This is the "Finding Books" page of the "Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
The University of the South Pacific
Library
 

Psychology   Tags: psychology, social sciences  

Last Updated: Oct 31, 2016 URL: http://usp.ac.fj.libguides.com/psych Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Searching for Books

Don't forget books!

Books are still a great place to start. They introduce us to a topic, and give wider coverage and depth.

Start with dictionaries and encyclopedias for definitions. As you read you'll notice alternative terms and useful keywords. Then look for books and book chapters.

Websites may also give a good introduction, but use authoritative sites such as American Psychological Association for information you can trust. We can have more confidence in government, educational and organisation websites compared with commercial websites.

Journal articles add details about key issues - preparing yourself so that you understand the topic means that the topics covered will feel familiar and help you decide if they are relevant (or not).

Now, let your search begin...!

 

Recent books from the Catalogue

Cover Art
Becoming a Marriage and Family Therapist - Eugene Mead
Call Number: RC 488. 5 .M4879 2013
ISBN: 9780470027363
Publication Date: 2013-01-29

Cover Art
Cultural Development of Mathematical Ideas - Geoffrey B. Saxe
Call Number: BF 311 .S3764 2012
ISBN: 9780521761666
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Handbook on Psychology of Self-Esteem - Stefan De Wals (Editor); Katerina Meszaros (Editor)
Call Number: BF 697 .5 .S46 H35 2012
ISBN: 9781621004103
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Culture and Psychology - Matsumoto; David Matsumoto; Linda Juang
Call Number: GN 502 .M374 2013
ISBN: 9781111344931
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Understanding Human Development - Grace J. Craig; Wendy L. Dunn
Call Number: BF713 (on order)
ISBN: 9780205233656
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
The School Counseling and School Social Work Treatment Planner - Sarah Edison Knapp; Arthur E. Jongsma; Carey Dimmitt
Call Number: LB 1027 .55 .K63 2012
ISBN: 9780470618172
Publication Date: 2012

Finding ebooks

 

 

 

 

Ebrary  is an online digital library of full texts of over 70,000 scholarly e-books from over 435 academic, trade, and professional publishers.

Topics include accounting, agriculture, banking, biology, chemistry, computing science, earth science, economics, education, engineering, finance, food science, geography, health and medicine, history, information systems, journalism, land management, language, law, library studies, literature, management, marketing, marine science, physics, psychology, politics, population studies, public administration, social work, sociology, sports, and tourism. You can a bookmark sections of the book, copy and paste text, and save sections for later reading when you create a free ebrary account.

You can search for a specific title, author or subject, or browse by one of 15 general topics like "Life Sciences" or "Psychology".

Other USP databases that contain e-books:

*AGORA: Access to Global Online Research in Agriculture

Provides full-text books on multidisciplinary topics including accounting, agriculture, biology, chemistry, development studies, earth science, economics, education, engineering, finance, food sciences, health & medicine, land management, management, marine science, physics, politics, population studies, psychology, public administration, social work, sociology, and tourism. 

*HINARI: The Health InterNetwork Access to Research Initiative

Provides full-text books on multidisciplinary topics including accounting, agriculture, biology, chemistry, computing science, earth science, economics, education, engineering, finance, food science, geography, health and medicine, information systems, library studies, management, marketing, marine science, physics, psychology, politics, public administration, social work, sociology, and tourism.

IMF eLibrary

Provides full-text of books on multidisciplinary topics including accounting, agriculture, banking, earth science, economics, education, engineering, finance, food science, health and medicine, law, management, politics, population studies, public administration, social work, sociology, and tourism.

*OARE - Online Access to Research in the Environment

Provides full-text books on multidisciplinary topics including accounting, agriculture, banking, biology, chemistry, computing science, earth science, economics, education, engineering, finance, food science, geography, health and medicine, information systems, land management, law, library studies, management, marketing, marine science, physics, psychology, politics, population studies, public administration, social work, sociology, and tourism.

World Bank eLibrary

Provides full-text access to World Bank publications including books on a variety of subjects such as agriculture, economics, education; finance, health and medicine, law, politics, and public administration.

 

* Indicates a password is required, please refer to the Library Information Desk.

 

World Catalog search

Use World Catalog to find books in libraries around the world. 

 

Google Book Search

 

Using the Catalogue

Class numbers: Browse the lending and reference collections under classification BF for Psychology material.

The online catalogue is used to find books in the library. You can look for a book by title, author, subject, or keyword. Subject Headings are assigned by the Library of Congress and may not be the same word you would use to describe your topic; if you're unsure of the subject heading for your topic, begin with a keyword search, then view the full record to see the subject headings.

Selected subject headings for Psychology

(for the most recent titles select Sort Set> Sort by Publication date, latest to earliest):

Advanced search: With so many titles relating to these terms, add other terms to narrow your search, e.g. psychology + Pacific

Subject: Psychology + Anywhere = [other search term, e.g. education*; behavior* (or behaviour)]

Hints:

use US spelling: behavior* for the subject heading, but use both spellings for titles

* = a truncation mark. The computer will search all forms of the word after the asterisk, e.g. psycholog* searches psychology, psychologist(s), psychological

 

Locating Books

Books (and other library materials) are arranged by call number :a unique "address" that tells you where to find a book on the shelf. The call number is pasted on the bottom of the spine of a book.

When you see a book you want in the library catalogue, the call number is at the bottom of the "holdings" information:

 

Call numbers usually include letters and numbers. Notice that the besides the call number for the book, you will also need to note the location and collection where the book is kept. For the above title, you will find copies of this book in the PIMRIS library and in the Laucala library in the Pacific Collection, the Reference collection on level B and the "General" collection (the books you can check out of the library).

Science and technology books (like the one shown above) are on level C of Laucala library. There are signs on the shelves showing you where to find QK 473.

Problems finding a book?  Ask at the Information Desk.

 

Understanding Library of Congress Call Numbers

Each item in the University of the South Pacific Library collection has an identification number, known as a call number. Like an address, this number tells you where an item "lives" in the library. The USP Laucala Library uses the Library of Congress system to assign call numbers to materials on the shelves.

The Library of Congress system uses a combination of letters and numbers to identify each item. A call number usually runs four lines when seen on a label.

The first line contains one or more letters (A, HB, Q, M, TK, etc.). These letters represent the main subject of the item. When books have more than one letter, the single lettered books are first on the shelf (to the left), followed by those with double letters
Example: in the N section, the order would be: N, NA, NB, NC, ND, and so on.

The second line is always a whole number from 1-9,999. If the letters on the first line of the call number are the same, the book with the smaller number on the second line is shelved to the left of the book with the larger number.
Example (on a shelf):

N
64
  
is to the left of 
N
101

The third line is always a decimal point, followed by a letter and a number. Books are shelved alphabetically according to the letter after the decimal point.
Example (on a shelf):

N
64
.H4213
is to the left of 
N
64
.M41

If two books share the same letter after the decimal, the book with the smaller decimal number is shelved to the left of the book with the larger decimal number.
Example (on a shelf):

N
64
.H4213 
is to the left of 
N
64
.H47

Example of these four books on a shelf:

N
64
.H4213
N
64
.H47
N
64
.M41
N
101
 

The fourth line may be a year of publication or volume number, with earlier editions and lower volume numbers shelved to the left of later works and higher volume numbers. The fourth line may be a letter-number combination that functions decimally like the third line, but without the decimal point.

The call number used as an example is for a book in the library's collection, Hegel on the Arts, by Henry Paolucci. Its call number unfolds as follows:

 N        = Fine Arts
 64       = Visual arts, general
.H4213  = a letter and decimal representing the author
197    = year of publication

Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
© Copyright 2004 - 2013. All Rights Reserved.
The University of the South Pacific
Laucala Campus, Suva, Fiji
Tel: +679 323 1000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip