This is the "Databases" page of the "Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
The University of the South Pacific
Library
 

Education   Tags: education, teaching  

Books, databases and websites to help students enrolled in Education classes.
Last Updated: May 10, 2017 URL: http://usp.ac.fj.libguides.com/education Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Journal databases at USP

These databases provide access to articles in journals, newspapers and other sources. Many (though not all) articles are full-text, so will not have to find the paper copy of the journal to read the article.

The journals indexed by these databases are international and cover a wide range of subjects. They each have their own interface, and some have tutorials to provide guidance on using the databases. See this link for more information on database searching and coverage.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in scholarly journals on multidisciplinary topics.

*AGORA: Access to Global Online Research in Agriculture

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in scholarly journals on multidisciplinary topics.

Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in scholarly journals on topics pertaining to business.

Directions: Journal of Educational Studies

Publication by USP's Institute of Education containing essays, research findings, book reviews, conference papers, best practice and critical comments by educationalists in the Pacific.

Emerald

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in scholarly journals on multidisciplinary topics.

ERIC: Education Resources Information Centre

Provides citations, abstracts and selected full-text of articles published in scholarly journals on topics pertaining to all aspects of education research and practice.

*HINARI: The Health InterNetwork Access to Research Initiative

Provides full-text articles published in scholarly journals on multidisciplinary topics.

IngentaConnect

Provides citations, abstracts and selected full-text of articles published in scholarly journals on multidisciplinary topics.

JSTOR

Provides citations, abstracts and selected full-text of articles published in scholarly journals on multidisciplinary topics. Coverage starts from the first volume in most cases. The current issues of these journals are not available.

* OARE - Online Access to Research in the Environment

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in scholarly journals and books on multidisciplinary topics.

* Observatory on Borderless Higher Education

Provides reports pertaining to higher education in areas such as e-learning, growth in private and corporate education, developing markets and international collaboration.

 

PADDLE: Pacific Archive of Digital Data for Learning and Education

Provides full-text access to a comprehensive collection of Pacific education materials, including publications from the participating Ministries of Education including strategic plans, education legislation, curriculum frameworks and school policies, national development plans, and statistics and budget information. Also includes material from international and regional organisations including UNESCO, the Asian Development Bank, the Commonwealth Secretariat, the Commonwealth of Learning, Pacific Resources for Education and Learning (PREL), and the Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat.

 

ProQuest Education Journals

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in scholarly journals on topics pertaining to adult education, elementary education, higher education, home schooling, secondary education, special needs education and teacher education.

ProQuest Research Library

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in scholarly journals on multidisciplinary topics.

ProQuest Social Science Journals

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in scholarly journals on topics pertaining to social sciences.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in scholarly journals, magazines and reports on topics pertaining to sports and sports medicine.

Taylor and Francis Online

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in selected scholarly journals on multidisciplinary topics.

World Bank eLibrary

Provides access to full-text access World Bank publications including journals on a variety of subjects including agriculture, education, environment, finance, globalization, governance, health and population, industry, infrastructure, international economics, labour and employment, macroeconomics, poverty, and private sector development.

* Indicates a password is required, please refer to the Library Information Desk.

Other databases you may find useful

Databases for images:

Britannica Image Quest

 

Provides access to more than two million images which have all been rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use. The images in this site cover every subject area imaginable and can be used for teacher lesson plans, assignments, activities, and whiteboards; student reports and projects; or school Web sites, newsletters, newspapers, flyers, and bulletins.

Databases for encyclopedias:

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

 

Provides access to reference information from the Encyclopedia Britannica and the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, as well reputable web sites on multidisciplinary topics.

 

Databases for newspapers:

 

ProQuest Australia & New Zealand Newsstand

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of news, articles, reports and commentaries published in Australian and New Zealand magazines, newspapers and wire feeds.

 

Canadian Newsstand Complete (ProQuest)

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles, columns, editorials, and features published in Canadian newspapers.

 

ProQuest Newsstand

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles, columns, editorials, obituaries and features published in newspapers, news websites & blogs, magazines and reports from leading publishers throughout the world.

 

Regional Business News (EBSCOhost)

 

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in newspapers and other media sources on topics pertaining to business.

 

Databases for theses:

 

USP Theses Collection

Available in digitized format, are the theses of USP staff and students who have given permission for public access to their work. Included in this collection are works that range from 1970's to the current year. 

 

Databases for statistical information:

 

PRISM: Pacific Regional Information System

Provides access to statistical information about Pacific Island Countries.

 

World DataBank

Provides country-level data on economic, financial, educational, health, gender, governance and environmental indicators from the World Bank. Popular databases include World Development Indicators, Education Statistics, Gender Statistics, Poverty and Inequality Database, Health Nutrition and Population Statistics, Doing Business and Millennium Development Goals. Dates of coverage begin in 1960 but vary by dataset and country. You can create reports with tables, charts, and maps and export the results in standard formats.

Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
© Copyright 2004 - 2013. All Rights Reserved.
The University of the South Pacific
Laucala Campus, Suva, Fiji
Tel: +679 323 1000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip