This is the "This month's new books" page of the "New titles in the Pacific Collection April 2016" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
The University of the South Pacific
Welcome to the Library
 

New titles in the Pacific Collection April 2016   Tags: pacific collection new resources  

Last Updated: Sep 4, 2016 URL: http://usp.ac.fj.libguides.com/pacnewtitles-april16 Print Guide RSS Updates
This month's new books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New items in the Pacific Collection

Here are the titles added to the Pacific Collection this month and are now available for borrowing and use in the Pacific Collection Reading Room.

In some cases, there may be another copy of a title in the General Collection or the Audio Visual Room (AVR)  for regular checkout. This is noted in the description where applicable.

 

Cover Art
A Companion to Heritage Studies - William Logan; Ullrich Kockel; Máiréad Nic Craith (Editors)
Call Number: CC 135 .C66 2016
ISBN: 9781118486665
Publication Date: 2015
"A Companion to Heritage Studies" is a comprehensive, state-of-the-art survey of the interdisciplinary study of cultural heritage. Featuring a substantial framework-setting essay by the editors and contributions from an international array of scholars, including some with extensive experience in heritage practice through UNESCO, World Heritage Centre, ICOMOS and national heritage systems, this Companion offers a cutting-edge guide to this emergent and increasingly important field that is global in scope, cross-cultural in focus and critical in approach. The selected essays have been innovatively organized into three sections on the expansion, use and abuse, and the recasting of heritage. The Companion covers all of the key themes in research, including old and new outlooks on cultural heritage and its management, heritage as a form of cultural politics, emergence of critical heritage studies, the role of heritage in times of rapid change and conflict, heritage in environmental protection, the rise of intangible heritage, museums and digital heritage, World Heritage and tourism, and heritage ethics and human rights.

Cover Art
Alchemy in the rain forest : politics, ecology, and resistance in a New Guinea mining area - Jerry K. Jacka
Call Number: DU 740 .9 .P66 J33 2015 (a copy also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9780822359791
Publication Date: 2015
In "Alchemy in the Rain Forest" Jerry K. Jacka explores how the indigenous population of Papua New Guinea's highlands struggle to create meaningful lives in the midst of extreme social conflict and environmental degradation. Drawing on theories of political ecology, place, and ontology and using ethnographic, environmental, and historical data, Jacka presents a multilayered examination of the impacts large-scale commercial gold mining in the region has had on ecology and social relations. Despite the deadly interclan violence and widespread pollution brought on by mining, the uneven distribution of its financial benefits has led many Porgerans to call for further development. This desire for increased mining, Jacka points out, counters popular portrayals of indigenous people as innate conservationists who defend the environment from international neoliberal development. Jacka's examination of the ways Porgerans search for common ground between capitalist and indigenous ways of knowing and being points to the complexity and interconnectedness of land, indigenous knowledge, and the global economy in Porgera and beyond.

Cover Art
Climate change and tourism in the Asia Pacific - Bruce Prideaux; Bob McKercher; Karen McNamara (Editors)
Call Number: G 155 .A74 C55 2014
ISBN: 9780415740500
Publication Date: 2014
Climate change will exert an enormous impact on all societies in the medium to long term. Tourism, as both a commercial activity and social phenomenon is not immune. To date, industry has been slow to recognise the scale of the threat posed by a changing climate on its operations and consumers have been extremely reluctant to modify their travel behaviours. The Asia Pacific region is well on the way to being the 21st Century powerhouse of tourism, however the manner in which it develops will, in part, be determined by how the global community responds to climate change. This book examines climate change issues related to tourism in the Asia Pacific region. The book also calls for a more effective linking of social science research with the scientific discourse to create long term resolution of and adaptation to this issue.

Cover Art
Colonial contexts and postcolonial theologies : storyweaving in the Asia-Pacific - Mark G. Brett; Jione Havea (Editors)
Call Number: BT 83 .593 .C65 2014 (a copy also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781137475466
Publication Date: 2014
"This collection of essays presents a balanced mix of theological contributions on scripture, gender studies, ecology, inculturation, history, law, and missiology. What makes them distinctive are the perspectives from which they are written. The perspectives are one of empowerment which has transformed the formerly voiceless into strong advocates for justice, which runs throughout the work not as theory, but as clearly articulated aim." - Paula Sampson, Director, Indigenous Studies Centre, Vancouver School of Theology, Canada

Cover Art
Colonisation and development in New Zealand between 1769 and 1900 : the seeds of rangiatea - Ian Pool
Call Number: DU 423 .P66 2015
ISBN: 9783319169033
Publication Date: 2015
This book details the interactions between the Seeds of Rangiatea, New Zealand’s Maori people of Polynesian origin, and Europe from 1769 to 1900. It provides a case-study of the way Imperial era contact and colonization negatively affected naturally evolving demographic/epidemiologic transitions and imposed economic conditions that thwarted development by precursor peoples, wherever European expansion occurred. In doing so, it questions the applicability of conventional models for analyses of colonial histories of population/health and of development.

Cover Art
Contextualizing the pedagogy of English as an international language : issues and tensions - Christine Manara; Nugrahenny T. Zacharias (Editors)
Call Number: PE 1128 .A2 C66 2013
ISBN: 9781443851251
Publication Date: 2013
Among the growing number of publications on promoting English as an International Language (EIL), little has been written on the complexities that the EIL paradigm has brought to the teaching and learning of English in the classroom. This text seeks to address this deficit in the literature by bringing together narratives of the realities that EIL practitioners encountered in their diverse teaching contexts, including Indonesia, the Pacific islands, USA, and Australia; the struggles, tensions, dilemmas, and quests of living as EIL practitioners in specific teaching contexts and wider English communities in general are all explored in this book. It explores pedagogical practices, understandings, and challenges surrounding the implementation of EIL pedagogy and principles in contexts where English is traditionally described as a second language or foreign language. The book provides theoretical and contextual knowledge for practicing teachers and teacher educators seeking to understand and explore the teaching and learning realities of implementing EIL in the classroom.

Cover Art
Cross-cultural encounters in modern world history - Jon T. Davidann; Marc Jason Gilbert
Call Number: DA 20 .D38 2013 (a copy also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9780205532667
Publication Date: 2013
Cross-Cultural Encounters in Modern World History explores cultural contact as an agent of change. It takes an encounters approach to world history since 1500, rather than a political one, to reveal different perspectives and experiences as well as key patterns and transformations. The text focuses on first encounters that suggest long-term developments and particularly significant encounters that have changed the direction of world history. A chapter on Polynesian encounters with Euro-Americans.

Cover Art
Debt and development in small island developing states - Damien King; David F. Tennant (Editors)
Call Number: HJ 8899 .D438 2014 (a copy also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781137397126
Publication Date: 2014
Review: "In the context of the continued global fallout from the triple food, fuel, and financial crisis along with impending and increasingly likely climate change crisis, this book examines a fifth crisis facing SIDS the burden of increasingly unsustainable debt. This is the first book to provide a comprehensive analysis of the debt experiences of SIDS in the Caribbean, Pacific and AIMS regions. The depth of analysis, combined with the richness of the narratives provide much scope for drawing lasting lessons on debt accumulation and management from and for SIDS. The book thoroughly and comprehensively addresses the causes, mechanisms, and consequences of the debt in the most indebted and vulnerable countries in the world, and then proposes a deep and far-reaching set of proposals to deal with the problem..." - Lino Briguglio, Professor of Economics and Director, Islands and Small States Institute, University of Malta

Cover Art
Ethnographies in Pan Pacific research : tensions and positionings - Robert E. Rinehart; elke emerald; Rangi Matamua (Editors)
Call Number: GN 590 .E84 2015
ISBN: 9781138857070
Publication Date: 2015
The book is about exciting ethnographic happenings in the vibrant and growing global interface which includes Australia, New Zealand, and some of the Asian geographical regions, as well as - more broadly - the global South. It explores ethnographic writing as culture(s) (re)produced, positionalities of authors, tensions between authors and others, multi-faceted groups, and as co-productions of these works. The contributors discuss a variety of topical areas of interest, from Facebook to memory work, from children's sexuality to urban racism, from meanings of Indigenous knowledge to how communities can come together to retain what is valuable to themselves. The authors manage to locate themselves and others (positionings) in the research hierarchies (tensions). This is a valuable guide to the effects of 21st-century ethnography on the qualitative research project.

Cover Art
Fijian Reference Grammar - Albert Schütz
Call Number: PL 6235 .1 .S382 2014 (copies also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781499257885
Publication Date: 2014
This book is based on over fifty years of research on the Fijian language--both the standard language and its many dialects. It does not attempt to follow any particular linguistic theory, but in contrast, focuses heavily on describing the language in context. The data that it is based on include material written and spoken by Fijians--ranging from the advice offered by the author's colleagues in the Fijian (monolingual) Dictionary Project to Fijian-language newspapers and textbooks, to recordings of loanwords and casual conversations, and--most recently--the text and DVD of a recent Fijian play, Lakovi. It differs significantly from other grammars in its treatment of subjects and objects (and the noun phrases related to them), and how they figure in a grammatical category called "specification." This category is also important for reanalyzing the function of noun phrases within the areas of transitivity and possession. The treatment of phonology is centered on a unit of accent called the "measure." It is shown that, contrary to even recent treatments, accent is not predictable, but is instead dependent on putting different kinds of measures together. It also studies, for the first time, the relationship between morphemes and measures--the degrees to which they correspond or differ. Finally, it makes a beginning at discussing different styles of Fijian, reflected by both phonology and the lexicon.

Cover Art
Global implications of development, disasters and climate change : responses to displacement from Asia Pacific - Susanna Price; Jane Singer (Editors)
Call Number: HB 2093 .A3 G56 2015 (a copy also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781138838178
Publication Date: 2015
Displacements in the Asia Pacific region are escalating. The region has for decades experienced more than half of the world’s natural disasters and, in recent years, a disproportionately high share of extreme weather-related disasters, which displaced 19 million people in 2013 alone. This volume offers an innovative and thought-provoking Asia-Pacific perspective on an intensifying global problem: the forced displacement of people from their land, homes, and livelihoods due to development, disasters and environmental change. A case study on the Pacific’s Banaba resettlement.

Cover Art
Handbook of ocean resources and management - Hance D. Smith; Juan Luis Suárez de Vivero; Tundi S. Agardy (Editors)
Call Number: GC 1015 .2 .R68 2015 (a copy also available in the PIMRIS Collection)
ISBN: 9780415531757
Publication Date: 2015
This comprehensive handbook provides a global overview of ocean resources and management by focusing on critical issues relating to human development and the marine environment, their interrelationships as expressed through the uses of the sea as a resource, and the regional expression of these themes. The underlying approach is geographical, with prominence given to the biosphere, political arrangements and regional patterns – all considered to be especially crucial to the human understanding required for the use and management of the world's oceans. Part one addresses key themes in our knowledge of relationships between people and the sea on a global scale, including economic and political issues, and understanding and managing marine environments. Part two provides a systematic review of the uses of the sea, grouped into food, ocean space, materials and energy, and the sea as an environmental resource. Part three on the geography of the sea considers management strategies especially related to the state system, and regional management developments in both core economic regions and the developing periphery.

Cover Art
In the absence of the gift : new forms of value and personhood in a Papua New Guinea community - Anders Emil Rasmussen
Call Number: DU 740 .4 .R37 2015
ISBN: 9781782387817
Publication Date: 2015
By adopting ideas like 'development,' members of a Papua New Guinean community find themselves continuously negotiating what can be expected of a relative or a community member. Nearly half the people born on the remote Mbuke Islands become teachers, businessmen, or bureaucrats in urban centers, while those who stay at home ask migrant relatives 'What about me?' This detailed ethnography sheds light on remittance motivations and documents how terms like 'community' can be useful in places otherwise permeated by kinship. As the state withdraws, Mbuke people explore what social ends might be reached through involvement with the cash economy.

Cover Art
Indigenous studies and engaged anthropology : the collaborative moment - Paul Sillitoe (Editor)
Call Number: GN 380 .I535 2015 (a copy also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781409445418
Publication Date: 2015
Advancing the rising field of engaged or participatory anthropology that is emerging at the same time as increased opposition from Indigenous peoples to research, this book offers critical reflections on research approaches to-date. The engaged approach seeks to change the researcher-researched relationship fundamentally, to make methods more appropriate and beneficial to communities by involving them as participants in the entire process from choice of research topic onwards. The aim is not only to change power relationships, but also engage with non-academic audiences.The advancement of such an egalitarian and inclusive approach to research can provoke strong opposition. Some argue that it threatens academic rigour and worry about the undermining of disciplinary authority. Others point to the difficulties of establishing an appropriately non-ethnocentric moral stance and navigating the complex problems communities face. Drawing on the experiences of Indigenous scholars, anthropologists and development professionals acquainted with a range of cultures, this book furthers our understanding of pressing issues such as interpretation, transmission and ownership of Indigenous knowledge, and appropriate ways to represent and communicate it.

Cover Art
Island Kingdom : Tonga ancient and modern (3rd ed) - Ian Campbell
Call Number: DU 880 .C36 2015 (copies also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781927145692
Publication Date: 2015
The book is a comprehensive, up-to-date, authoritative and readable account of Tongan society from its origins 3000 years ago to the present. It discusses its archaeology, the development of traditional society, and the transition of that society to modernity. Social change, economic development and political change are dominant themes. Modern Tonga was molded by dramatic changes in the nineteenth century during which the population converted to Christianity, and a formal state was established under a written constitution. Tonga is less isolated, more prosperous and yet seemingly more troubled now than at any time in its history.

Cover Art
Legal Dissonance : the interaction of criminal law and customary law in Papua New Guinea - Shaun Larcom
Call Number: KWH 46 .7 .L37 2015
ISBN: 9781782386483
Publication Date: 2015
Papua New Guinea's two most powerful legal orders - customary law and state law -undermine one another in criminal matters. This phenomenon, called legal dissonance, partly explains the low level of personal security found in many parts of the country. This book demonstrates that a lack of coordination in the punishing of wrong behavior is both problematic for legal orders themselves and for those who are subject to such legal phenomena Legal dissonance can lead to behavior being simultaneously promoted by one legal order and punished by the other, leading to injustice, and, perhaps more importantly, undermining the ability of both legal orders to deter wrongdoing.

Cover Art
Niue 1774-1974 : 200 years of contact and change - Margaret Pointer
Call Number: DU 430 .N5 P652 2015 (copies also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781877578953
Publication Date: 2015
Tiny Niue lies alone in the South Pacific, a single island with formidable cliffs rising from the deep ocean. Far from the main shipping routes and with a daunting reputation, “Savage Island” did not naturally invite visitors. Yet Niue has a surprisingly rich history of contact, from the brief landings by James Cook in 1774 through to the 19th-century visits by whalers, traders, and missionaries, and into the 20th century when New Zealand extended its territory to include the Cook Islands and Niue. To date, this story has not been told. Using a wide range of archival material from Niue, New Zealand, Australia, and Britain, Margaret Pointer places Niue center stage in an entertaining and thoroughly readable account of this island nation through to 1974, when Niue became self-governing. As important as the written story is the visual record, and many remarkable images are published here for the first time.

Cover Art
Pacific Blitzkrieg : World War II in the central Pacific - Sharon Tosi Lacey
Call Number: D 767 .L33 2013 (a copy also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781574415254
Publication Date: 2013
Winner of the Army Historical Foundation Distinguished Writing Award, 2014. Pacific Blitzkrieg closely examines the planning, preparation, and execution of ground operations for five major invasions in the Central Pacific (Guadalcanal, Tarawa, the Marshalls, Saipan, and Okinawa). The commanders on the ground had to integrate the US Army and Marine Corps into a single striking force, something that would have been difficult in peacetime, but in the midst of a great global war, it was a monumental task. Yet, ultimate success in the Pacific rested on this crucial, if somewhat strained, partnership and its accomplishments. Despite the thousands of works covering almost every aspect of World War II in the Pacific, until now no one has examined the detailed mechanics behind this transformation at the corps and division level. Sharon Tosi Lacey makes extensive use of previously untapped primary research material to re-examine the development of joint ground operations, the rapid transformation of tactics and equipment, and the evolution of command relationships between army and marine leadership. Lacey examines the Smith vs. Smith controversy during the Saipan invasion using newly discovered primary source material. Saipan was not the first time General “Howlin’ Mad” Smith had created friction. Lacey reveals how Smith’s blatant partisanship and inability to get along with others nearly brought the American march across the Pacific to a halt.

Cover Art
Paradise of the Pacific : approaching Hawaiʻi - Susanna Moore
Call Number: DU 627 .M66 2015
ISBN: 9780374298777
Publication Date: 2015
The history of Hawaii may be said to be the story of arrivals―from the eruption of volcanoes on the ocean floor 18,000 feet below, the first hardy seeds that over millennia found their way to the islands, and the confused birds blown from their migratory routes, to the early Polynesian adventurers who sailed across the Pacific in double canoes, the Spanish galleons en route to the Philippines, and the British navigators in search of a Northwest Passage, soon followed by pious Protestant missionaries, shipwrecked sailors, and rowdy Irish poachers escaped from Botany Bay―all wanderers washed ashore, sometimes by accident. This is true of many cultures, but in Hawaii, no one seems to have left. And in Hawaii, a set of myths accompanied each of these migrants―legends that shape our understanding of this mysterious place. In Paradise of the Pacific, Susanna Moore, pieces together the elusive, dramatic story of late-eighteenth-century Hawaii―its kings and queens, gods and goddesses, missionaries, migrants, and explorers―a not-so-distant time of abrupt transition, in which an isolated pagan world of human sacrifice and strict taboo, without a currency or a written language, was confronted with the equally ritualized world of capitalism, Western education, and Christian values.

Cover Art
Religion, anthropology, and cognitive science - Harvey Whitehouse; James Laidlaw
Call Number: BL 256 .R45 2007
ISBN: 9781594601071
Publication Date: 2007
This book examines longstanding debates in the anthropology of religion concerning the connections between ritual and meaning, belief, politics, emotion, development, and gender. But it examines these old topics from a radically new perspective: that of the cognitive science of religion. As such the volume identifies potential solutions to established problems but it also sets out a program for future research in the field. The volume includes a substantial introduction from Harvey Whitehouse and James Laidlaw who highlight the connections between key issues in the history of religious anthropology and the latest findings of scientific psychology. This volume, they argue, presents us with potential solutions to old problems but also with a series of new and exciting challenges.

Cover Art
Security, law and borders : at the limits of liberties - Tugba Basaran
Call Number: JC 571 .B37 2010
ISBN: 9780415570251
Publication Date: 2010
This book focuses on security practices, civil liberties and the politics of borders in liberal democracies. In the aftermath of 9/11, security practices and the denial of human rights and civil liberties are often portrayed as an exception to liberal rule, and seen as institutionally, legally and spatially distinct from the liberal state. Drawing upon detailed empirical studies from migration controls, such as the French waiting zone, Australian off-shore processing and US maritime interceptions, this study demonstrates that the limitation of liberties is not an anomaly of liberal rule, but embedded within the legal order of liberal democracies. The most ordinary, yet powerful way, of limiting liberties is the creation of legal identities, legal borders and legal spaces. It is the possibility of limiting liberties through liberal and democratic procedures that poses the key challenge to the protection of liberties. Includes material of Pacific interest.

Cover Art
Shifting cultivation and environmental change : indigenous people, agriculture and forest conservation - Malcolm F. Cairns (Editor)
Call Number: S 589 .75 .S55 2015
ISBN: 9780415746038
Publication Date: 2015
Shifting cultivation is one of the oldest forms of subsistence agriculture and is still practised by millions of poor people in the tropics. Typically it involves clearing land (often forest) for the growing of crops for a few years, and then moving on to new sites, leaving the earlier ground fallow to regain its soil fertility. This book brings together the best of science and farmer experimentation, vividly illustrating the enormous diversity of shifting cultivation systems as well as the power of human ingenuity. Some critics have tended to disparage shifting cultivation (sometimes called 'swidden cultivation' or 'slash-and-burn agriculture') as unsustainable due to its supposed role in deforestation and land degradation. However, the book shows that such indigenous practices, as they have evolved over time, can be highly adaptive to land and ecology. In contrast, 'scientific' agricultural solutions imposed from outside can be far more damaging to the environment and local communities. The book focuses on successful agricultural strategies of upland farmers, particularly in south and south-east Asia.

Cover Art
Southern anthropology: a history of Fison and Howitt's Kamilaroi and Kurnai - Helen Gardner; Patrick McConvell
Call Number: GN 17 .3 .P16 G37 2015
ISBN: 9781137463807
Publication Date: 2015
Southern Anthropology, the history of Fison and Howitt's Kamilaroi and Kurnai is the biography of Kamilaroi and Kurnai (1880) written from both a historical and anthropological perspective. Southern Anthropology investigates the authors' work on Aboriginal and Pacific people and the reception of their book in metropolitan centres.

Cover Art
Southern Asia, Australia, and the search for human origins - Robin Dennell; Martin Porr (Editors)
Call Number: GN 281 .S68 2014 (a copy also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781107017856
Publication Date: 2014
This is the first book to focus on the role of Southern Asia and Australia in our understanding of modern human origins and the expansion of Homo sapiens between East Africa and Australia before 30,000 years ago. With contributions from leading experts that take into account the latest archaeological evidence from India and Southeast Asia, this volume critically reviews current models of the timing and character of the spread of modern humans out of Africa. It also demonstrates that the evidence from Australasia should receive much wider and more serious consideration in its own right if we want to understand how our species achieved its global distribution. Critically examining the "Out of Africa" model, this book emphasizes the context and variability of the global evidence in the search for human origins.

Cover Art
Sovereignty Referendums in International and Constitutional Law - lker Gökhan Sen
Call Number: KZ 4041 .S46 2015
ISBN: 9783319116464
Publication Date: 2015
This book focuses on sovereignty referendums, which have been used throughout different historical periods of democratization, decolonization, devolution, secession and state creation. Referendums on questions of sovereignty and self-determination have been a significant element of the international political and legal landscape since the French Revolution, and have been a central element in the resolution of territorial issues from the referendum in Avignon in 1791 until today. More recent examples include Quebec, East Timor, New Caledonia, Puerto Rico and South Sudan. The global aim of this book is to achieve a better empirical and legal understanding of sovereignty referendums and related problems in international and national law and politics. Accordingly, it presents readers a comprehensive study of sovereignty referendums from the perspectives of both international and constitutional law.

Cover Art
Sport in the Pacific : colonial and postcolonial consequences - C. Richard King (Editor)
Call Number: GV 706 .5 .S662 2014 (a copy also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781138015876
Publication Date: 2014
Sport in the Pacific is a comparative consideration of the modern movement of Pacific peoples and their physical pursuits across national and cultural boundaries. It covers Australia, Japan and the United States. Its contributors ensure a deeper understanding of the indigenous peoples of the Pacific—particularly their social identities and cultural responses in the wake of the arrival of modern sport. Sport in the Pacific comprises eight original contributions which analyze Polynesian and Abogirnal athletes and athletics in colonial and post-colonial contexts. Their analyses stress the importance of adaptation and appropriation, reinvention and revivialism, as well as diaspora and globalization. The volume will have three overlapping themes: change and continuity, cultural and transcultural power, and the complexity of race, gender, and national identity. Sport in the Pacific, in short, compares the significance of modern sport in a largely ignored setting: the indigenous societies of the Pacific.

Cover Art
String figures as Mathematics? : an anthropological approach to string figure-making in oral tradition societies - Eric Vandendriessche
Call Number: QA 11 .V36 2015
ISBN: 9783319119939
Publication Date: 2015
This book addresses the mathematical rationality contained in the making of string figures. It does so by using interdisciplinary methods borrowed from anthropology, mathematics, history and philosophy of mathematics. The practice of string figure-making has long been carried out in many societies, and particularly in those of oral tradition. It consists in applying a succession of operations to a string (knotted into a loop), mostly using the fingers and sometimes the feet, the wrists or the mouth. This succession of operations is intended to generate a final figure. The book explores different modes of conceptualization of the practice of string figure-making and analyses various source material through these conceptual tools: it looks at research by mathematicians, as well as ethnographical publications, and personal fieldwork findings in the Chaco, Paraguay, and in the Trobriand Islands, Papua New Guinea, which all give evidence of the rationality that underlies this activity. It concludes that the creation of string figures may be seen as the result of intellectual processes, involving the elaboration of algorithms, and concepts such as operation, sub-procedure, iteration, and transformation.

Cover Art
Surpassing the sovereign state : the wealth, self-rule, and security advantages of partially independent territories - David A. Rezvani
Call Number: JC 348 .R49 2014
ISBN: 9780199688494
Publication Date: 2014
After nearly six centuries of emergence and world dominance, the sovereign state now has a globally widespread competitor that frequently manages to surpass its capabilities in the areas of wealth, security, and self-determination. This book will show that in region after region throughout the world partially independent territories (including Hong Kong, Cayman Islands, Kurdistan, New Caledonia, and others) tend to be wealthier and more secure than their sovereign state counterparts. Often ignored because of their small size, lack of militaries, and divided powers, the partially independent territories that produce these advantages are responsible for nearly one-fifth of global capital flows, serve as solutions for some of the world's most intractable nationalistic disputes, and furnish important capabilities for sovereign states. The existence and capabilities of these polities contradict widely held assumptions of sovereign state pre-eminence and give rise to a range of puzzling issues that will be addressed by this book.

Cover Art
Sustainable tourism and the millennium development goals : effecting positive change. - Kelly Bricke; Stuart Cottrell; Rosemary Susan Black
Call Number: G 156 .5 .S87 S872 2013 (a copy also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781449628239
Publication Date: 2013
Endorsed by The International Ecotourism Society, Sustainable Tourism & The Millennium Development Goals: Effecting Positive Change demonstrates how ecotourism and sustainable tourism can assist in supporting and meeting the goals set forward by the Millennium Development Goals (MDG) to eradicate extreme poverty and hunger, achieve universal primary education, promote gender equity and empower women, reduce child mortality, improve maternal health, combat HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases, ensure environmental sustainability and develop a global partnership for development. Cases studies from Fiji.

Cover Art
The anthropology of intentions : language in a world of others - Alessandro Duranti
Call Number: P 35 .D873 2015
ISBN: 9781107652033
Publication Date: 2015
How and to what extent do people take into account the intentions of others? Alessandro Duranti sets out to answer this question, showing that the role of intentions in human interaction is variable across cultures and contexts. Through careful analysis of data collected over three decades in US and Pacific societies, Duranti demonstrates that, in some communities, social actors avoid intentional discourse, focusing on the consequences of actions rather than on their alleged original goals. In other cases, he argues, people do speculate about their own intentions or guess the intentions of others, including in some societies where it was previously assumed they avoid doing so. To account for such variation, Duranti proposes an 'intentional continuum', a concept that draws from phenomenology and the detailed analysis of face-to-face interaction. A combination of new essays and classic re-evaluations, the book draws together findings from anthropology, linguistics and philosophy to offer a penetrating account of the role of intentions in defining human action.

Cover Art
The ethics of suicide : historical sources - Margaret Pabst Battin (Editor)
Call Number: HV 6545 .E84 2015
ISBN: 9780199385805
Publication Date: 2015
This collection of primary sources--the principal texts of ethical interest from major writers in western and nonwestern cultures, from the principal religious traditions, and from oral cultures where observer reports of traditional practices are available, spanning Europe, Asia, the Middle East, Africa, Oceania, the Arctic, and North and South America--facilitates exploration of many controversial practical issues: physician-assisted suicide or aid-in-dying; suicide in social or political protest; self-sacrifice and martyrdom; suicides of honor or loyalty; religious and ritual practices that lead to death, including sati or widow-burning, hara-kiri, and sallekhana, or fasting unto death; and suicide bombings, kamikaze missions, jihad, and other tactical and military suicides. This collection has no interest in taking sides in controversies about the ethics of suicide; rather, rather, it serves to expand the character of these debates, by showing them to be multi-dimensional, a complex and vital part of human ethical thought.

Cover Art
The search for environmental justice - Paul Martin; Amanda Kennedy; Sadeq Z. Bigdeli; Trevor Daya-Winterbottom; Willemien Du Plessis (Editors)
Call Number: K 3585 .S437 2015
ISBN: 9781784719418
Publication Date: 2015
This thoughtful book provides an overview of the major developments in the theory and practice of 'environmental justice'. It illustrates the direction of the evolution of rights of nature and exposes the diverse meanings and practical uses of the concept of environmental justice in different jurisdictions, and their implications for the law, society and the environment. The term 'environmental justice' has different meanings to different scholars and is applied in many different contexts. For some, the focus is on equal distribution of the earth's benefits, with concern for the interests of the less wealthy, disadvantaged minorities, or indigenous peoples. For others, the focus is on the interests of the earth and nature itself. Additionally, for some, environmental justice is a framework for discourse, whilst for others it connotes specific legal principles and procedures. The application of these interpretations through the law involves diverse approaches and rules. In this timely book, expert contributors identify the meanings and the practical translations of environmental justice, reflecting the perspectives of academic, judicial and indigenous people from many countries. Among the issues considered are the rights of nature and its application through judicial practice, and approaches to respecting the laws, cultures and the rights of Indigenous peoples.

Cover Art
The second British Empire : in the crucible of the twentieth century - Timothy H. Parsons
Call Number: DA 16 .P37 2014
ISBN: 9780742520509
Publication Date: 2014
At its peak, the British Empire spanned the world and linked diverse populations in a vast network of exchange that spread people, wealth, commodities, cultures, and ideas around the globe. By the turn of the twentieth century, this empire, which made Britain one of the premier global superpowers, appeared invincible and eternal. This compelling book reveals, however, that it was actually remarkably fragile. Reconciling the humanitarian ideals of liberal British democracy with the inherent authoritarianism of imperial rule required the men and women who ran the empire to portray their non-Western subjects as backward and in need of the civilizing benefits of British rule. However, their lack of administrative manpower and financial resources meant that they had to recruit cooperative local allies to actually govern their colonies. This book tells the dramatic story of how the British Empire and its demise accelerated and strengthened globalization by creating webs of commerce, migration, and cultural exchange that linked Britons and their former subjects in new ways and produced blended transnational cultures that were British in origin but no longer British in character or style.

Cover Art
The survival of Easter Island: dwindling resources and cultural resilience - Jan J. Boersema; Diane Webb
Call Number: F 3169 .B642 2015
ISBN: 9781107027701
Publication Date: 2015
In this book, Jan J. Boersema reconstructs the ecological and cultural history of Easter Island and critiques the hitherto accepted theory of the collapse of its civilization. The collapse theory, advanced most recently by Jared Diamond and Clive Ponting, is based on the documented overexploitation of natural resources, particularly woodlands, on which Easter Island culture depended. Deforestation is said to have led to erosion, followed by hunger, conflict, and economic and cultural collapse. Drawing on scientific data and historical sources, including the shipping journals of the Dutch merchant who was the first European to visit the island in 1722, Boersema shows that deforestation did not in fact jeopardize food production and lead to starvation and violence. On the basis of historical and scientific evidence, Boersema demonstrates how Easter Island society responded to cultural and environmental change as it evolved and managed to survive.

Cover Art
Victory fever on Guadalcanal : Japan's first land defeat of World War II - William H. Bartsch
Call Number: D 767 .98 .B37 2014 (a copy also available in the General Collection)
ISBN: 9781623491840
Publication Date: 2014
Following their rampage through Southeast Asia and the Pacific in the five months after Pearl Harbor, Japanese forces moved into the Solomon Islands, intending to cut off the critical American supply line to Australia. But when they began to construct an airfield on Guadalcanal in July 1942, the Americans captured the almost completed airfield for their own strategic use. The Japanese Army countered by sending to Guadalcanal a reinforced battalion under the command of Col. Kiyonao Ichiki. The attack that followed would prove to be the first of four attempts by the Japanese over six months to retake the airfield, resulting in some of the most vicious fighting of the Pacific War. During the initial battle on the night of August 20–21, 1942, Marines wiped out Ichiki’s men, who—imbued with “victory fever”—had expected a quick and easy victory. William H. Bartsch draws on correspondence, interviews, diaries, memoirs, and official war records, including those translated from Japanese sources, to offer an intensely human narrative of the failed attempt to recapture Guadalcanal’s vital airfield.

Cover Art
World peace, a blind wife, and gecko tails - David Khorram
Call Number: GT 76 .K56 2007
ISBN: 9780980053104
Publication Date: 2007
Award-winning columnist and South Pacific eye surgeon, David Khorram, brings together the most popular pieces of his Saipan Tribune column, Better Living. Whether exploring the spiritual side of prosperity, describing the raw joy of someone regaining sight, or recounting the humor of an island phone call, Dr. Khorram manages to reach the mind, the heart and the funny-bone. With this book in hand, expect to laugh out loud and to ponder life's big questions.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Shirley Devi
Contact Info
P: (+679) 32 32285
Send Email
What section of the Library do you work in?
Pacific Collection

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sofie Kubuwai
Contact Info
323 2380
Send Email
 
Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
© Copyright 2004 - 2013. All Rights Reserved.
The University of the South Pacific
Laucala Campus, Suva, Fiji
Tel: +679 323 1000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip