This is the "Finding Books" page of the "Management" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
The University of the South Pacific
Library
 

Management   Tags: management  

Last Updated: Mar 26, 2017 URL: http://usp.ac.fj.libguides.com/mgmt Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Books Print Page
  Search: 
 

Ebook databases

Search through these databases to get access to Ebooks. After you have identified your keywords for your search, you can enter them into the search boxes in the following databases: 

 

Google Book Search

 

Some recent books from the Catalogue

Cover Art
Strategic Management: Theory - Charles W. L. Hill; Gareth R. Jones; Melissa A. Schilling
Call Number: HD 30 .28 .H55 2015
ISBN: 9781285184494
Publication Date: 2014-01-01

Cover Art
Understanding Social Enterprise - Rory Ridley-Duff; Mike Bull
Call Number: HD 60 .R54 2016
ISBN: 1446295524
Publication Date: 2015-11-12
Subjects: Social entrepreneurship, Social responsibility of business, Nonprofit organizations -- Management

Cover Art
Changing Organizational Culture - Marc J. Schabracq
Call Number: HD58.8
ISBN: 9780470014820
Publication Date: 2007-10-02
Subjects:
Organizational change
Corporate culture
Leadership

Cover Art
International Business - Charles W. L. Hill
Call Number: HD 62 .4 .H55 2013
ISBN: 9780078029240
Publication Date: 2012-01-17
Subjects: International business enterprises -- Management, Competition, International

 

Reference Books

The following books in the Laucala Campus Library Reference Collection include specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks specifically related to the field of Management.  They are located in the Reference Collection of the Laucala Campus Library and may not be borrowed.

Cover Art
The Ultimate Business Library - Stuart Crainer
Call Number: Z 7164 .O7 C73 2003
ISBN: 1841120596
Publication Date: 2003-01-06
Subjects:
Industrial management -- Bibliography
Industrial management -- Book reviews

Cover Art
Gower Handbook of Leadership and Management Development - Jeff Gold; Richard Thorpe; Alan Mumford
Call Number: HD 38 .2 .H36 2010
ISBN: 9780566088582
Publication Date: 2010-02-28
Subject: Management

Cover Art
A Handbook of Management Techniques - Michael Armstrong
Call Number: HD31
ISBN: 0749447664
Publication Date: 2006-09-28
Subject: Management

Cover Art
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management - Cary L. Cooper (Editor); Chris Argyris (Editor); William Starbuck (Editor)
Call Number: HD 30 .15
ISBN: 0631233172
Publication Date: 2005-02-14
Subjects:
Management -- Dictionaries
Management -- Encyclopedias

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Management - Marilyn M. Helms (Editor)
Call Number: HD 30 .15
ISBN: 0787665568
Publication Date: 2005-12-01
Subject: Industrial management -- Encyclopedias

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Human Resource Management - Edmund Heery; Mike Noon
Call Number: HF 5549 .A23 D53 2008
ISBN: 9780199298761
Publication Date: 2008-07-15
Subject: Personnel management -- Dictionaries

 

Using the Catalog

The online catalog is used to find books in the library. You can look for a book by title, author, subject, or keyword. Subject Headings are assigned by the Library of Congress and may not be the same word you would use to describe your topic; if you're unsure of the subject heading for your topic, begin with a keyword search.

==========================================

Some useful subject headings for Management are:

entrepreneurship

management

human resources management

industrial management

international business management

small business management

 

Management Books in USP Library - Laucala Campus

These documents were created especially for USP's Management students.  They list books on various management topics that available in the USP Library's Laucala Campus.

 

Locating Books

Books (and other library materials) are arranged by call number :a unique "address" that tells you where to find a book on the shelf. The call number is pasted on the bottom of the spine of a book.

When you see a book you want in the library catalogue, the call number is at the bottom of the "holdings" information:

 

Call numbers usually include letters and numbers. Notice that the besides the call number for the book, you will also need to note the location and collection where the book is kept. For the above title, you will find copies of this book in the PIMRIS library and in the Laucala library in the Pacific Collection, the Reference collection on level B and the "General" collection (the books you can check out of the library).

Science and technology books (like the one shown above) are on level C of Laucala library. There are signs on the shelves showing you where to find QK 473.

Problems finding a book?  Ask at the Information Desk.

 

Understanding Library of Congress Call Numbers

Each item in the University of the South Pacific Library collection has an identification number, known as a call number. Like an address, this number tells you where an item "lives" in the library. The USP Laucala Library uses the Library of Congress system to assign call numbers to materials on the shelves.

The Library of Congress system uses a combination of letters and numbers to identify each item. A call number usually runs four lines when seen on a label.

The first line contains one or more letters (A, HB, Q, M, TK, etc.). These letters represent the main subject of the item. When books have more than one letter, the single lettered books are first on the shelf (to the left), followed by those with double letters
Example: in the N section, the order would be: N, NA, NB, NC, ND, and so on.

The second line is always a whole number from 1-9,999. If the letters on the first line of the call number are the same, the book with the smaller number on the second line is shelved to the left of the book with the larger number.
Example (on a shelf):

N
64
  
is to the left of 
N
101

The third line is always a decimal point, followed by a letter and a number. Books are shelved alphabetically according to the letter after the decimal point.
Example (on a shelf):

N
64
.H4213
is to the left of 
N
64
.M41

If two books share the same letter after the decimal, the book with the smaller decimal number is shelved to the left of the book with the larger decimal number.
Example (on a shelf):

N
64
.H4213 
is to the left of 
N
64
.H47

Example of these four books on a shelf:

N
64
.H4213
N
64
.H47
N
64
.M41
N
101
 

The fourth line may be a year of publication or volume number, with earlier editions and lower volume numbers shelved to the left of later works and higher volume numbers. The fourth line may be a letter-number combination that functions decimally like the third line, but without the decimal point.

The call number used as an example is for a book in the library's collection, Hegel on the Arts, by Henry Paolucci. Its call number unfolds as follows:

 N        = Fine Arts
 64       = Visual arts, general
.H4213  = a letter and decimal representing the author
197    = year of publication

Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
© Copyright 2004 - 2013. All Rights Reserved.
The University of the South Pacific
Laucala Campus, Suva, Fiji
Tel: +679 323 1000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip