A full text indexed collection of classic American and English literature as well as Western philosophy, written or translated into English.
- Australian Dictionary of Biography
The Australian Dictionary of Biography is Australia's pre-eminent dictionary of national biography. In it you will find concise, informative and fascinating descriptions of the lives of significant and representative persons in Australian history.The ADB is produced by the National Centre of Biography at the Australian National University.
Literature, reference and verse- unlimited access to books and information on the web, free of charge.
- Bible Gateway
The full text of approximately 100 versions of the Bible in 54 languages.
- Blake Archive
This archive contains electronic copies of William Blake’s illuminated books, as well as a number of his illustrations, drawings, paintings and manuscript works.
- Bloomsbury Open Content
Selected research publications are published on open content licences, meaning that the full text is available online for free in html format.
Online textbooks written by "highly respected professors from top universities in the world covering topics such as economics, statistics, IT, engineering and natural sciences."
- Bookserver (Internet Archive)
A project of the Internet Archive. Access ebooks via the search box. Includes out-of-copyright texts from Project Gutenberg among other collections.
A freely accessible portal to historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library. Currently includes over 1000 titles (books and journals) with an RSS feed available for recent additions. Images are free for non-commercial use.
- British Library (Turning the Pages)
Facsimiles of a selection of books from the British Library’s collection are available, with software that can turn virtual pages. Alternative static versions are also available.
- British Newspaper Archive
The British Newspaper Archive contains over 3 million pages of UK newspapers published from 1700 - 1900. Newspapers published in the 20th Century will also be available as the archive grows. Searching is free. Viewing, downloading and printing will be charged for.
This full-text electronic library hosted by the European University Institute in Italy, contains digitised primary documents as well as ebooks in history.
- Chicago University Press free monthly ebook
A different ebook is available free each month from Chicago University Press.
- College Open Textbooks
Search by subject for open access textbooks in a variety of subject areas.
- Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources- Open Textbooks link
Provides access to Open Textbooks (a list of more than 500 open textbooks covering many subjects at college level), Copyrighted Digital Textbooks (a list of learning resources that are free to view online but are not open for reuse), and many other links to free online resources.
- Digital Book Index
More than 165,000 e-books of which 140,000 are free.
- Digital Library of India
Contains ebooks, ejournals and digitised manuscripts, predominantly in Indian languages.
- Directory of Open Access Books
The aim of the DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. It is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access. The DOAB is a service of the OAPEN Foundation, a non-profit organisation dedicated to Open Access publishing of academic books.
- Ebooks Directory
A growing list of freely downloadable ebooks, documents and lecture notes. It is possible to search, browse by subject and see recently added or most popular titles.
Collection of classic works including literature, philosophy, science, religion and history. Note these are published as new editions, with no attempt to retain pagination of print copies.
- Film Studies for Free
A list of open access ebooks on film studies.
- Free Books 4 Doctors
This site provides access to 360 free medical books.
- Free eBooks
A list of links to free ebooks on many subjects.
- Gaia (University of California)
A collection of 28 open access books on global, international and area studies.
This site from the Bibliothque Nationale de France allows access to thousands of digitised books, mostly in French.
- Global Text Project
A collection of undergraduate e-textbooks available under a creative commons licence in business, computing, education, health, science and social science.
- Google Books
Out-of-copyright books can be viewed online, and those in the public domain can be downloaded and saved.
- Google Books
Millions of books available for preview and free reading.
A collaborative repository from US research libraries, containing over 10 million digitised volumes. Not all are freely accessible, however over 2.5 million public domain digitised works can be downloaded.
- HSRC Press
South African open access publisher in social science. The Press publishes the research output of the Human Science Research Council and externally authored works. Many titles are free to download.
A multidisciplinary Open Access publisher of books and journals covering the fields of Science, Technology and Medicine with over 2000 ebooks available to date.
- ipl2 (Internet Public Library)
45000+ full text works, fiction and non-fiction plus online reference works. Divided into subject collections for easy browsing but also fully searchable.
- Just Free Books
JustFreeBooks searches the content of more than 700 web sites, including gutenberg.org, wikibooks.org and archive.org . With JustFreeBooks you can find all sorts of free ebooks for your Kindle, Nook or tablet: public domain texts, open books, free audiobooks and more. Just type in the search box the title, author or theme you want to find.
- Knowledge Unlatched
Pilot group of 28 open-access front-list titles from recognised scholarly publishers. Part of a project where libraries work together to share the cost of open access book publishing.
- Literature Project
Collection of full-text books, poems, plays and speeches.
- Many Books
Search over 33,000 free books.
- Million Book Project
An early collection of books from the Indian scanning centers of the Universal Library Project, sometimes called the Million Books Project.
- National Academies Press
Over 4000 titles from the US National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine and the National Research Council are available to download. The free pdfs are available exclusively from the NAP site and remain subject to copyright laws.
- NCBI Bookshelf
National Center for Biotechnology Information’s Bookshelf site provides free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
- O'Reilly Open Books Project
A collection of free ebooks in computer science.
OAPEN provides a searchable library of free, quality controlled academic e-books, mainly specialising in the areas of Humanities and Social Sciences. Users can browse, advanced search, and translate their keywords in order to plug into a vast database of free resources.
- Open Book Project
A computer science textbook and series on electricity and electronics are available, as well as tutorials and courses.
- Open Book Publishers
A good collection of Humanities books, available to purchase, but also free to read online.
- Open SUNY Textbooks
An open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries. The textbooks are fully downloadable and cover subjects in Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences and Technology.
- Open Textbook Library
Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality.
OpenStax is a nonprofit based at Rice University. Their first open source college textbook was published in 2012 and has since scaled to more than 20 books used by hundreds of thousands of students across the globe.
- Oxford Text Archive
The archive holds several thousand electronic texts and linguistics corpora, in a variety of languages. Includes online versions of works by individual authors, standard reference works and a range of language corpora.
- Page by Page Books
Offers public domain ebooks to read online, presented as a series of web pages, so that individual pages can be bookmarked.
- Project Gutenberg Australia
A 'treasure trove of free Australian literature' with more than 3,500 titles in the public domain to choose from.
- Project Gutenberg USA
Project Gutenberg offers over 50,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
- Read Print
Set up an account and read free books through this site. Essays, poems, short stories, and more.
- SpringerOpen Books
The open access eBook is freely available online. In addition to this free electronic version, a print edition is offered for those who still wish to buy a printed book.
- The National Academies Press
Read and download 6,533 books for FREE!
- The Online Books Page
Listing of over 2 million free books on the Web.
- University of California Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004, includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction. Nearly 700 of the titles are available to the public; the rest are for University of California faculty, staff, and students only.
- World eBook Library
World eBook library provides e-books free of charge to disabled or special needs users. If you feel you qualify you can register by using this link.