This is the "Finding Books" page of the "Gender Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
The University of the South Pacific
Library
 

Gender Studies  

Online and print resources in the field of gender studies.
Last Updated: Mar 26, 2017 URL: http://usp.ac.fj.libguides.com/genderstudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Books Print Page
  Search: 
 

Ebook databases

Search through these databases to get access to Ebooks. After you have identified your keywords for your search, you can enter them into the search boxes in the following databases: 

 

Google Book Search

 

Locating Books

Books (and other library materials) are arranged by call number :a unique "address" that tells you where to find a book on the shelf. The call number is pasted on the bottom of the spine of a book.

When you see a book you want in the library catalogue, the call number is at the bottom of the "holdings" information:

 

Call numbers usually include letters and numbers. Notice that the besides the call number for the book, you will also need to note the location and collection where the book is kept. For the above title, you will find copies of this book in the PIMRIS library and in the Laucala library in the Pacific Collection, the Reference collection on level B and the "General" collection (the books you can check out of the library).

Science and technology books (like the one shown above) are on level C of Laucala library. There are signs on the shelves showing you where to find QK 473.

Problems finding a book?  Ask at the Information Desk.

USP Library Catalogue and Other Book Sources

The online catalogs are used to find books in the library. You can look for a book by title, author, subject, or keyword. 

Try searching the following sites using keywords to find books on your topic.

  • Laucala Campus Library Catalogue
    Use this link to go directly to the catalog to search collections at USP.
  • Ebook Central
    Ebook Central is a site that USP subscribes to that gives you access to online eBooks in dozens of subjects. Once you select a book, the search function of this site allows you to search within the eBook to immediately find information on your topic.
  • Online free books and journals
    Use this page to connect to online sites for free books that you can read online.
 

Finding Textbooks on Reserve for your Courses

Follow these steps to locate textbooks on closed reserve for your courses:

1. Go to the Laucala Campus library catalogue.

2. In the lefthand corner box under "Find Information" click "Closed Reserve." 

3. Select your course from the dropdown menu (i.e. UU100) and click ok.

4. A list of your textbooks that are held at the main issue desk will display. 

5. Write down the call number of the book you need and take it to the main issue desk. Items can be used for two hours in the library, and some items can be taken out overnight. 

 

Searching Using Subject Headings

Subject Headings are assigned by the Library of Congress and may not be the same word you would use to describe your topic; if you're unsure of the subject heading for your topic, begin with a keyword search.

 

Some useful subject headings for Gender Studies are:

Feminism

Women -- History

Sex role

Women -- Social Conditions

Social Change

Sex Discrimination -- Government Policy

Women -- Government Policy

Women's Studies

Wages -- Sex Difference

Wages -- Women

Sex Discrimination in employment

Pay Equity

Gender Identity

Gender-based Statistics

 

Understanding Library of Congress Call Numbers

Each item in the University of the South Pacific Library collection has an identification number, known as a call number. Like an address, this number tells you where an item "lives" in the library. The USP Laucala Library uses the Library of Congress system to assign call numbers to materials on the shelves.

The Library of Congress system uses a combination of letters and numbers to identify each item. A call number usually runs four lines when seen on a label.

The first line contains one or more letters (A, HB, Q, M, TK, etc.). These letters represent the main subject of the item. When books have more than one letter, the single lettered books are first on the shelf (to the left), followed by those with double letters
Example: in the N section, the order would be: N, NA, NB, NC, ND, and so on.

The second line is always a whole number from 1-9,999. If the letters on the first line of the call number are the same, the book with the smaller number on the second line is shelved to the left of the book with the larger number.
Example (on a shelf):

N
64
  
is to the left of 
N
101

The third line is always a decimal point, followed by a letter and a number. Books are shelved alphabetically according to the letter after the decimal point.
Example (on a shelf):

N
64
.H4213
is to the left of 
N
64
.M41

If two books share the same letter after the decimal, the book with the smaller decimal number is shelved to the left of the book with the larger decimal number.
Example (on a shelf):

N
64
.H4213 
is to the left of 
N
64
.H47

Example of these four books on a shelf:

N
64
.H4213
N
64
.H47
N
64
.M41
N
101
 

The fourth line may be a year of publication or volume number, with earlier editions and lower volume numbers shelved to the left of later works and higher volume numbers. The fourth line may be a letter-number combination that functions decimally like the third line, but without the decimal point.

The call number used as an example is for a book in the library's collection, Hegel on the Arts, by Henry Paolucci. Its call number unfolds as follows:

 N        = Fine Arts
 64       = Visual arts, general
.H4213  = a letter and decimal representing the author
197    = year of publication

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
Call Number: HQ 16 .E52 2007
ISBN: 9780028659602
Publication Date: 2007-08-23

Cover Art
Gender and Women's Leadership - Karen O'Connor (Editor)
Call Number: HQ 1233 .G462 2010
ISBN: 9781412960830
Publication Date: 2010-08-18


 

Some recent books from the Catalogue

Cover Art
Handbook of Gender and Women's Studies - Kathy Davis (Editor); Mary Evans (Editor); Judith Lorber (Editor)
Call Number: HQ 1180 .H355 2006
ISBN: 9780761943907
Publication Date: 2006-06-12

Cover Art
Analyzing Gender - Beth B. Hess (Editor); Myra Marx Ferree (Editor)
Call Number: HQ 1154 .A685
ISBN: 0803927193
Publication Date: 1987-12-01

Cover Art
Changing Women, Unchanged Men? - Sara Delamont
Call Number: HQ 1075 .D453 2001
ISBN: 0335200370
Publication Date: 2001-11-01

Cover Art
Feminist Studies - Nina Lykke
Call Number: HQ 1180 .L95 2010
ISBN: 9780415874847
Publication Date: 2010-03-26


Cover Art
Anatomy of Freedom - Robin Morgan
Call Number: HM 271 .M586 1994
ISBN: 0393311619
Publication Date: 1982-07-17


Cover Art
Gender, Politics and the State - Vicky Randall (Editor); Georgina Waylen (Editor)
Call Number: HQ 1236 .R259 1998
ISBN: 0415164028
Publication Date: 1998-08-13

Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
© Copyright 2004 - 2013. All Rights Reserved.
The University of the South Pacific
Laucala Campus, Suva, Fiji
Tel: +679 323 1000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip