This is the "Databases" page of the "Population Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
The University of the South Pacific
Library
 

Population Studies   Tags: demographics  

Last Updated: Mar 26, 2017 URL: http://usp.ac.fj.libguides.com/population Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Journal databases at USP

These databases provide access to articles in journals, newspapers and other sources. Many (though not all) articles are full-text, so will not have to find the paper copy of the journal to read the article.

The journals indexed by these databases are international and cover a wide range of subjects. They each have their own interface, and some have tutorials to provide guidance on using the databases. See this link for more information on database searching and coverage.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in scholarly journals on multidisciplinary topics.

*AGORA: Access to Global Online Research in Agriculture

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in scholarly journals on multidisciplinary topics.

*HINARI: The Health InterNetwork Access to Research Initiative

Provides full-text articles published in scholarly journals on multidisciplinary topics.

JSTOR

Provides citations, abstracts and selected full-text of articles published in scholarly journals on multidisciplinary topics. Coverage starts from the first volume in most cases. The current issues of these journals are not available.

* OARE - Online Access to Research in the Environment

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in scholarly journals and books on multidisciplinary topics.

ProQuest Research Library

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in scholarly journals on multidisciplinary topics.

ProQuest Social Science Journals

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in scholarly journals on topics pertaining to social sciences.

Taylor and Francis Online

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in selected scholarly journals on multidisciplinary topics.

World Bank eLibrary

Provides access to full-text access World Bank publications including journals on a variety of subjects including agriculture, education, environment, finance, globalization, governance, health and population, industry, infrastructure, international economics, labour and employment, macroeconomics, poverty, and private sector development.

* Indicates a password is required, please refer to the Library Information Desk.

Other databases you may find useful

Databases for newspapers:

 

ProQuest Australia & New Zealand Newsstand

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of news, articles, reports and commentaries published in Australian and New Zealand magazines, newspapers and wire feeds.

 

Canadian Newsstand Complete (ProQuest)

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles, columns, editorials, and features published in Canadian newspapers.

 

ProQuest Newsstand

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles, columns, editorials, obituaries and features published in newspapers, news websites & blogs, magazines and reports from leading publishers throughout the world

 
Databases for statistical information:

 

IMF eLibrary Data

Provides statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance including balance of payments, international liquidity, money and banking, current data on exchange rates, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, national accounts, and population.

 

PRISM: Pacific Regional Information System

Provides access to statistical information about Pacific Island Countries.

 

World Bank Prospects

Provides information and analysis on global trends in the world economy, especially on trade, financial flows, commodity prices, remittances flows, and the impact of these trends on developing countries.

 

World DataBank

Provides country-level data on economic, financial, educational, health, gender, governance and environmental indicators from the World Bank. Popular databases include World Development Indicators, Education Statistics, Gender Statistics, Poverty and Inequality Database, Health Nutrition and Population Statistics, Doing Business and Millennium Development Goals. Dates of coverage begin in 1960 but vary by dataset and country. You can create reports with tables, charts, and maps and export the results in standard formats.

 

Search Proquest

Google Scholar

Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
© Copyright 2004 - 2013. All Rights Reserved.
The University of the South Pacific
Laucala Campus, Suva, Fiji
Tel: +679 323 1000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip