This is the "Databases" page of the "Marine Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
The University of the South Pacific
Library
 

Marine Studies  

Last Updated: Jun 22, 2017 URL: http://usp.ac.fj.libguides.com/marine Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Journal databases at USP

These databases provide access to articles in journals, newspapers and other sources. Many (though not all) articles are full-text, so will not have to find the paper copy of the journal to read the article.

The journals indexed by these databases are international and cover a wide range of subjects. They each have their own interface, and some have tutorials to provide guidance on using the databases. See this link for more information on database searching and coverage.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in scholarly journals on multidisciplinary topics.

*AGORA: Access to Global Online Research in Agriculture

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in scholarly journals on multidisciplinary topics.

Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 1: Biological Sciences & Living Resources (ProQuest)

Provides citations and abstracts of articles published in scholarly journals on topics pertaining to marine, freshwater and brackish water organisms.

Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 2: Ocean Technology, Policy & Non-Living Resources (ProQuest)

Provides citations and abstracts of articles published in scholarly journals on topics pertaining to oceanography, limnology and coastal structures.

Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 3: Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality (ProQuest)

Provides citations and abstracts of articles published in scholarly journals on topics pertaining to aquatic pollution, prevention and control.

Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Aquaculture Abstracts (ProQuest)

Provides citations and abstracts of articles published in scholarly journals on topics pertaining to aquaculture of fish and other organisms.

Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Marine Biotechnology Abstracts (ProQuest)

Provides citations and abstracts of articles published in scholarly journals on topics pertaining to molecular biotechnology and cell/tissue culture.

*HINARI: The Health InterNetwork Access to Research Initiative

Provides full-text articles published in scholarly journals on multidisciplinary topics.

JSTOR

Provides citations, abstracts and selected full-text of articles published in scholarly journals on multidisciplinary topics. Coverage starts from the first volume in most cases. The current issues of these journals are not available.

* OARE - Online Access to Research in the Environment

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in scholarly journals and books on multidisciplinary topics.

Oceanic Abstracts (ProQuest)

Provides citations and abstracts of scholarly journal articles on topics pertaining to marine and brackish-water environment.

ProQuest Deep Indexing: Aquatic Sciences

Provides searching of indexed figures, tables, graphs, maps, charts and other illustrations from scholarly journals articles.

ProQuest Research Library

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in scholarly journals on multidisciplinary topics.

ProQuest Science Journals

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in scholarly journals  on topics pertaining to pure and applied sciences.

ScienceDirect

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in scholarly journals on multidisciplinary topics.

SOPAC Virtual Library

Provides full-text of reports, maps and charts published by SOPAC on topics pertaining to geology, geophysics, oceanography and hydrology.

Taylor and Francis Online

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in selected scholarly journals on multidisciplinary topics.

* Indicates a password is required, please refer to the Library Information Desk.

 

Latest Marine Biology News from Google

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Other databases you may find useful

Databases for images:

Britannica Image Quest

 

Provides access to more than two million images which have all been rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use. The images in this site cover every subject area imaginable and can be used for teacher lesson plans, assignments, activities, and whiteboards; student reports and projects; or school Web sites, newsletters, newspapers, flyers, and bulletins.

Databases for encyclopedias:

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

 

Provides access to reference information from the Encyclopedia Britannica and the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, as well reputable web sites on multidisciplinary topics.

The Encyclopedia of Earth

Provides reference information about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society.

Encyclopedia of Life

Provides reference information on the 1.9 million living species known to science.

Databases for theses:

USP Theses Collection

Available in digitized format, are the theses of USP staff and students who have given permission for public access to their work. Included in this collection are works that range from 1970's to the current year. 

 

Databases for statistical information:

 

PRISM: Pacific Regional Information System

Provides access to statistical information about Pacific Island Countries.

 

ReefBase

Provides country-level data and information on the location and structure of coral reef; threats and impacts to coral reefs and reef fish; status and health of the coral reefs and reef fish; and coral reef monitoring activities, protected areas with coral reefs, coastal/marine related Legislation.

 

Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
© Copyright 2004 - 2013. All Rights Reserved.
The University of the South Pacific
Laucala Campus, Suva, Fiji
Tel: +679 323 1000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip