This is the "Welcome" page of the "Marine Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
The University of the South Pacific
Welcome to the Library
 

Marine Studies  

Last Updated: Oct 31, 2016 URL: http://usp.ac.fj.libguides.com/marine Print Guide RSS Updates

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to the Marine Studies Subject Guide

The resources within this guide have been specifically chosen for their usefulness to those studying Marine Studies. You can find useful databases, books, websites and more by using the tabs above.

If you run into obstacles, please don't hesitate to contact the subject Librarian.

 

Opening Hours

LOWER CAMPUS LIBRARY (PIMRIS)

During Semester Time
Mon-Thur 8am-5pm
Friday 8am-4pm
Wkends/Pub.Hol. CLOSED

During Vacation

Mon-Thur 8-4.30pm
Friday 8am-4pm
Wkends/Pub.Hol. CLOSED

New Books at Main Library (Laucala Upper Campus)

 

New Additions to PIMRIS/Lower Campus Library

Cover Art
Handbook of ocean resources and management - Hance D. Smith (Editor); Juan Luis Suárez de Vivero (Editor); Tundi S. Agardy (Editor)
Call Number: PIM GC 1015 .2 .R68 2015
ISBN: 9780415531757
Publication Date: 2015
This comprehensive handbook provides a global overview of ocean resources and management by focusing on critical issues relating to human development and the marine environment...

Cover Art
Marine algae extracts: Processes, products and applications - Se-Kwon Kim; Katarzyna Chojnacka (Editors)
Call Number: PIM SH 390.7.M37 2015 (Volumes 1 & 2)
ISBN: 9783527337088
Publication Date: 2015
Designed as the primary reference for the biotechnological use of macroalgae, this comprehensive handbook covers the entire value chain from the cultivation of algal biomass to harvesting and processing it, to product extraction and formulation.

Cover Art
The natural history of the crustacea - Physiology - Les Watling; Martin Thiel (Editor); Ernest S. Chang (Editor)
Call Number: PIM QL 435 .P59 2015
ISBN: 9780199832415
Publication Date: 2015
An updated volume, focusing on the last 25 years after advances have been made in the fields of crustacean endocrinology, genomics and proteomics, topics that are well-represented in this proposal.

Cover Art
Drug discovery and evaluation: Pharmacological assays - Franz J. Hock (Editor)
Call Number: PIM RM 301.25.D78 2016 (Volumes 1-4)
ISBN: 9783319053912
Publication Date: 2015
The 3rd edition of this successful reference book contains an updated selection of the most frequently used assays for reliably detecting the pharmacological effects of potential drugs. Effects covered include cardiovascular, analgesic, endocrine, psychotropic, respiratory, renal, and immunomodulatory activities.

Cover Art
Whales, Dolphins, and Porpoises: A natural history and species guide - Annalisa Berta (Editor)
Call Number: PIM QL 737 .C4 W532 2015
ISBN: 9780226183190
Publication Date: 2015
Opening with an accessible rundown of cetacean biology—including the most recent science on feeding, mating, and communication—Whales, Dolphins, and Porpoises then presents species-specific natural history on a range of topics, from anatomy and diet to distribution and conservation status.

Cover Art
Biology and eology of bluefin tuna - Takashi Kitagawa (Editor); Shingo Kimura (Editor)
Call Number: PIM QL 638 .S35 B56 2016
ISBN: 9781498724876
Publication Date: 2015 (original pub. date)
This book focuses on latest information on the biology and ecology of the three bluefin tuna species: the Pacific (Thunnus orientalis), Atlantic (T. thynnus), and southern bluefin tuna (T. maccoyii).

Cover Art
Handbook of oil spill science and technology - Merv Fingas (Editor)
Call Number: PIM TD 427 .P4 H363 2015
ISBN: 9780470455517
Publication Date: 2015
This book provides a scientific basis for the cleanup and for the assessment of oil spills. It includes case studies examining and analyzing spills, such as Tasman Spirit oil spill on the Karachi Coast, and provides lessons to prevent these in the future.

Cover Art
Time and navigation - Andrew K. Johnston; Roger D. Connor; Carlene E. Stephens; Paul E. Ceruzzi
Call Number: PIM VK 555 .T56 2015
ISBN: 9781588344915
Publication Date: 2015
ime and Navigation tells the story of navigation to help us understand where we have been and how we got there so that we can understand where we are going.

Coordinator PIMRIS

Profile Image
Susana Macanawai
Contact Info
Ph: 3232934
Send Email
What section of the Library do you work in?
Lower Campus Library (PIMRIS)
 

PIMRIS Newsletter

PIMRIS publishes an online newsletter with issues now reduced from four to two a year.  Past issues and the latest from PIMRIS is available here: PIMRIS newsletter

PIMRIS Staff

Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
© Copyright 2004 - 2013. All Rights Reserved.
The University of the South Pacific
Laucala Campus, Suva, Fiji
Tel: +679 323 1000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip