This is the "APA Citations" page of the "APA Citations" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
The University of the South Pacific
Welcome to the Library
 

APA Citations   Tags: citations, referencing  

Last Updated: Aug 8, 2016 URL: http://usp.ac.fj.libguides.com/apa Print Guide RSS Updates

APA Citations Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Need the print edition of the APA handbook?

Cover Art
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association - American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: BF 76 .7 .P83 2010
Publication Date: 2009
This is a Reference book and must be used within the library.

Cover Art
Concise Rules of APA Style - American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: REF BF 76 .7 .C66 2010
Publication Date: 2009
This is a Reference book and must be used within the library.

Cover Art
Pocket Guide to APA Style - Robert Perrin
Call Number: BF 76 .7 .P47 2015
ISBN: 9781285425917
Publication Date: 2014-01-01

 

Reference books on Writing Research Papers

Cover Art
Avoiding plagiarism : write better papers in APA, Chicago, and Harvard citation styles - Ken K. Wong
Call Number: PN 167 .W66 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Covers APA, Chicago and Harvard styles. In library use only.


Cover Art
Writing the Research Paper : a handbook - Anthony C. Winkler; Jo Ray McCuen-Metherell
Call Number: REF LB 2369 .W55 2012
Publication Date: 2011
Covers APA, MLA and Chicago styles. In library use only.

 

EndNote

Use EndNote to create citations and bibliographies in various formats, including MLA, APA and Harvard.

Always check the EndNote citation to make sure it is accurate.

 

APA Citations

 APA Logo

The APA Citation Style is often used for classes in the sciences and health fields. 

Use the blue tabs above to see APA citation formats for different kinds of sources, as well as for creating citations in the text of your paper. These formats are from the APA Publication Manual 6th edition.

DOI numbers are now required for APA citations of electronic information (if a DOI is available). For more information on how to find a DOI number, follow link below for an APA tutorial: 

How do I find a DOI?

 

Overview of how APA citations are constructed

The APA citation format allows the person reading your paper to know what sources you used and where to locate these sources. In general, you need to cite the author, year of publication, title, and publishing data.

The basic format looks like this:

Citing a journal article:

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author C. C. (year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, xx, pp-pp. doi: xx.xxxxxxxxxx

Example:

Zabrodska, K., & Kveton, P. (2013). Prevalence and forms of workplace bullying among university employees. Employee Responsibilities & Rights Journal, 25(2), 89-108. doi:10.1007/s10672-012-9210-x

Citing a book:

Author, A. A. (year). Title of work. Location: Publisher.

Example:

Schumacher, E. F. (1989). Small is beautiful: Economics as if people mattered. New York: Perennial Library.

Please see the tabs at the top of this guide for in-depth examples of citing reference works, electronic information, government documents, etc.

 

General Information

Articles from Databases:  In general, when you cite an article from a database, the format is the same as for a print article. APA rules ask for the URL of the journal, magazine, or newspaper home page, but USP professors may prefer the name of the database where you retrieved the article. In addition, APA rules do not require a retrieval date for electronic sources, unless they are likely to change. Again, USP professors may want to see a date, so the format is included here. Check with your professor.

Alphabetize your reference list by the first word of the citation (usually the author's last name).           

Double space all of the citations on your reference page.

Indent the second & following lines of the citation 5-7 spaces.  

For 2-7 authors: Wingert, P., Smith, J., & Brown, P.

For more than 7 authors: List the first six authors, then put an ellipses (. . .) before the final author’s name.

Only capitalize the first word of the document title. If there is a colon in the title, capitalize the first word after the colon.

Italicize the title of the magazine or journal.  Also italicize the volume number - but do not italicize the issue number.

Do not include a period after the URL.

Additional Resources

 

Books on referencing available to check out

Cover Art
The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagarism - Colin Neville
Call Number: PN 171 .F56 N48 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Covers APA, MLA and Harvard styles.

Cover Art
Doing Honest Work in College How to Prepare Citations, Avoid Plagiarism, and Achieve Real Academic Success - Charles Lipson
Call Number: PN 171 .F56 L56 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Covers Chicago, MLA, and APA styles.

A student's guide to bibliographies and referencing - Rajni Chand
Call Number: PN 171 .F56 C43 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Provides examples of MLA and Harvard styles.

 

Plagiarism

Not citing your resources can result in accusations of plagiarism. USP's policy on academic honesty and plagiarism can be found here (opens as PDF):

3.4.2 Academic Honesty: Policies & Procedures (for USP Students)

This slideshow by Angela Jowitt of USP's Alafua Campus library will give you an overview of how to avoid plagiarism by properly citing your sources.

Disclaimer & Copyright l Contact Us l 
© Copyright 2004 - 2013. All Rights Reserved.
The University of the South Pacific
Laucala Campus, Suva, Fiji
Tel: +679 323 1000
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip