actors produce and reinforce inequalities in today's globalized world. She shows how racist rhetorics of representation underlie all uneven patterns of development and seeks a more robust understanding of the ideological work that capital requires for constant regeneration.

Cover Art
Gender violence and human rights : seeking justice in Fiji, Papua New Guinea and Vanuatu - Aletta Biersack, Margaret Jolly & Martha Macintyre (Editors)
Call Number: HQ 1237 .5 .F5 G46 2016 (other copies available in General Collection)
ISBN: 9781760460709
Publication Date: 2016
The postcolonial states of Fiji, Papua New Guinea and Vanuatu operate today in a global arena in which human rights are widely accepted. As ratifiers of UN treaties such as the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women and the Convention on the Rights of the Child, these Pacific Island countries have committed to promoting women’s and girls’ rights, including the right to a life free of violence. Yet local, national and regional gender values are not always consistent with the principles of gender equality and women’s rights that undergird these globalising conventions. This volume critically interrogates the relation between gender violence and human rights as these three countries and their communities and citizens engage with, appropriate, modify and at times resist human rights principles and their implications for gender violence. Grounded in extensive anthropological, historical and legal research, the volume should prove a crucial resource for the many scholars, policymakers and activists who are concerned about the urgent and ubiquitous problem of gender violence in the western Pacific.

Cover Art
Global sustainable development report 2015 : climate change and sustainable development : assessing progress of regions and countries - The Energy and Resources Institute
Call Number: QC 903 .G563 2015
ISBN: 9780199459179
Publication Date: 2015
A complex issue of global concern, dealing with climate change has emerged as the most defining challenge of the present, for the sustainable development of the future. Increasing emission of greenhouse gases (GHGs), rising temperature, and the resulting changes in rainfall pattern, melting glaciers, rising sea level, and extreme climatic events are having profound impacts on almost every aspect of life on earth-water, food, human settlements, health, and risks of disasters-requiring a multidimensional approach for mitigation and adaptation at all levels and in all sectors. While scientific assessments of climate risks have made tremendous advances in the recent years, there is hardly any progress in mitigating the emissions of GHGs and adapting to the impacts of climate change, as agreed in the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change of 1992.

Cover Art
Icons of evolution : Pacific Island tree-snails of the family Partulidae - Gerlach, Justin
Call Number: QL 430 .5 .P15 G472 2016
ISBN: 9780993220340
Publication Date: 2016
The partulid tree-snails of the Pacific Islands are today best known for their tragic recent history. Following the introduction of predatory snails a third of partulid species are now extinct and almost all others threatened with extinction. As most of these extinctions took place in a 20 year period this is one of the most dramatic rates of extinction ever recorded. Before Partula became icons of extinction, they were central to the development of our understanding of evolutionary biology. This started with the pioneering field studies of evolution by Henry Crampton in 1908 and led to laboratory genetics studies of the inheritance of genetic traits. Crampton’s great work on Partula was unfinished by the time of his death. This book marks the centenary of the publication of Crampton’s first volume by completing his work, and updates it with a full revision of the taxonomy, and comprehensive accounts of what is known of the history, ecology, evolution and conservation of the family.

Cover Art
In the eye of the beholder : what six nineteenth-century women tell us about indigenous authority and identity - Dawson, Barbara
Call Number: DU 115 .D39 2014 (a copy is also available at General Collection)
ISBN: 9781925021967
Publication Date: 2014
This book offers a fresh perspective in the debate on settler perceptions of Indigenous Australians. It draws together a suite of little known colonial women (apart from Eliza Fraser) and investigates their writings for what they reveal about their attitudes to, views on and beliefs about Aboriginal people, as presented in their published works. The way that reader expectations and publishers’ requirements slanted their representations forms part of this analysis. All six women write of their first-hand experiences on Australian frontiers of settlement.

Cover Art
Indigenous spiritualities at work : transforming the spirit of enterprise - Chellie Spiller, University of Auckland, Rachel Wolfgramm, University of Auckland (Editors)
Call Number: GN 380 .I532 2015 (a copy is also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781681231563
Publication Date: 2015
A volume in Advances in Workplace Spiritualities: Theory, Research, and Application Series Editor Louis W. (Jody) Fry, Texas A&M University - Central Texas Are you intrigued by ancient wisdom traditions? Do you ever wonder if they have any relevance in today's world? How do Indigenous ways of being and doing balance wealth creation and well-being? How might Indigenous peoples define success? What are Indigenous spiritualities? How is Spiritualities manifested in Indigenous organizations today? These questions have intrigued us for many years. As a consequence, we invited scholars from around the world to contribute to a ground-breaking book, Indigenous spiritualities at work: transforming the spirit of business enterprise, to explore these questions from different worldviews. A key focus of this book is how Indigenous spiritual approaches revitalize identities and relationships within the workplace. However, the notion of workplace is not narrow, as it includes communities of engagement and practice in ecologies of creativity and enterprise in the broadest sense. This enables Indigenous spiritualties at work to be explored from diverse perspectives, disciplines, cultures and sectors

Cover Art
International institutions in world history : divorcing international relations theory from the state and stage models - Schouenborg, Laust
Call Number: JZ 4850 .S36 2017 (a copy is also available in General Collection)
ISBN: 9781138221628
Publication Date: 2017
This book presents a case for a basic reorientation of International Relations away from the state and towards the study of social institutions in the sense of patterned practices, ideas and norms/rules. IR has always suffered from a parochial occupation with the state and the Western system of state. Its main theories revolve around these phenomena, and have resulted in the reification of the state: it has been turned into an essential actor, with certain immutable and fundamental properties that remain constant throughout time. A list of these properties usually includes territorial limits, centralisation, monopolisation of violence and exclusive loyalties. International Institutions in World History shows how the state is an inherently modern phenomenon, a modern social institution, and that foundational concepts in IR should be based on a full appreciation of the wider record of human existence on earth, trans-historically and cross-culturally. Schouenborg argues that these social institutions may be captured via a universal functional typology consisting of four categories: legitimacy and membership; regulating conflicts; trade; and governance.

Cover Art
Ngapartji, ngapartji = In turn in turn : ego-histoire, Europe and indigenous Australia - Vanessa Castejon, Anna Cole, Oliver Haag and Karen Hughes (Editors)
Call Number: GN 666 .N53 2014 (a copy is also available in General Collection)
ISBN: 9781925021721
Publication Date: 2014
In this innovative collection, Indigenous and non-Indigenous scholars from Australia and Europe reflect on how their life histories have impacted on their research in Indigenous Australian Studies. Drawing on Pierre Nora’s concept of ego-histoire as an analytical tool to ask historians to apply their methods to themselves, contributors lay open their paths, personal commitments and passion involved in their research. Why are we researching in Indigenous Studies, what has driven our motivations? How have our biographical experiences influenced our research? And how has our research influenced us in our political and individual understanding as scholars and human beings?

Cover Art
Pacific Science: A quarterly Devoted to the biological and physical sciences of the Pacific region
Call Number: QH1 .P2
Publication Date: Vol.71, No.1, January 2017
Article titles:
1. Range Expansion of the Small Carpenter Bee Ceratina smaragdula across the Hawaiian Archipelago with Potential Ecological Implications for Native Pollinator Systems. 2. Sedimentary Carbon and Nitrogen Dynamics Reveal Impact of Human Land-Use Change on Kawainui Marsh, O‘ahu, Hawai‘i. 3. First Limnological Characterization of Crater Lake Billy Mitchell (Bougainville Island, Papua New Guinea). 4. Feeding Microhabitat Use and Selectivity of Juvenile Mugil cephalus (Actinopterygii: Mugilidae) in a Hawaiian Stream. 5. Diet of the Volcano Keyhole Limpet Fissurella volcano (Gastropoda: Fissurellidae) in Subtropical Rocky Reefs of the Baja California Peninsula. 6. An Updated Avifauna of Moku‘ae‘ae Rock Islet, Kaua‘i. 7. New Species of Stylasterid (Cnidaria: Hydrozoa: Anthoathecata: Stylasteridae) from the Northwestern Hawaiian Islands. 8. New Records of Butterflies (Lepidoptera) from the Federated States of Micronesia with Remarks on Geographic Variation in Hypolimnas bolina (Linnaeus). 9. Gastrointestinal Helminths from Eight Species of Cyrtodactylus Lizards (Squamata: Gekkonidae) from Peninsular Malaysia and Two Species from Vietnam.

Cover Art
Photovoltaics for rural electrification in developing countries : a road map - Urmee, Tania, Harries, David, Holtorf, Hans-Gerhard
Call Number: TK 1087 .U76 2016 (a copy is also available in USP Gen)
ISBN: 9783319037882
Publication Date: 2016
The evidence suggests that many solar programs are being designed and implemented in isolation and without reliance on published guidelines or the experience gained by others. The conclusion is obvious: the likelihood of a program being successful would be greatly improved if program implementers were made more aware of best practice guidelines and of the lessons and experience learned by others in implementing previous programs. Furthermore, the best practice guidelines not only need to be readily available but need to describe the stages, issues and the stakeholders’ roles in designing and implementing a SHS program. This book showcases a detailed road map that has been developed for the implementation of rural electrification projects in developing countries using solar PV. Features of this book will be case studies derived from personal participatory observation of the authors on Solar Home Systems, their impact, their advantages and disadvantages and their operation.

Cover Art
Plantes remarquables du Vanuatu : Mélanésie Océanie = Remarkable plants of Vanuatu : Melanesia Oceania - Ramon, Laurence ; Sam, Chanel
Call Number: QK 473 .V25 R36 2015 (other copies available)
ISBN: 9780893275440
Publication Date: 2015
This guide to the remarkable flora of the South Pacific island nation of Vanuatu aims to raise awareness of Vanuatu's plant diversity and the conservation issues facing it. The 236 plants included were selected for their outstanding or specific characters (e.g., large fruit, beautiful flowers, stinging foliage), significant properties (medicinal or ornamental use), or because they are commonly encountered. Some rarer and less commonly encountered species were included because of their vulnerability or endemism (found nowhere else but Vanuatu or surrounding areas). All species are illustrated with beautiful color drawings that allow for easy identification. The text accompanying the illustrations points to additional identification characters. The book is bilingual English/French and is co-published by The New York Botanical Garden Press and Biotope.

Cover Art
Political and constitutional reform opens the door : The Kingdom of Tonga's path to democracy - Powles, Guy
Call Number: JQ 6321 .A2 P69 2013 (copies are also availble in general collection)
ISBN: 9789820109049
Publication Date: 2013
This book gives an up-to-date account of Tonga?s new political and constitutional regime, while offering insights into the thinking and decision-making that contributed to its development. The author, a constitutional lawyer with a long association with Tonga, reviews the main constitutional reforms of 2009-10, together with subsequent developments during three years of the term of the first elected government. After a century of stable government by a royal dynasty under one of the world?s oldest living constitutions, the need for change became apparent. Agents for change included pro-democracy activists, the late King Tupou V and Prime Minister Sevele, leading to the introduction of reforms that dramatically opened the door to the development of a Tongan model of parliamentary democracy.

Cover Art
Sailing for survival : a comparative report of the trading systems and trading canoes of the Bel people in the Madang area and of the Motu people in the Port Moresby area of Papua New Guinea - Mennis, Mary R.
Call Number: HD 3435 .P3 M46 2015
ISBN: 9789980879813
Publication Date: 2015
Sailing for Survival is a comparative study of the trading systems and canoes of two groups of people in Papua New Guinea: the Bel people of Bilbil/Yabob on the North Coast, near Madang and the Motu people on the South Coast, near Port Moresby. There is now no doubt that they shared a common ancestry in West New Britain. They both belong to Austronesian language groups but had no contact with each other on their trade routes, separated as they were by twisting coastlines and rugged mountain ranges, nor did any trade items [apart from obsidian] pass from one trading zone to the other for over two thousand years. Yet the trade systems they developed independently have an amazing array of commonality harking back to their common ancestry in the Bismarck Archipelago.

Cover Art
The Fijian colonial experience : a study of the neotraditional order under British colonial rule prior to World War II - Macnaught, Timothy J.
Call Number: DU 600 .7 .M34 2016 (a copy is also available in the General collection)
ISBN: 9781921934353
Publication Date: 2016
Indigenous Fijians were singularly fortunate in having a colonial administration that halted the alienation of communally owned land to foreign settlers and that, almost for a century, administered their affairs in their own language and through culturally congenial authority structures and institutions. From the outset, the Fijian Administration was criticised as paternalistic and stifling of individualism. But for all its problems it sustained, at least until World War II, a vigorously autonomous and peaceful social and political world in quite affluent subsistence — underpinning the celebrated exuberance of the culture exploited by the travel industry ever since. First published 1982 by The Australian National University.

Cover Art
The gently bowing person : an ideal among the Yupno in Papua New Guinea - Wassmann, Jürg
Call Number: DU 740 .42 .W377 2016
ISBN: 9783825366223
Publication Date: 2016
This in-depth ethnography presents new and otherwise not easily accessible results of thirty years of anthropological field research among the Yupno people of Papua New Guinea. Anthropological studies about cultures in the Finisterre Range, where the Yupno live, have been quite scarce, and this comprehensive monograph about a local knowledge system offers an important contribution to this hitherto ethnographically little-known area. Ideas about personhood, including a unique personal melody as an individual's acoustic representation and sign of social belonging, and cultural conceptualisations of time and space are the main topics of this book. Following a strictly interdisciplinary approach, a cross-cultural psychologist, an anthropologist, a linguist, cognitive scientists and a musicologist participated in this study. These diverse forms and intensities of collaboration are mirrored in the distinctive structure of this book, with an emphasis on co-authored chapters to represent the joint research experience.

Cover Art
The gift - Mauss, Marcel
Call Number: GT 3040 .M38 2016
ISBN: 9780990505006
Publication Date: 2016
Scan down a list of essential works in any introduction to anthropology course and you are likely to see to see Marcel Mauss’s masterpiece, Essay on the Gift. With this new translation, this crucial essay is returned to its original context, published alongside the profound works that framed its first publication in the 1923–24 issue of L’Année Sociologique. With a critical foreword by Bill Maurer, this is certain to become the standard English version of this important anthropological work. Included alongside the “Essay on the Gift” are Mauss’s memorial accounts of the work of colleagues lost during World War I, as well as his scholarly reviews of influential contemporaries such as Franz Boas, James George Frazer, Bronislaw Malinowski, Alfred Radcliffe-Brown, and others. Read in the context of these additional pieces, the “Essay on the Gift” is revealed as a complementary whole, a gesture of both personal and political generosity: his honor for his fallen colleagues; his aspiration for modern society’s recuperation of the gift as a mode of repair; and his own careful, yet critical, reading of his intellectual milieu.

Cover Art
The great canoes in the sky : starlore and astronomy of the South Pacific - Chadwick, Stephen Robert ; Paviour-Smith, Martin
Call Number: QB 63 .C53 2017 (a copy is also available in the General collection)
ISBN: 9783319226224
Publication Date: 2017
Presenting spectacular photographs of astronomical objects of the southern sky, all taken by author Stephen Chadwick, this book explores what peoples of the South Pacific see when they look up at the heavens and what they have done with this knowledge. From wives killing brothers to emus rising out of the desert and great canoes in the sky, this book offers the perfect blend of science, tradition and mythology to bring to life the most famous sights in the heavens above the southern hemisphere. The authors place this starlore in the context of contemporary understandings of astronomy. The night sky of southern societies is as rich in culture as it is in stars. Stories, myths and legends based on constellations, heavenly bodies and other night sky phenomena have played a fundamental role in shaping the culture of pre-modern civilizations throughout the world.

Cover Art
Transformations of gender in Melanesia - Martha Macintyre, Ceridwen Spark (Editors)
Call Number: GN 668 .T736 2017 (other copies available in General Collection)
ISBN: 9781760460884
Publication Date: 2017
The chapters in this volume began as papers at the State of the Pacific conference at The Australian National University in 2014. My own contribution there was a simple reflection on the ideas of change and transition in gender relations in Papua New Guinea, the country in which I have conducted most of my research. In introducing the chapters I have retained many of my initial observations about transformations of gender relations in Papua New Guinea, but have attempted to draw comparisons in order to illustrate broad themes that have been the subjects of inquiry and the markers of changing gender distinctions in Melanesia. The concepts of change, transformation and transition are imbued with ideas of development and progress—notions themselves that have been subject to criticism for being redolent of colonial ideologies. Whether we consider Melanesian modernity and the move of Melanesia into a globalised world to be ‘progress’ or a further instance of neo-colonialism, many people in this region now live in towns and work in paid employment or worry about their inability to do so. They communicate using mobile phones and the internet; they debate women’s rights and roles in society, drawing upon discourses of human rights and the goals of United Nations agencies.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Shirley Devi
Contact Info
Phone: (+679) 32 32285
Send Email
What section of the Library do you work in?
Pacific Collection

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sofie Kubuwai
Contact Info
323 2380
Send Email
 
Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
© Copyright 2004 - 2013. All Rights Reserved.
The University of the South Pacific
Laucala Campus, Suva, Fiji
Tel: +679 323 1000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip