This is the "Pacific Materials" page of the "Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
The University of the South Pacific
Library
 

Education   Tags: education, teaching  

Books, databases and websites to help students enrolled in Education classes.
Last Updated: May 10, 2017 URL: http://usp.ac.fj.libguides.com/education Print Guide RSS Updates

Pacific Materials Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Education books of Pacific interest

Books from the Pacific Collection must be used in the library. Books in this list NOT marked Pacific collection may be checked out.

Cover Art
Going to school in Oceania - Craig Campbell (Editor); Geoffrey Sherington (Editor)
Call Number: LA 2201 .G65 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Chapters on schooling in Australia, Fiji, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea and Samoa include chronological history of education in each country and a 'day in the life" feature showing the experience of a typical student.

Cover Art
International Handbook of Educational Research in the Asia-Pacific Region - John P. Keeves; R. Watanabe (Editors)
Call Number: Pacific Collection LB 1028 .25 .A8 I57 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Additional copy in Reference Area.

Best practice in Pacific education : learning with PRIDE / - Priscilla Puamau and Barbara Hau'ofa (editors)
Call Number: LA 2201 .B47 2010
Publication Date: 2010
An anthology of papers from the Pacific Regional Initiative for the Delivery of basic Education Project (PRIDE).

The basics of learning : literacy and numeracy in the Pacific - Priscilla Puamau and Frances Pene (editors)
Call Number: LC 160 .O3 B27 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Also held in the Pacific Collection.

Educational ideas from Oceania : selected readings - edited by Konai Helu Thaman
Call Number: LC 45 .8 .O3 E38 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Additional copies in Pacific Collection and on 2-hour Reserve.

Education in the South Pacific - Michael Crossley (editor)
Call Number: Pacific Collection L 16 .C63
Publication Date: 1993
A special issue of the journal Comparative Education focusing on comparing the educational systems of South Pacific nations.

 

Finding Pacific Materials

The Pacific Collection on Level C of the Laucala Library contains materials pertaining to Melanesia, Polynesia and Micronesia. It also has some items relating to the Australian Aborigines, Hawaiians, New Zealand Maoris, and Pacific Island communities living outside the region.

It is a 'closed' reference collection of material but there are some second copies of these materials in the General Collection.

Print copies of lists of holdings for posters, theses, maps, videotapes and USP archival materials are available at the Pacific Collection desk.

These items are identified in the Library Catalogue by the location code Pacific Collection.

Try searching these subjects!

For other Pacific materials relating to education topics, try some of these sample subject searches in the Library Catalogue:

Education -- Samoa

Early childhood education -- Solomon Islands

Education, Secondary -- Kiribati

Universities and colleges -- Fiji

Education -- Oceania

Literacy -- Papua New Guinea

Teachers -- Cook Islands

Pacific Islanders -- Education

Most topics can be subdivided by country or geographical region. If a subject search does not give the desired results, try a keyword search, or ask a librarian for help.

      
    Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
    © Copyright 2004 - 2013. All Rights Reserved.
    The University of the South Pacific
    Laucala Campus, Suva, Fiji
    Tel: +679 323 1000
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip