This is the "Databases" page of the "Biology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
The University of the South Pacific
Library
 

Biology   Tags: biology, life sciences  

Last Updated: May 21, 2017 URL: http://usp.ac.fj.libguides.com/biology Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Journal databases at USP

These databases provide access to articles in journals, newspapers and other sources. Many (though not all) articles are full-text, so will not have to find the paper copy of the journal to read the article.

The journals indexed by these databases are international and cover a wide range of subjects. They each have their own interface, and some have tutorials to provide guidance on using the databases. See this link for more information on database searching and coverage.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in scholarly journals on multidisciplinary topics.

Faculty of 1000

Provides an in-depth directory of articles with their commentaries on topics pertaining to biology and medicine.

Global Plants

Global Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.

IngentaConnect

Provides citations, abstracts and selected full-text of articles published in scholarly journals on multidisciplinary topics.

JSTOR

Provides citations, abstracts and selected full-text of articles published in scholarly journals on multidisciplinary topics. Coverage starts from the first volume in most cases. The current issues of these journals are not available.

ProQuest Biology Journals

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in scholarly journals on topics pertaining to biological chemistry, biophysics, botany, cytology and histology, environmental studies, microbiology, microscopy, zoology.

ProQuest Research Library

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in scholarly journals on multidisciplinary topics.

ProQuest Science Journals

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in scholarly journals  on topics pertaining to pure and applied sciences.

ScienceDirect

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in scholarly journals on multidisciplinary topics.

Taylor and Francis Online

Provides citations, abstracts and full-text of articles published in selected scholarly journals on multidisciplinary topics.

Web of Science (Web of Knowledge)

Provides citations and abstracts of articles published in scholarly journals across the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities

* Indicates a password is required, please refer to the Library Information Desk.

 

Print periodicals

The Periodicals Collection is located on Level A of the Laucala library.

To search for periodicals in the catalogue type an appropriate keyword plus the word periodicals, for example ecology periodicals.

 

Latest from F1000

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Other databases you may find useful

Databases for images:

Britannica Image Quest

 

Provides access to more than two million images which have all been rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use. The images in this site cover every subject area imaginable and can be used for teacher lesson plans, assignments, activities, and whiteboards; student reports and projects; or school Web sites, newsletters, newspapers, flyers, and bulletins.

Databases for encyclopedias:

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

 

Provides access to reference information from the Encyclopedia Britannica and the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, as well reputable web sites on multidisciplinary topics.

 Encyclopedia of Life

Provides reference information on the 1.9 million living species known to science.

Databases for theses:

 

USP Theses Collection

Available in digitized format, are the theses of USP staff and students who have given permission for public access to their work. Included in this collection are works that range from 1970's to the current year. 

 

Databases for statistical information:

 

Journal Citation Reports (Web of Knowledge)

Provides statistical data to measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals in Social Sciences and Science disciplines.

 

 

Periodicals

Why choose periodicals?

Journals logo

Periodicals  (journals, magazines, and newspapers)  are published in regular intervals, and are the best sources for current information to support research. They are found in print or in databases (electronic collections of digitised periodicals).

Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
© Copyright 2004 - 2013. All Rights Reserved.
The University of the South Pacific
Laucala Campus, Suva, Fiji
Tel: +679 323 1000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip