This is the "Finding Books" page of the "Finance" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
The University of the South Pacific
Library
 

Finance   Tags: business  

Last Updated: Mar 26, 2017 URL: http://usp.ac.fj.libguides.com/finance Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Books Print Page
  Search: 
 

Ebook databases

Search through these databases to get access to Ebooks. After you have identified your keywords for your search, you can enter them into the search boxes in the following databases: 

 

Google Book Search

 

Reference Books on Finance

A selection of recent Reference books held in the USP Library. These books are to be used in the library. 

Cover Art
Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Finance - Dean A. Paxson (Editor); Douglas Wood (Editor)
Call Number: Ref HG 151 .B49
ISBN: 155786912X
Publication Date: 1997-04-16


Cover Art
Dictionary of Finance and Investment Terms - John Downes; Jordan Elliot Goodman
Call Number: Ref HG 151 .D69 201
ISBN: 9780764143045
Publication Date: 2010-05-01

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Finance - Alice C. Lee (Editor); Cheng-Few Lee (Editor)
Call Number: Ref HG 151
ISBN: 9780387262840
Publication Date: 2006-05-01

Cover Art
The Oxford Handbook of Banking - Allen N. Berger (Editor); Phillip Molyneux (Editor); John Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: Ref HG 1601 .O94 2010
ISBN: 9780199236619
Publication Date: 2010-02-28

USP Library Catalogue and Other Book Sources

The online catalogs are used to find books in the library. You can look for a book by title, author, subject, or keyword. 

Try searching the following sites using keywords to find books on your topic.

  • Laucala Campus Library Catalogue
    Use this link to go directly to the catalog to search collections at USP.
  • Ebook Central
    Ebook Central is a site that USP subscribes to that gives you access to online eBooks in dozens of subjects. Once you select a book, the search function of this site allows you to search within the eBook to immediately find information on your topic.
  • Online free books and journals
    Use this page to connect to online sites for free books that you can read online.
 

Finding Textbooks on Reserve for your Courses

Follow these steps to locate textbooks on closed reserve for your courses:

1. Go to the Laucala Campus library catalogue.

2. In the lefthand corner box under "Find Information" click "Closed Reserve." 

3. Select your course from the dropdown menu (i.e. UU100) and click ok.

4. A list of your textbooks that are held at the main issue desk will display. 

5. Write down the call number of the book you need and take it to the main issue desk. Items can be used for two hours in the library, and some items can be taken out overnight. 

 

How to use Subject Headings to Search Finance Books

Subject Headings are assigned by the Library of Congress and may not be the same word you would use to describe your topic; if you're unsure of the subject heading for your topic, begin with a keyword search.

 

Some useful subject headings for Finance are:

Heading: Finance
Non-preferred Term: Funding
Funds
Broader Terms: Economics
Narrower Terms: International finance
Default (Finance)
Debt
Credit
Controllership
Capital market
Budget in business
Amortization
Banks and banking
Business losses
Church finance
Contingencies in finance
Deflation (Finance)
Finance, Personal
Flow of funds
Income
Inflation (Finance)
Insurance
Investments
Lease or buy decisions
Legal tender
Liquidity (Economics)
Loans
Money
Money market
Museum finance
Profit
Sinking-funds
Speculation
War finance
Wealth
Women in finance
Disinvestment
Intermediation (Finance)
Swaps (Finance)
Rollovers (Finance)
Financial engineering
Accounts
Financial leverage
Information theory in finance
Seigniorage (Finance)
Hawala system
See Also: Currency question
Reference Notes: see also: subdivision Finance under types of industries, corporate bodies, services, technical operations, etc., under ethnic groups, and under names of individual nongovernmental corporate bodies for works on the raising and expenditure of funds and under individual government bodies for works limited to the management of nonappropriated funds
 

Some recent books on Finance from the USP Library Catalogue

This is a selection of items recently purchased by the USP Library. Check our Catalogue for other books on this subject.

Cover Art
Architects of Austerity - Aaron Major
Call Number: HD 87 .M35 2014
ISBN: 9780804788342
Publication Date: 2014-04-23


Cover Art
Determinants of Financial Development - Yongfu Huang
Call Number: HG 4910 .H82 2011
ISBN: 9780230273672
Publication Date: 2011-01-15

Cover Art
Applied Corporate Finance - Aswath Damodaran
Call Number: HG 4011 .D26 2011
ISBN: 9780470384640
Publication Date: 2010-03-08

Cover Art
Corporate Finance for Business - John-Paul Marney; Heather Tarbert
Call Number: HG 4026
ISBN: 9780199563395
Publication Date: 2011-04-22

Cover Art
A Commercial and Investment Banking and the International Credit and Capital Markets - Brian Scott-Quinn
Call Number: HG 3881 .S368 2012
ISBN: 9780230370470
Publication Date: 2012-09-04

Cover Art
Corporate Finance and Investment - Richard Pike
Call Number: HG 4135 .P35 2012
ISBN: 9780273721468
Publication Date: 2012

Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
© Copyright 2004 - 2013. All Rights Reserved.
The University of the South Pacific
Laucala Campus, Suva, Fiji
Tel: +679 323 1000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip