This is the "Finding Books" page of the "Land Management and Development" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
The University of the South Pacific
Library
 

Land Management and Development  

Last Updated: Mar 26, 2017 URL: http://usp.ac.fj.libguides.com/land Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Books Print Page
  Search: 
 

Ebook databases

Search through these databases to get access to Ebooks. After you have identified your keywords for your search, you can enter them into the search boxes in the following databases: 

 

Google Book Search

 

Some useful books from the Catalogue

Cover Art
Real Estate Principles and Practices - Arlyne Geschwender; Mark Linton; Scott Person
Call Number: HD 255 .G47 2008 (USP Lib. - General Coll.)
ISBN: 0324784554
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
Real Estate Finance and Investments - William B. Brueggeman; Jeffrey Fisher
Call Number: HG 2040 .5 .U5 B78 2008 (USP Lib.-General Coll.)
ISBN: 0073524719
Publication Date: 2006

Cover Art
Land Development Handbook - Dewberry & Davis
Call Number: TA 549 .L36 2008 (USP Lib. - General Coll.)
ISBN: 0071494375
Publication Date: 2008

Extreme heritage management - Godfrey Baldacchino (Editor)
Call Number: GB 471 .E97 2012 (USP Lib. - General Coll.)
ISBN: 0857452592
Publication Date: 2011

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Real Estate Terms - Damien Abbott
Call Number: HD 1365 .A22 2008 (USP Lib.-Reference Coll.)
ISBN: 0966894642
Publication Date: 2008

Cover Art
Concise Encyclopedia of Real Estate Business Terms - Bill Roark; Ryan Roark
Call Number: HD 1365 .R63 2006 (USP Lib.-Reference Coll.)
ISBN: 0789023415
Publication Date: 2006

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the World's Coastal Landforms - Eric Bird (Editor)
Call Number: GB 450 .4 .E549 2010 (USP Lib.-Reference Coll.)
ISBN: 1402086385
Publication Date: 2010

 

Using the Catalog

The online catalog is used to find books in the library. You can look for a book by title, author, subject, or keyword. Subject Headings are assigned by the Library of Congress and may not be the same word you would use to describe your topic; if you're unsure of the subject heading for your topic, begin with a keyword search.

Some useful subject headings:

Example 1

Land development

Broader Term: Land use, real estate business etc.

Narrower Term: Housing development, resort development, mixed-use developments etc.

Related Term: Land subdivision etc.


Town planning / city planning / Land Use, Urban-Management / Urban development / Urban planning

Broader Term: Land use - planning, planning etc.

Narrower Term: Community development (urban), housing, land sub-division, suburbs, sustainable urban development etc.

 

Locating Books

Books (and other library materials) are arranged by call number :a unique "address" that tells you where to find a book on the shelf. The call number is pasted on the bottom of the spine of a book.

When you see a book you want in the library catalogue, the call number is at the bottom of the "holdings" information:

 

Call numbers usually include letters and numbers. Notice that the besides the call number for the book, you will also need to note the location and collection where the book is kept. For the above title, you will find copies of this book in the PIMRIS library and in the Laucala library in the Pacific Collection, the Reference collection on level B and the "General" collection (the books you can check out of the library).

Science and technology books (like the one shown above) are on level C of Laucala library. There are signs on the shelves showing you where to find QK 473.

Problems finding a book?  Ask at the Information Desk.

 

Understanding Library of Congress Call Numbers

Each item in the University of the South Pacific Library collection has an identification number, known as a call number. Like an address, this number tells you where an item "lives" in the library. The USP Laucala Library uses the Library of Congress system to assign call numbers to materials on the shelves.

The Library of Congress system uses a combination of letters and numbers to identify each item. A call number usually runs four lines when seen on a label.

The first line contains one or more letters (A, HB, Q, M, TK, etc.). These letters represent the main subject of the item. When books have more than one letter, the single lettered books are first on the shelf (to the left), followed by those with double letters
Example: in the N section, the order would be: N, NA, NB, NC, ND, and so on.

The second line is always a whole number from 1-9,999. If the letters on the first line of the call number are the same, the book with the smaller number on the second line is shelved to the left of the book with the larger number.
Example (on a shelf):

N
64
  
is to the left of 
N
101

The third line is always a decimal point, followed by a letter and a number. Books are shelved alphabetically according to the letter after the decimal point.
Example (on a shelf):

N
64
.H4213
is to the left of 
N
64
.M41

If two books share the same letter after the decimal, the book with the smaller decimal number is shelved to the left of the book with the larger decimal number.
Example (on a shelf):

N
64
.H4213 
is to the left of 
N
64
.H47

Example of these four books on a shelf:

N
64
.H4213
N
64
.H47
N
64
.M41
N
101
 

The fourth line may be a year of publication or volume number, with earlier editions and lower volume numbers shelved to the left of later works and higher volume numbers. The fourth line may be a letter-number combination that functions decimally like the third line, but without the decimal point.

The call number used as an example is for a book in the library's collection, Hegel on the Arts, by Henry Paolucci. Its call number unfolds as follows:

 N        = Fine Arts
 64       = Visual arts, general
.H4213  = a letter and decimal representing the author
197    = year of publication

Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
© Copyright 2004 - 2013. All Rights Reserved.
The University of the South Pacific
Laucala Campus, Suva, Fiji
Tel: +679 323 1000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip