BookIn addition or instead of AuthorsJournal ArticleArticle in a newspaper or popular magazineBook reviewThesis or dissertationPaper presented at a meeting or conferenceWebsiteBlog entry or commentE-mail or text messageItem in a commercial database
BookIn addition or instead of AuthorsJournal articleArticle in a newspaper or popular magazineBook reviewThesis or dissertationPaper presented at a meeting or conferenceWebsiteBlog entry or commentE-mail or text messageItem in a commercial database
This is the "Chicago Manual Style" page of the "Chicago Manual of Style" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
The University of the South Pacific
Welcome to the Library
 

Chicago Manual of Style  

The Chicago Manual of Style method of document formatting and citation. These resources follow the sixteenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style, which was issued in September 2010.
Last Updated: Oct 31, 2016 URL: http://usp.ac.fj.libguides.com/chicago Print Guide RSS Updates

Chicago Manual Style Print Page
  Search: 
 

Overview of how Chicago Manual Style citations are constructed

The Chicago Manual of Style (CMS) covers a variety of topics from manuscript preparation and publication to grammar, usage, and documentation and has been lovingly called the “editors’ bible.” The research guide focuses on one of the two CMS documentation styles:

  • the Notes-Bibliography System (NB), which is used by those in literature, history, and the arts.
  • the Author-Date System, is nearly identical in content but slightly different in form and is preferred in the social/sciences.

 

Chicago Manual Style

 Please note that while these resources reflect the most recent updates in the 16th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style concerning documentation practices, you can review a full list of updates concerning usage, technology, professional practice, etc. at The Chicago Manual of Style Online.

 

EndNote

Use EndNote to create citations and bibliographies in various formats, including MLA, APA and Harvard.

Always check the EndNote citation to make sure it is accurate.

 

Need the print edition of the Chicago Manual Style ?

Cover Art
The Chicago Manual of Style - University of Chicago Staff
Call Number: Z 253 .U69 2010
ISBN: 9780226104201
Publication Date: 2010

 

Books on referencing available to check out

Cover Art
The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagarism - Colin Neville
Call Number: PN 171 .F56 N48 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Covers APA, MLA and Harvard styles.

Cover Art
Doing Honest Work in College How to Prepare Citations, Avoid Plagiarism, and Achieve Real Academic Success - Charles Lipson
Call Number: PN 171 .F56 L56 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Covers Chicago, MLA, and APA styles.

A student's guide to bibliographies and referencing - Rajni Chand
Call Number: PN 171 .F56 C43 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Provides examples of MLA and Harvard styles.

 

Plagiarism

Not citing your resources can result in accusations of plagiarism. USP's policy on academic honesty and plagiarism can be found here (opens as PDF):

3.4.2 Academic Honesty: Policies & Procedures (for USP Students)

This slideshow by Angela Jowitt of USP's Alafua Campus library will give you an overview of how to avoid plagiarism by properly citing your sources.

    Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
    © Copyright 2004 - 2013. All Rights Reserved.
    The University of the South Pacific
    Laucala Campus, Suva, Fiji
    Tel: +679 323 1000
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip