This is the "Finding Books" page of the "Physics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
The University of the South Pacific
Library
 

Physics  

Library resources for physics.
Last Updated: Mar 26, 2017 URL: http://usp.ac.fj.libguides.com/physics Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Books Print Page
  Search: 
 

Ebook databases

Search through these databases to get access to Ebooks. After you have identified your keywords for your search, you can enter them into the search boxes in the following databases: 

 

Google Book Search

 

Locating Books

Books (and other library materials) are arranged by call number :a unique "address" that tells you where to find a book on the shelf. The call number is pasted on the bottom of the spine of a book.

When you see a book you want in the library catalogue, the call number is at the bottom of the "holdings" information:

 

Call numbers usually include letters and numbers. Notice that the besides the call number for the book, you will also need to note the location and collection where the book is kept. For the above title, you will find copies of this book in the PIMRIS library and in the Laucala library in the Pacific Collection, the Reference collection on level B and the "General" collection (the books you can check out of the library).

Science and technology books (like the one shown above) are on level C of Laucala library. There are signs on the shelves showing you where to find QK 473.

Problems finding a book?  Ask at the Information Desk.

USP Library Catalogue and Other Book Sources

The online catalogs are used to find books in the library. You can look for a book by title, author, subject, or keyword. 

Try searching the following sites using keywords to find books on your topic.

  • Laucala Campus Library Catalogue
    Use this link to go directly to the catalog to search collections at USP.
  • Ebook Central
    Ebook Central is a site that USP subscribes to that gives you access to online eBooks in dozens of subjects. Once you select a book, the search function of this site allows you to search within the eBook to immediately find information on your topic.
  • Online free books and journals
    Use this page to connect to online sites for free books that you can read online.
 

Finding Textbooks on Reserve for your Courses

Follow these steps to locate textbooks on closed reserve for your courses:

1. Go to the Laucala Campus library catalogue.

2. In the lefthand corner box under "Find Information" click "Closed Reserve." 

3. Select your course from the dropdown menu (i.e. UU100) and click ok.

4. A list of your textbooks that are held at the main issue desk will display. 

5. Write down the call number of the book you need and take it to the main issue desk. Items can be used for two hours in the library, and some items can be taken out overnight. 

 

Searching Using Subject Headings

Subject Headings are assigned by the Library of Congress and may not be the same word you would use to describe your topic; if you're unsure of the subject heading for your topic, begin with a keyword search.

 

Some useful subject headings for Physics are:

Physics

Particles (Nuclear Physics)

Physics -- History

Physics -- Problems, exercises, etc

Nuclear Physics

Quantum Theory

Quantum Theory -- Popular works

 

 

Reference Books

These books are available in the reference collection to use in the library. They cannot be checked out.

Cover Art
Buildings Blocks of Matter
Call Number: QC 793 .2 .B85 2003
ISBN: 0028657039
Publication Date: 2003-05-16

Cover Art
AIP Physics Desk Reference - E. Richard Cohen (Editor); David R. Lide (Editor); George L. Trigg (Editor)
Call Number: QC 61 .A36 2003
ISBN: 0387989730
Publication Date: 2003-01-27

Cover Art
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics - David R. Lide (Editor)
Call Number: QD 65 .H36 2008
ISBN: 9781420066791
Publication Date: 2008-06-17

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Physics - John Daintith (Editor)
Call Number: QC 5 .D53 2009
ISBN: 9780199560011
Publication Date: 2009-05-02

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Physics - Joe Rosen
Call Number: QC 5 .R596 2004
ISBN: 0816049742
Publication Date: 2004-05-01

 

Some recent books from the Catalogue

Cover Art
From the Cosmos to Quarks - Masud Chaichian; Hugo Perez Rojas; Anca Tureanu
Call Number: QC 21 .3 .C535 2015
ISBN: 9783642195976
Publication Date: 2013-11-06

Cover Art
College Physics - Raymond A. Serway; Chris Vuille
Call Number: QC 23 .S47 2015
ISBN: 9781285737027
Publication Date: 2014-01-01

Cover Art
Faraday, Maxwell, and the Electromagnetic Field - Nancy Forbes; Basil Mahon
Call Number: QC 16 .F2 F67 2014
ISBN: 9781616149420
Publication Date: 2014-03-11

Cover Art
Nuclear Physics - Frank Close
Call Number: QC 173 .C66 2015
ISBN: 9780198718635
Publication Date: 2015-10-01

Cover Art
The Quantum Age - Brian Clegg
Call Number: QC 174 .123 .C54 2014
ISBN: 9781848316645
Publication Date: 2014-06-05

Cover Art
Seven brief lessons on physics - Rovelli, Carlo, 1956- Carnell, Simon, 1962- Segre, Erica
Call Number: QC 23 .R682 2015
ISBN: 9780241235966
Publication Date: 2015

Cover Art
Fundamentals of Physics, Chapters 21-44 - David Halliday; Robert Resnick; Jearl Walker
Call Number: QC 21 .3 .H352 2014
ISBN: 9781118230732
Publication Date: 2015-06-08

Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
© Copyright 2004 - 2013. All Rights Reserved.
The University of the South Pacific
Laucala Campus, Suva, Fiji
Tel: +679 323 1000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip