This is the "MLA Citations" page of the "MLA Citations" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
The University of the South Pacific
Welcome to the Library
 

MLA Citations   Tags: citations, referencing  

Last Updated: Oct 31, 2016 URL: http://usp.ac.fj.libguides.com/mla Print Guide RSS Updates

MLA Citations Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Need the print edition of the MLA handbook?

Cover Art
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th edition - Joseph Gibaldi
Call Number: REF LB 2369 .G53 2009
Publication Date: 2009
This is a Reference book and must be used within the library.

Cover Art
MLA Handbook - The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB 2369 .M53 2016
ISBN: 9781603292627
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
The 8th edition came out in 2016. One copy is available in the reference collection and cannot be checked out. One copy is available to be checked out from the general collection.

 

Other Reference books on Referencing

Cover Art
Avoiding plagiarism : write better papers in APA, Chicago, and Harvard citation styles - Ken K. Wong
Call Number: PN 167 .W66 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Covers APA, Chicago and Harvard styles. In library use only.


Cover Art
Writing the Research Paper : a handbook - Anthony C. Winkler; Jo Ray McCuen-Metherell
Call Number: REF LB 2369 .W55 2012
Publication Date: 2011
Covers APA, MLA and Chicago styles. In library use only.

 

EndNote

Use EndNote to create citations and bibliographies in various formats, including MLA, APA and Harvard.

Always check the EndNote citation to make sure it is accurate.

MLA 7 or 8?

  • MLA 7 vs. MLA 8
    MLA 8th edition was released in April of 2016. Ask your instructor which version you should be using if they have you cite in MLA. This link gives you a breakdown of some of the differences between the 7th and 8th editions.
 

MLA Citations

MLA Logo

 

 

 

The MLA Citation Style is often used for classes in the Humanities, such as English and History. The APA Citation Style is the other common format, usually used in the sciences. See the APA Citations guide for more information.

Use the blue tabs above to see MLA citation formats for different kinds of sources, as well as for creating citations in the text of your paper. These formats are based on the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th edition. Note: The 8th edition came out in April of 2016. This guide is not updated yet to reflect the changes. The style manual 8th ed. is currently on order in the library. 

Overview of how MLA citations are constructed

The APA citation format allows the person reading your paper to know what sources you used and where to locate these sources. In general, you need to cite the author, year of publication, title, and publishing data.

The basic format looks like this:

Citing a journal article from an online database:

Author's name. "Title of the article." Journal title. Vol.issue number (year): pages-pages. Database title. Web. Date accessed.

Example:

Zabrodska, Katerina, and Petr Kveton. "Prevalence And Forms Of Workplace Bullying Among University Employees." Employee Responsibilities & Rights Journal 25.2 (2013): 89-108. Business Source Premier. Web. 31 Aug. 2013.

Citing a book:

Author 's name. Title of the book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. Print. 

Example:

Mead, Margaret. Coming of age in Samoa : a study of adolescence and sex in primitive societies. Harmondsworth, Middlesex: Penguin Books, 1943. Print.

Please see the tabs at the top of this guide for in-depth examples of citing reference works, electronic information, government documents, etc.

 

Plagiarism

Not citing your resources can result in accusations of plagiarism. USP's policy on academic honesty and plagiarism can be found here (opens as PDF):

3.4.2 Academic Honesty: Policies & Procedures (for USP Students)

This slideshow by Angela Jowitt of USP's Alafua Campus library will give you an overview of how to avoid plagiarism by properly citing your sources.

Additional Resources

Refer to these websites for more information and examples on MLA 7th ed. style citations.

 

Books on referencing available to check out

Cover Art
The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagarism - Colin Neville
Call Number: PN 171 .F56 N48 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Covers APA, MLA and Harvard styles.

Cover Art
Doing Honest Work in College How to Prepare Citations, Avoid Plagiarism, and Achieve Real Academic Success - Charles Lipson
Call Number: PN 171 .F56 L56 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Covers Chicago, MLA, and APA styles.

A student's guide to bibliographies and referencing - Rajni Chand
Call Number: PN 171 .F56 C43 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Provides examples of MLA and Harvard styles.

Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
© Copyright 2004 - 2013. All Rights Reserved.
The University of the South Pacific
Laucala Campus, Suva, Fiji
Tel: +679 323 1000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip