This is the "Finding Books" page of the "Public Administration" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
The University of the South Pacific
Library
 

Public Administration  

Last Updated: Mar 26, 2017 URL: http://usp.ac.fj.libguides.com/pubadmin Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Books Print Page
  Search: 
 

Ebook databases

Search through these databases to get access to Ebooks. After you have identified your keywords for your search, you can enter them into the search boxes in the following databases: 

 

Google Book Search



 

Locating Books

Books are arranged by call number - a unique address that tells you where to find it.  Call numbers include letters and numbers; you'll find a book's call number in the catalog.  Not sure where to find that call number?  Under the Collection heading in the catalogue record there is a note as to the location. Most books on this subject will be in the General colection on Level B of the Laucala Library.  Then, as you walk along the rows of books, look for the signs that tell you which call number range is contained in each row.

Problems finding a book?  Ask at the Information Desk.

USP Library Catalogue and Other Book Sources

The online catalogs are used to find books in the library. You can look for a book by title, author, subject, or keyword. 

Try searching the following sites using keywords to find books on your topic.

  • Laucala Campus Library Catalogue
    Use this link to go directly to the catalog to search collections at USP.
  • Ebook Central
    Ebook Central is a site that USP subscribes to that gives you access to online eBooks in dozens of subjects. Once you select a book, the search function of this site allows you to search within the eBook to immediately find information on your topic.
  • Online free books and journals
    Use this page to connect to online sites for free books that you can read online.
 

Finding Textbooks on Reserve for your Courses

Follow these steps to locate textbooks on closed reserve for your courses:

1. Go to the Laucala Campus library catalogue.

2. In the lefthand corner box under "Find Information" click "Closed Reserve." 

3. Select your course from the dropdown menu (i.e. UU100) and click ok.

4. A list of your textbooks that are held at the main issue desk will display. 

5. Write down the call number of the book you need and take it to the main issue desk. Items can be used for two hours in the library, and some items can be taken out overnight. 

 

Using the Catalog

Subject Headings are assigned by the Library of Congress and may not be the same word you would use to describe your topic; if you're unsure of the subject heading for your topic, begin with a keyword search.

 

Some useful subject headings for Public Administration are:  

public administration (for public administration in general)

public administration pacific (for public administration in the pacific)

public sector

new public management

 

 

Reference Books

The following books  include specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks specifically related to the field of Public Administration.  They are located in the Reference Collection of the Laucala Campus Library and may not be borrowed.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Governance, 2 volumes - Mark W. Bevir (Ed.)
Call Number: JC 11 .E52 2007
ISBN: 9781412905794
Publication Date: 2006-12-13
Subject coverage:
State, The -- Encyclopedias
Public administration -- Encyclopedias

Cover Art
The Oxford Handbook of Public Management - Ewan Ferlie; Laurence E. Lynn (Editor); Christopher Pollitt (Editor)
Call Number: JF 1351 .O93 2007
ISBN: 9780199226443
Publication Date: 2007-08-16
Subject coverage:
Public administration

This book can actually be issued out. (Located in general collection).

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Digital Government - Ari-Veikko Anttiroiko (Ed.)
Call Number: JF 1525 .A8
ISBN: 1591407893
Publication Date: 2006-07-31
Subject coverage:
Public administration -- Information resources management -- Encyclopedias
Electronic government information -- Encyclopedias
Internet in public administration -- Encyclopedias

Cover Art
Handbook of Globalization, Governance, and Public Administration - Ali Farazmand; Pinkowski Jack
Call Number: JF 1351 .H362 2007
ISBN: 0849337267
Publication Date: 2006-07-25
Subject coverage:
Public administration -- Handbooks, manuals, etc
Globalization -- Handbooks, manuals, etc

Cover Art
International Dictionary of Public Management and Governance - Gambhir Bhatta; Des Gasper (Foreword by)
Call Number: JA 61 .B48 2006
ISBN: 0765612615
Publication Date: 2005-09-22
Subject coverage:
Public administration -- Dictionaries
Administrative agencies -- Management -- Dictionaries
Management -- Dictionaries

Cover Art
Handbook of Public Management Practice and Reform - Kuotsai Tom Liou (Editor)
Call Number: JF 1351 .H278 2001
ISBN: 0824704290
Publication Date: 2001-03-27
Subject coverage:
Public administration
Organizational change

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy, 3 volumes - Jack Rabin (Editor); Evan M. Berman (Editor)
Call Number: JK 9 .E526 2008 Vol
ISBN: 1420052756
Publication Date: 2007-12-04
Subject coverage:
Administrative agencies -- United States -- Encyclopedias
Executive departments -- United States -- Encyclopedias
Public administration -- United States -- Encyclopedias
Political planning -- United States -- Encyclopedias
Public policy (Law) -- United States -- Encyclopedias
United States -- Politics and government -- Encyclopedias

Cover Art
Public Administration Dictionary - William Fox; Ivan H. Meyer
Call Number: JA 61 .F69 1995
ISBN: 0702132195
Publication Date: 1995-02-01

 

Some recent books from the Catalogue

Cover Art
The SAGE Handbook of Public Administration - B. Guy Peters (Editor); Jon Pierre (Editor)
Call Number: JF 1351 .S24 2014
ISBN: 9781446295809
Publication Date: 2014-08-26


Cover Art
State performance and capacity in the Pacific - Laking, R. G.
Call Number: JQ 5995 .A91 L34 2010
ISBN: 9290920599
Publication Date: c2010
Subjects: Public administration -- Pacific Area; Political planning -- Pacific Area; Pacific Area -- Politics and government

Cover Art
Managing Development in a Globalized World - Habib Zafarullah; Ahmed Shafiqul Huque
Call Number: JF1525.P6
ISBN: 9781420068375
Publication Date: 2012-03-13
Subjects: Public administration; Political planning; Political development; Economic development; Social planning

Cover Art
Governing Modern Societies - Hubert Heinelt
Call Number: JF 799 .H45 2010
ISBN: 9780415496551
Publication Date: 2010-03-23
Subjects: Political participation; Public administration;
Political participation -- European Union countries; European Union countries -- Politics and government

Cover Art
Reasserting the Public in Public Services - M. Ramesh (Editor); Xun Wu (Editor); Eduardo Araral (Editor)
Call Number: JF 1351 .R385 2010
ISBN: 9780415547390
Publication Date: 2010-03-12
Subjects: Public administration; Public-private sector cooperation -- Evaluation; Privatization -- Evaluation. Public welfare. Social policy

Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
© Copyright 2004 - 2013. All Rights Reserved.
The University of the South Pacific
Laucala Campus, Suva, Fiji
Tel: +679 323 1000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip